We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and unique place to stay--historic, beautiful, with a superb restaurant--highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Prospect Hill is a marvelous and unique inn, historic (with the oldest part of the buildings dating back to 1699) and very well maintained. The location and grounds are beautiful, and the proprietors, Dr. Bobby Findley and Paula Findley (and their children!) are very welcoming and also have a lot to tell about the fascinating history of Prospect Hill, some of which can be read the web site. The main plantation house has a superb restaurant, certainly as good as any in the area or in Charlottesville. One of the main attractions of staying at Prospect Hill are the several cottage like dwellings on the grounds, each of which has a distinct history and character--the oldest, the Boy's room (though smaller than the others), was the original cabin of the founder who built it in 1699. Prospect Hill is a wonderful place to relax, and again the old plantation house and grounds are an attraction in themselves. As other reviewers note, it's located near Charlottesville and all of the major attractions in the Charlottesville area; it would make a wonderful base for an extended stay. Read the other reviews to get an idea of the charms of the place. The lodgings are very comfortable and charming, and each is different: You won't find the standardized amenities or designer rooms of a five star international hotel, nor the somewhat placeless, impersonal and sterile atmosphere of one: it's an historic, quirky place, where you feel a part of nature. On the grounds there are horses and also, as mentioned below, cats and a dog, who will keep you company if you encourage them! The charm and magic of the pace is incomparable. If you stay in one of the cottages, breakfast will be served in the cottage or at a table right outside. You may be greeted during your stay by three cats and a dog who are well behaved and very ingratiating. Above all there's something enchanting about the place, which will grow on you. I and a dear friend have stayed at Prospect Hill twice this summer, and will be back again!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband and I visited Prospect Hill Plantation for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Overseer's Cottage, which was lovely! The grounds are romantic, the staff is welcoming and kind, and the food is out of this world. We left after a 3 night stay feeling relaxed and peaceful. We have already planned a return trip for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We love Select Registry B and B's and this one did not disappoint. It is so nice to know there is such a relaxing place to stay just off 64 , but we drove the back road from northern VA and will be back! All family members working here are so friendly and we loved the Overseer's Cottage as it was right by the pool and the Manor House. The grounds are so beautiful and love having horses and Alpaca all around. The dinner was absolutely wonderful and not overpriced nor was the wine. The children seem very proud to be part of the Inn and are so polite and excellent servers! Breakfast can be brought to you or at the Manor House but was also delicious. We were allowed a bit later check out in order to swim again and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank guitartraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I had stayed at this wonderful property in August 2014. I just completed another visit today. Prospect Hill Plantation is so wonderfully magnificent, well managed, and an overall fabulous place to stay to get away from it all, relax and re-charge. My fiance and I stayed in the Sanco Pansy's Cottage, I recommend it highly. We arrived yesterday at 4:30, spent nearly three hours enjoying the tranquil view from the porch of our cottage, and then enjoyed a spectacular dinner in the plantation dinning room. WOW! From the wines to all the courses to coffee, incredible! We slept really, really well, awoke this morning and again sat on the porch enjoying the view. Breakfast was brought to us on the porch and we enjoyed every bit of it. My only regret is that we're not still there!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OspreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Prospect Hill Plantation Inn is a family-owned and operated bed and breakfast establishment near Gordonsville, Virginia in the Green Springs National Historic Landmark District. Its web site presents the history of this unique home, which dates back to 1699. We selected Prospect Hill for a two-night, three-day get-away to Virginia’s wine country for its history and amenities. Amenities include an on-site restaurant and a swimming pool. We stayed in the Carriage House on the property, and we found it to be very nice. The bed was most comfortable, the furnishings were very nice, and the room was spacious – including a bedroom, sitting area, and bathroom. It had a stocked refrigerator and a Keurig coffeemaker. Other guests stayed above us in another accommodation and we did hear the toilet flush from time to time. Otherwise, this room was very quiet. The patio of the Carriage House overlooks a field and pond, and the view is quite scenic. If fact, the grounds are beautiful. On our arrival, Doc, the owner, checked us in and showed us the grounds and outbuildings and talked about some of the history of Prospect Hill. We enjoyed the grounds and the swimming pool, which basically is open at all hours. We ate dinner both nights in the on-site restaurant, and we found the food to be excellent. Both nights we opted for the fixed price dinners – a bite, an entrée, and a dessert for $55.00 per person, plus tax. It was a lot of food, more than we normally eat, but excellently prepared and very flavorful. They also serve a breakfast, and we opted to have it delivered to our room – good service. Prospect Hill is easily reached from the Zion Crossroads exit on Interstate 64, via Three Notch Road and Poindexter Road. It’s an easy drive to many of the local wineries from this location. On check-in, Doc told us that his five teenage children all work at Prospect Hill. We met four of them during our stay, and we found them to be very polite, friendly, and busy. All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is a nice accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
14.6 km away
Boxley Place Inn
Boxley Place Inn
#2 of 5 in Louisa
17 reviews
10.1 km away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,030 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093-3005
Region: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range: €169 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospect Hill Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prospect Hill Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing