We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer's end eclipse getaway ”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Poor hotel. Horrible breakfast ( powdered egg, partly reheated frozen potatoes and stale breads), in a makeshift "breakfast room" ( AKA repurposed guest room with only a couple tiny tables, poor climate control and no tv for news). had to go to still another place to get an instant coffee in tiny cheap paper cups that did not even have fitting lids.

Girl at desk direly lacking knowledge or customer care. Booked King room in advance- given dbl bed. Only L5 remodeled- L2 and L4 in progress-- as we kept hearing from L3 all morning after a late night. Housekeeping knocked on door at 9 am asking if we needed housekeeeping. when told not now as we were not up yet (sign on door) she said "good". really?

outside is a trash heap with overflowing trash cans as well as multiple open dumpsters and trash heaps next to the tiny pool.

Highly overpriced even at discounted rate on Priceline Express. I have oft booked 3.5 star hotels for the price of this 2 star pseudo dump. i would gladly go elsewhere if my schedule allowed.



Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BJMillerRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We got an awesome Express Deal for this hotel. We stayed 4 comfortable nights and enjoyed their plentiful hot breakfast (rotation of sausage & bacon as well as daily scrambled eggs & waffles) each morning. The wifi & AC worked perfectly throughout our stay. The bathroom was small but still manageable for our family of 2 adults & 2 tweens. There were some signs of the on-going renovation - some mud prints in the elevator, breakfast moved to 2 improved guestrooms and the occasional drilling during the day. However, none of these were deal-breakers for us. I highly recommend this hotel for bargain hunters. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 5th floor seems to be already renovated so ask for those rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Everyone was nice. Room was comfortable and breakfast was up to par. However, the hotel felt outdated. The hallway had stains on the rugs and the wallpaper and bathroom also looked old. The place otherwise was clean but I am comparing this place to the comfort inn brand. I felt like it was more of a hampton inn. I expected a bit more.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Payton who checked me in was friendly and efficient. She cautioned me that they were renovating and asked that I excuse the mess. (When I checked in, renovation work was not readily apparent so I appreciate her telling me.) The Comfort Inn location was relatively secluded but restaurants, gas stations and shopping was less than five minutes away; I liked that. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a mini-fridge and microwave oven which I enjoyed- saved money on eating out.

I did not like the water pressure in the shower; it was too light, even on the highest setting. Also, the water didn't get as hot as I would expect. There was a sign around the faucet to indicate which way to turn the knob to get the water cooler or hotter except it wasn't in place-it spun around rather uselessly. (Not that I didn't figure that one out on my own :-) but I think the sign should either be removed or glued in place.) They also had a heat lamp in the bathroom which was directly over the toilet; I think it would have been better positioned where someone can stand underneath it. (However,maybe that's for safety that it should not be stood directly under.)


Payton who checked me in was friendly and efficient. She cautioned me that they were renovating and asked that I excuse the mess. (When I checked in, renovation work was not readily apparent so I appreciate her telling me.) The Comfort Inn location was relatively secluded but restaurants, gas stations and shopping was less than five minutes away; I liked that. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a mini-fridge and microwave oven which I enjoyed- saved money on eating out.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms on top floor (5th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I have been staying at this hotel about once a month for the last year. They have started remodeling and it has started to take a toll on the quality of service they provide to their guests. No ice available on any floor, staff is new and not experienced, furniture is damaged and they are stingy with the toilet paper. They had been keeping the construction contained to one floor at a time but now it is spread all over the hotel. The breakfast is served in a cleared out guest room on the first floor and the public bathrooms are not working. Yet they still charge full rate and do not mention the construction when making a reservation. The best thing about the stay was the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: low number or high number other wise it is a long walk to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanwwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
5 km away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Chester
62 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2100 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23836-2405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: €71 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chester
Comfort Inn Chester
Chester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing