We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”
Review of The Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines
Ranked #1 of 2 Basye B&B and Inns
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,667 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 777 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

With some timeshare apartments you get the "wow" factor, i.e when you first walk in and see the high standard of furnishings and decor you say "Wow! I wish I could live here." Well, The Pines is definitley not like that - there is no "wow" factor. So why do I give the resort such a high rating?
I've read some bad reports about The Pines - so let's get the facts straight. On first entry it is immediately obvious that these apartments have not been refurbished for several years, and the standard of fixtures and fittings reflect this. Also, with the predominately dark wood furniture and brown decor the overall effect can be rather drab in summer, although I imagine that it would be warming and cozy in winter. The apartments are however clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate. They are conveniently located for the resort amenities and there is also a small pool on site which is well-kept and very pleasant.
The resort itself is very quiet (certainly in summer) which is why we choose to come. If you are looking for crowds of fellow holidaymakers, a wide selection of restaurants and lots of laid-on entertainment - don't come here. If however you are looking for a quiet stay in a lovely location you will enjoy what Basye and the Bryce Resort have to offer. The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful Shenandoa Valley area and the roads around this part of North Virginia are an absolute deligh to drive on.
As for the resort in summer, you have a choice of walks, golf, swimming, zip-lining, grass ski-ing etc and the clubhouse bar is great for evening beers and food. The village of Basye is small but offers another couple of places where you can have food and drink; you can also enjoy "wild swimming" in the nearby Lake Laura.
This is a return visit for us and we would happily come again, because in our view the advantages of the wonderful location far outweigh any slight disappointment you may have re the ageing apartments.
NB however - you must have a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We arrived at 8 pm on Saturday - the office was closed - I got a key from my room from the box outside the office. Next morning, on Sunday, we found out that we cannot lock the door to our room! We call the office - it is closed! We left the message on a beeper as the recorded message suggested - nobody responded ... Lucky for us in the brochure for area attractions we found the phone of the golf course manager, who at least left in his recorded message his cell number - he was nice enough to respond and he sent his golf course employee to our room: together we found out how to make the lock to work (it was NOT obvious and the lock was very old and all wiggly). There is no internet in the room or in the building! Only in the nearby regional library we could connect to the internet and, again, only nn Monday, because the library was closed on Sundays too. Both restaurants available in the area are full of flies and outstandingly unsanitary ... The boat rental worked until 5:50 pm - i.e. we could rent a boat only when the Sun was up.
Swimming pool - very small and had very cold water. Except fishing and golfing was nothing else to do, so, since we are not fishermen or golfers, my wife and son literally demanded me to pack our things and leave this place on Monday morning, even though we loose the money I paid for the week.
This "The Pines", Basye, VA - is a very strange place: make sure you research this facility exceptionally thorough before deciding to go there in summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mika3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basye hotels

Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Loved this trip wonderful condo, wonderful people, wonderful area. Manager of these condos is great. She recommened a very honest mechanic and we had to call her on Sunday her day off. Condo was clean, well equiped. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nich1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Fantastic fall weather made this a wonderful stay. Leaves were beautiful. Great views from Skyline Drive. We stayed in a 3 brm house. Great staff. Bryce Resort has a great dinner. Spare ribs and fried green beans were fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sturgeon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My wife, daughter, son-in-law, and I were schedule to stay at The Pines on Bryce Resort when "the blizzard of 2010" hit. This would have been a good excuse for anything to go wrong but the staff managing the condos did an absolutely superb job. The condos were clean and comfortable. The staff kept the area plowed even though we received over two feet of snow. The ski resort staff was also terriffic. They had the slopes groomed througout the blizzard and skiing was the best ever at Bryce. The restaurant was taken over by the Resort a couple of years ago and we could see the overall improvement. Food was very good and service was outatanding. Overall, we will gladly return to both Bryce and The Pines again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basye
21.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
31.1 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
975 reviews
0.9 km away
Chalet High Resort
Chalet High Resort
#1 of 1 in Basye
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
13.3 km away
Motel 6 Mt Jackson/Shenandoah Valley
2.5 km away
Senedo Springs by EVRentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines

Property: The Pines
Address: 2565 Orkney Grade, Basye, VA 22810-2073
Region: United States > Virginia > Basye
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Basye
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Pines Hotel Basye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing