We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
289
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy wife and iglen gordonthe main houseglass of champagnegorgeous groundsmaking us feelnorthern virginiahorses grazingseparate buildingthe blue ridge mountainsromantic weekendhuge bathroomthe chef ownercourse mealmouth wateringout of this worldwine pairing
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We selected Glen Gordon Manor to celebrate two very special occasions this year for a wide range of reasons. Besides having one of the most beautiful and expansive vistas, Glen Gordon offers elegant and comfortable quarters, freedom to roam the paths around the landscaped grounds, the ability to visit the Manor's horses in their respective corrals, two of which are miniatures, visit a spa in the tack room, and relax in a jacuzzi. The owners, Dayn and Nancy Smith, are welcoming and generous hosts. Dayn, an internationally recognized chef, creates original and gourmet breakfasts, included in the board, as well as special dinners well worth enjoying! We highly recommend Glen Gordon Manor for exceptional occasions, or just for a pleasurable getaway from the pressure of everyday life. Also, there are a number of interesting wineries nearby for tastings and wine purchases.

Room Tip: rooms are on the main level of the Manor, except for separate houses on the property. Each room has a fabulous view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anitamurch2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for choosing Glen Gordon Manor for your special occasions this year. We are honored to know that we provided your bed B&B experience yet! We appreciate you sharing your delight at the grounds, vistas, cuisine and more. Please come back for another special occasion or getaway from everyday life. -Mary Gilliam, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

My wife and I wanted to find a new B&B in the Northern Virginia countryside and came upon Glen Gordon Manor online. It turned out to be a delightful visit from end to end (two nights). The staff were friendly, welcoming, and efficient. After a booking mixup, we received an upgrade to an elegant, large suite that included a hot tub in an outside enclosure. The owner-chef, Dayn Smith, served a delicious Thanksgiving dinner, backed up by a large and varied wine cellar. The B&B has over 50 acres that include a horse barn and a flock of chickens that provide fresh eggs. We were charmed and intend to return.

Room Tip: Suggest booking a suite.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving holiday at Glen Gordon Manor and taking the time to write a five star review. We are happy to be your great find! We look forward to having you return and enjoy the food, wine and hospitality. -Mary Gilliam, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet retreat, spotless property, great food and wine, beautiful grounds, warm and welcoming owners (Dayn & Nancy) and staff, then visit Glen Gordon Manor! It was the perfect place for us to have celebrated our 10th anniversary. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Dayn who served us an exquisite glass of champagne and seated us by the fire in the great room where we were able to quickly exhale and relax. Every room has been tastefully decorated by Nancy, who has an amazing eye for detail and beauty! The Windsor Suite (where we stayed during this visit) and the Wakefield Suite (where we stayed on our first visit) are both dreamy. Our gourmet meals (prepared by Dayn) were delicious and artfully presented. Dayn is truly a master chef! Thanks Dayn, Nancy and staff for making our anniversary a memorable occasion! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your anniversary a memorable occasion. Dayn, Nancy and the entire staff appreciate your kind words about the food, wine, decor and care taken of the property. We look forward to hosting for more romantic celebrations!
-Mary Gilliam, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Our two night stay was magical in every way! We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by staff who showed us around the property and made us feel extremely welcome in our spotless and well appointed room! In the morning, coffee was delivered to us in our room by Michele and Rashina. This is a dynamic mother and daughter team that did an incredible job serving breakfast and making us feel so welcome. We took our coffee and walked around the property and fed the horses some apples from the ground and then watched the chickens being fed. The scenery on this property is incredibly beautiful, even from our bedroom window! Breakfast was a gourmet class act! We loved everything about our stay and will definitely return. Many thanks to the lovely duo of Michele and Rashina for their exceptional customer service and the "specialness" they brought to our stay. They made us feel like part of the family!!! The staff will welcome you with open arms!
Additionally, our son stayed in the cottage for his wedding night and it was absolutely stunning!!! It is a very beautiful and huge space! I highly recommend upgrading to the cottage for a wedding or anniversary!!!

Room Tip: For a wedding night or anniversary, the cottage is spectacular!!!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laffinalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for staying at Glen Gordon Manor and sharing your truly magical experience. We are delighted to know that Michele and Rashina were so dynamic and welcoming, making your stay special. Please come back soon! -Mary Gilliam, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

At Glen Gordon Manor in Huntly, VA, you will find welcome, warmth and some of the best food you will ever put in your mouth--all in an exquisite setting and an environment that makes you feel you are in your own private estate. The rooms are lovely, the grounds perfect without being pretentious, but what is really special are the chef/owner and the staff. This is that rare thing, a place where you are made to feel welcome in every way, with personal touches and great care. There are horses, chickens and a countryside that is the best of Virginia. The rooms are comfortable without being grandiose. We stayed in the Edward, with a big four poster, a free standing tub, gigantic shower and a private patio. The public rooms beg you to sit a spell, but I urge anyone who wants to have a high level of comfort and quality without the pretension to come here. It is a hidden gem in the midst of the hills and valleys of glorious beauty. All the comfort and great food aside, what really works is that these people care, they want to make it special and it shows in every corner of the property. Wish we could stay a week!

Room Tip: Some are larger than others but all are lovely
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for staying at Glen Gordon Manor and writing a warm review. We are humbled to know that you enjoyed some of the best food you will ever put in your mouth. We take pride in the making your stay personalized, comfortable and high quality. We look forward to making your next trip just as special.
-Mary Gilliam, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews