We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
30
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonald rossliving roomtiffanycabinomnifacilitiesproperties
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

If you want someone to help make sure you have a great vacation, then consider staying at Natural Retreats in Homestead Preserve. Before you arrive, a concierge helps you design your plans and thoroughly describes all the activities available at the resort. They make reservations at the best restaurants, they recommend the best attractions and they even arrange for food, groceries, and even a personal chef to be available to you when you arrive. It's truly extraordinary! I loved the Bull Barn Cottage we stayed in. It was luxurious and quaint at the same time. It was also super comfortably furnished and had the most beautiful gardens imaginable. It's right across from the Dairy and all the amenities, like a pool, sauna, sandwich shop, fitness center, game room and meeting rooms. They were setting up for a wedding that looked like it would be glorious! I can't recommend staying there enough. The region is the most pristine place in the Mid Atlantic. you'll rarely encounter many others on the hiking trails or at the warm springs spas nearby, Jefferson Pools. You can use the nearby Omni Homestead Resort like your own personal country club without paying for a room there! They have great dining venues and fireworks every Friday night this year. We loved the beach at nearby Lake Moomaw, and the hikes were both challenging and breathtaking. We are ready to make Bath County and Homestead Preserve a regular vacation destination for our family.

Room Tip: Bull Barn Cottage accommodates two couples or family. Shepherds Cottage next door which has three bedrooms and an outdoor patio.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DCWriterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t s, General Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for the fabulous review! Bull Barn Cottage is a perfect little cottage to come relax in. The gardens are beautiful when in bloom. If you noticed, we had strawberries and fresh herbs growing throughout. The Dairy complex access is a fabulous amenity to have use of while vacationing in the home. Everything is right there on property. You never have to leave. Our Xplore Team strives to customize our Guests experience- before,during, and after your stay. The Team can make all your reservations from dining to resort activities day off at The Homestead. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us and are looking forward to having you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful time staying at the Donald Ross retreat home. The Natural Retreats staff were very helpful in setting us up and helping with catering and golf reservations. The Donald Ross home was very well equipped and the playroom downstairs provided great family fun when weather was poor. An overall great time, thank you Natural Retreats!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank spinkerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natural R, General Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

I would like to personally thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on your current stay in our Donald Ross Home. This Handpicked Home is one of my favorites for larger families who are looking to get away and spend time making memories. Our brand is to strive to provide amazing service by assisting our guests with reservations for dinner and enjoying area activities. Glad to hear that the break in the weather gave you a chance to take advantage of our Championship golf course! The pool table and foosball table in the downstairs family room comes in handy when the weather prevents our guests from getting out. We hope to be able to have you and your family visit us again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Tiffany Chapman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

This was our third time staying in a Natural Retreats cabin. I've always appreciated their customer service and hospitality but every cabin has really lacked the views and privacy we prefer. We stayed at the Shepherd's Cottage at the suggestion of management based on my last review and while it was very charming and nicely appointed, I think it's time to look for other options next time with better views and more privacy.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank izolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t s, General Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

I would like to personally thank you for your loyalty to Natural Retreats and for choosing us again for your most recent getaway. We strive to achieve a high standard of hospitality and customer service and our mission is to work with each guest to individualize their experience at our retreats.

As views, complete solitude, and privacy are important considerations for you, we would love the opportunity to speak with you further so that we can find that perfect Handpicked Home for your next vacation. Our Handpicked Collection has grown tremendously and I’m confident we can assist with picking the right home that will exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing Natural Retreats and sharing your experience.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

We rented the Trailview cottage and generally enjoyed it, though it wasn't quite as private as we would like. But lots of room with a wood burning fireplace and comfortable furniture. Pricey, but views are underwhelming. The concierge service is fantastic, and it's obvious they are concerned about our comfort. Doors on this cabin need some serious work as one blew open with the slightest breeze and the front door was very tough to close and lock. We'll choose another cabin next time, but we love their service.

Stayed: March 2015
1  Thank izolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t s, General Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Trailview Cottage. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we continually strive to improve upon the service level offered to our valued guests.

We are pleased to hear that you received quality service from our Xplore Team and the On Site Operations Team. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the doors. Receiving feedback helps us to address issues that we may not know about. If you make it back to our beautiful area you may want to take a peak at The Shepherd's Cottage. It is a beautiful cabin and also has comfy furniture and a wood burning fireplace.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Tiffany Chapman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The Natural Retreats staff was extremely helpful in helping us plan our trip with tips and advice about the area and they were great about answering our questions while we were visiting. The house was immaculate and well furnished and it was in an serene and secluded area. Having the pool facilities available was a godsend for the kids and relaxing for us adults. The hiking trails in the area varied in difficulty which was perfect for our group. The VA countryside is absolutely gorgeous!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RockinRamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t s, General Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Preserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to review our accommodation. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time while vacationing with Natural Retreats in beautiful Hot Springs, Virginia. The Natural Retreats Team is trained to take pride in servicing our guests from the beginning of their vacation planning to the minute they close the door behind them to return home. Bath County is known for it's beautiful scenery. I'm glad to hear that you had the opportunity to get out on our trails and discover that beauty to. Please contact our Xplore Team for the best prices for your next Holiday. To learn more about our "Great Stay" Program call 1-877-805.7794. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews