We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
46
33
29
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
33
29
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub dog friendly pub car park great selection of beers outside seating friendly atmosphere many times tasty meal comfortable room basin locals friends dogs lunch canal meals pubs
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We enjoyed a walk along the canal and called at the Navigation Inn.
We ordered our drinks from the landlord and he seemed to go out of his way to make us feel unwelcome. What a misery! We sat outside so we didn't have to look at him.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank eaves57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The Navigation is in a nice location near the canal and we enjoyed sitting outside.

The waiting on staff were pleasant but the bar staff could have been more welcoming.

The food was all right but nothing special.

Other people have said that it is a dog friendly pub. However I did not like the fact that waiting on staff were stroking dogs whilst serving food.

Would visit again due to it's location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank lizbb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This lovely old pub is in a great location and previously always had a warm, friendly atmosphere. We took two friends for a late lunch and left disappointed. The woman being the bar was miserable and unfriendly. Several items on the menu were no longer available although the lovely lady who served our table tried to offer other suggestions. The seats we sat on had stains which were unsightly. The food however was very nice although a little pricy and one dish was a very small portion size. Sadly not as good as it used to be and there are some great pubs in the area. What a shame that it has gone downhill.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Came here with friends as we moored in the basin. When we arrived the place was buzzing with locals and travellers enjoying the beer and the ambience. The young lady behind the bar was very pleasant and helpful. Later on the Landlord took over from the young lady and the atmosphere changed immediately. He was quite surly and deliberately misunderstood our order before walking away muttering to himself under his breath. Within twenty minutes of his arrival the place was empty and I'm not in the least surprised.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cymro-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I recently arranged an evening run for a car club which finished at the Navigation. I visited the pub beforehand and discussed what we would need for our visit with Roger the Landlord and his colleagues. On the day we had 15 cars and 30 people arrive at the pub at about 8pm. The bar service was efficient and pleasant, coping with our large influx of thirsty customers, Roger had arranged for our meal orders to be taken at our tables, and the food was delivered quickly to the 8 tables we occupied. The food was good and the prices reasonable. The table service was excellent. The dining facilities were very nice, and the dogs some of our members had brought were welcomed. This is an excellent venue!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank oconnorjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews