We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service ”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #6 of 510 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Our new extended Happy Hour includes Sunday 11 am - 6 pm and Saturday 11 am - 6 pm. We continue to include great offerings M-F 3pm - 7 pm though! Catering is also an option, our staff are adept at delivering a professional, hassle-free and delicious meal. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We needed a great meal after a long day at a symposium. Abuelo's did not disappoint. The food was good and service great. We had a great time decompressing without alcohol.

Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

This is what we like to hear! Thank you for the wonderful review. Hope to see you back soon! Thanks, Matt Rivera, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

I really wish we had chosen an "authentic" Mexican restaurant. The customer service or lack there of left much to be desired. I ordered Fajita Tacos and much to my dismay there was nothing fajita about them. Some bland chopped meat in a tortilla with a pound of lettuce and no onions and peppers. Our Mexican rice was subbed with cilantro rice without even asking us. My friend is allergic to cilantro. No apologies offered, water never topped off, no offer of dessert. Did I mention it took an HOUR just to get our food? Sigh...first and last time.

Thank sunni_dayez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks for the feedback. If you could please send your contact information to paigew@food-concepts.com. We would like a chance to contact you directly about your experience. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Nice . Twice as nice the second time there .Group of 8 .Staff very attentive to our late stay and special orders

Thank d1queenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful review! We hope to see you back soon! Thanks, Matt Rivera, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

A great place to bring the family or meet friends!! They have amazing happy hour drinks and food at the bar! And the staff was GREAT!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Matt Rivera, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This restaurant was an amazing find. Our first visit we talked with a very friendly manager who celebrated our choice of restaurant with a free dessert...a great tasting flan. Everything from the skinny margarita to the enchiladas were fantastic. The band playing on a Friday night was also worth seeing. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

We're so glad you had a great first visit! Thanks for sharing your great experience. We hope to see you back soon! Thanks, Matt Rivera, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing