We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of tavola

tavola
Ranked #13 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An intimate, lively neighborhood restaurant located in the charming Belmont district of Charlottesville, VA, tavola offers inspired rustic Italian dining through the use of quality ingredients and a simple philosophy fostered by a staff passionate about food, wine, craft cocktails and personal service. Due to our limited seating, we do not take reservations outside of special events.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have been to Tavola several times. Each time we have gone with 6-8 people. Each time everyone has raved about the food. Each time we have had to wait a significant amount of time...but, it is always worth the wait. We give them our mobile number and visit nearby venues for cocktails. The food and atmosphere at Tavola is authentic Italian. The servers are polite, efficient and quite versed with the menu. Excellent restaurant!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    49
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A European-style bistro without the pretense. Polite staff. FANTASTIC food. I could eat the baked clams and clams linguini every night. We will be back many, many times. GO!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JugglerrelgguJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you haven't been, you are missing a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Excellent service, delectable food (and choices). If you can't go to Italy, let the Italian cuisine come to you. The freshest of ingredients, simple but enticing menu, fabulous desserts. Don't wait another minute, it's a must dining experience in Charlottesville, Va.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top pick for Charlottesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Wonderful scallops with risotto and vegetables roasted to order. Tiramisu to die for. Everything fresh and tasty. Great service too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norsk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious, Authentic Rustic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Can't say enough positive things about Tavola. The service, food, and atmosphere are the best in town. We've eaten here numerous times over the past couple years and the food is always fresh, hot, and perfectly seasoned. We started with an appetizer of creamy burrata, arugula pesto, and sun dried tomatoes. It was served with lightly toasted bread drizzled with olive oil. For entrees, we had a penne pasta tossed with mushrooms in a very light cream sauce with just a hint of truffle oil and lemon. It was finished with a little watercress garnish. The delicate pastas are made in house every day. The food at tavola is so good it beckons you to keep eating long after the top button on your pants has told you stop.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annashapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed tavola also viewed

 

Been to tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing