We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
154
32
13
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
32
13
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house carriage house breakfast in bed prospect hill plantation crab and shrimp black lab nature trail plantation grounds individual cottages wood burning fireplace charlottesville area b bs romantic getaway an easy drive anniversary weekend front porch nice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband and I visited Prospect Hill Plantation for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Overseer's Cottage, which was lovely! The grounds are romantic, the staff is welcoming and kind, and the food is out of this world. We left after a 3 night stay feeling relaxed and peaceful. We have already planned a return trip for our anniversary next year!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We love Select Registry B and B's and this one did not disappoint. It is so nice to know there is such a relaxing place to stay just off 64 , but we drove the back road from northern VA and will be back! All family members working here are so friendly and we loved the Overseer's Cottage as it was right by the pool and the Manor House. The grounds are so beautiful and love having horses and Alpaca all around. The dinner was absolutely wonderful and not overpriced nor was the wine. The children seem very proud to be part of the Inn and are so polite and excellent servers! Breakfast can be brought to you or at the Manor House but was also delicious. We were allowed a bit later check out in order to swim again and cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank guitartraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I had stayed at this wonderful property in August 2014. I just completed another visit today. Prospect Hill Plantation is so wonderfully magnificent, well managed, and an overall fabulous place to stay to get away from it all, relax and re-charge. My fiance and I stayed in the Sanco Pansy's Cottage, I recommend it highly. We arrived yesterday at 4:30, spent nearly three hours enjoying the tranquil view from the porch of our cottage, and then enjoyed a spectacular dinner in the plantation dinning room. WOW! From the wines to all the courses to coffee, incredible! We slept really, really well, awoke this morning and again sat on the porch enjoying the view. Breakfast was brought to us on the porch and we enjoyed every bit of it. My only regret is that we're not still there!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OspreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Prospect Hill Plantation Inn is a family-owned and operated bed and breakfast establishment near Gordonsville, Virginia in the Green Springs National Historic Landmark District. Its web site presents the history of this unique home, which dates back to 1699. We selected Prospect Hill for a two-night, three-day get-away to Virginia’s wine country for its history and amenities. Amenities include an on-site restaurant and a swimming pool. We stayed in the Carriage House on the property, and we found it to be very nice. The bed was most comfortable, the furnishings were very nice, and the room was spacious – including a bedroom, sitting area, and bathroom. It had a stocked refrigerator and a Keurig coffeemaker. Other guests stayed above us in another accommodation and we did hear the toilet flush from time to time. Otherwise, this room was very quiet. The patio of the Carriage House overlooks a field and pond, and the view is quite scenic. If fact, the grounds are beautiful. On our arrival, Doc, the owner, checked us in and showed us the grounds and outbuildings and talked about some of the history of Prospect Hill. We enjoyed the grounds and the swimming pool, which basically is open at all hours. We ate dinner both nights in the on-site restaurant, and we found the food to be excellent. Both nights we opted for the fixed price dinners – a bite, an entrée, and a dessert for $55.00 per person, plus tax. It was a lot of food, more than we normally eat, but excellently prepared and very flavorful. They also serve a breakfast, and we opted to have it delivered to our room – good service. Prospect Hill is easily reached from the Zion Crossroads exit on Interstate 64, via Three Notch Road and Poindexter Road. It’s an easy drive to many of the local wineries from this location. On check-in, Doc told us that his five teenage children all work at Prospect Hill. We met four of them during our stay, and we found them to be very polite, friendly, and busy. All in all, a great stay.

Room tip: The Carriage House is a nice accommodation
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We just returned from our fourth visit to Prospect Hill. Nestled on a country road in Louisa County, Virginia, halfway between Richmond and Charlottesville, you will find this charming historic Plantation Inn. As soon as you come up the hedge-lined driveway, you feel the serenity of this bucolic setting. The accommodations are either rooms in the main house or individual cottages which are charming in their own right. We have stayed in the Overseers cottage three of the four visits and would request it again. The grounds have ample outdoor areas to sit under a tree and read quietly, a lovely swimming pool and a nice nature trail walk. The "piece de resistance" were the dinners. The food not only was delicious but the presentation was amazing. Chef Elpidio Akantara and sous chef, "Willy" could compete with any five star restaurant. I have to say they exceeded our expectations. Breakfast is included and can be taken in the main dining room or brought to your cottage or room. Also, Prospect Hill is close to Richmond, Charlottesville, Monticello, the Blue Ridge Parkway and many nice Virginia wineries. For a romantic getaway, you can't beat Prospect Hill.

Room tip: Go to the website to see the rooms. We always request the Overseers cottage.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VAKELSEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews