We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this hotel because of its proximity to Assateague.”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed at this Inn because it is close to Assateague National park. Walking distance to the refuge in fact! Next door you can rent a bicycle for the day and ride into the park. We drove because it was very windy and chilly. Loved being close to the ponies and great birding.

We booked a family deluxe room and was surprised how small it seemed. It is the same size as a 2 bed Queen size room for more money. The photo on the hotel web site shows a large chair and ottoman, none in the three family rooms the staff allowed me to see. Our room had two Queen size beds, needs new mattress’s, table and two chairs, frig, coffee maker, hair dryer, small balcony with two chairs. Great soaps in bathroom and a wonderful deep soaking tub and shower.
There is a wonderful viewing platform that looks over the parking lot and ponies next door.

Clean hotel, no musty smell. Windy, dry, chilly weekend. Heat worked great.

The breakfast was adequate but lackluster. Breakfast begins at 7:30 AM; this is very late for birders and photographers since we tend to hit the trail at sunrise and remain in the park for hours. We had breakfast two of the three mornings: Scrambled eggs (very bland tasting) yogurt, fruit, cold cereal and instant oatmeal, toast, English muffins and instant hot chocolate. The second morning the hot item was waffles and cold hard boiled eggs. Plastic utensels, plastic plates and paper cups were offered; no ceramic, silver or china as suggested by the picture on the Inns website. Coffee and tea, yes, even green tea is available during the day, but is not available at night because reception is closed at night.
The pool is indoors and heated as is the hot tub; Beautiful, clean area with live plants.
Next door is a McDonald’s and other restaurants within walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel because of its proximity to Assateague.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 855 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have been coming here for years and have never been disappointed. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. I have seen the same people year after year and look forward to seeing them on our vacation. You can't go wrong here. There are always Chincoteague ponies right next to the parking lot, great bikes for rent right on the property and they have a hot tub, heated pool, sauna and exercise room that my wife and I always enjoy when we come. Best of all it is an updated hotel that preserves the character of he island.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drrodbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Real nice hotel, clean and very quiet! We stayed here 2 nights.
We asked for a room with view on the pines and were in the middle of the pine trees.
We did not need the AC because it was cool in the evenings and they have ( thank God) fly screens in front of the windows and french doors which we opened. Beds are comfortable.

Next day we rented a bike from the bike stall adjacent to the hotel( 18 Dollars for a whole day) and went to explore Chincoteague Island which was 5 minutes on the bike away from the hotel.
Very nice island with good bike roads.
Close to AJ's restaurant which is an excellent and romantic restaurant.
Breakfast was OK nothing more/ nothing less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the pines if you do not want to see the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sullaneza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nestled on the island of Chincateague a great inn ran by polite service with fantastic amenities I.e. hot tube pool. The rooms are spacious and clean. One of my favorite little touches was the Burberry soap in the rooms. The coffee offered at the contential breakfast is good as well. Book a room and you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willwaldrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have been staying with this hotel since I was 2 years old. Every summer we have spent time in Chincoteague, even when stationed in Korea! Over 20 years later, I take my husband there to stay and can't wait for the day I bring my own kids. They have lovely upgraded rooms, and are the closest hotel to the wildlife refuge. PERFECT for morning walks, runs, yoga, and more. The peaceful atmosphere and friendly staff...we've seen some of the same maids in all those years! will make you feel at home.

Room Tip: we enjoy the rooms on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot. (less pool noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smrtcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
2.7 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
814 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
2.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: €75 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing