We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Vermont B&B Experience”
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
“True Vermont B&B Experience”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at The Nutmeg, owned/operated by Doug and Geo, and could not have been more impressed. The Inn is the quaint and cozy bed and breakfast we had envisioned. It was immaculately clean and we felt extremely comfortable throughout our stay. I loved how each room has its own unique style and amenities (ours had a fantastic wood burning fireplace). The Inn is very conveniently located a quick drive, or even a walk, to the downtown area of town and there are hiking trail options at the back of the Inn. The entire staff and the new owners, Doug and Geo, are extremely friendly and welcoming. We could not have been happier and can't wait to return!
~Michelle Barry

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces, some have jacuzzi's and some have both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    33
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
155
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We spent 2 nights at The Nutmeg Country Inn. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. As soon as we pulled up we were blown away with how beautiful the Inn is. We met Wendy at check in and she is the absolute best.. made you feel comfortable and right at home. Doug and Geo (and Wendy too!) are the most genuine, helpful and friendly hosts we could have ever wanted... great conversations, restaurant reviews and area tips. The Inn is decorated beautifully, the rooms are all romantic and very clean. The living room with fireplace and bar is so cozy. The Christmas trees and holiday decor were beautiful. Best french toast ever for breakfast! We did not want to leave and will definatley be back as soon as possible! Jim and Danielle

Room Tip: We saw almost all of the rooms & they are all great! Just depends on whether you want a fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Nutmeg Inn and it was amazing!! All of the rooms were fantastic!. Most rooms have real woodburning fireplaces which was a feature we really enjoyed. Doug and Geo are amazing hosts and Wendy was great!!! Breakfast was excellent.
We had the French toast one morning and the omelet the next YUM!!! Whirlpool was wonderful. Also dinner recommendations were right on. The whole weekend was relaxing and we were sorry we couldn't stay longer. Can't say enough about this place. Will go back as soon as we can!!! Will tell our friends it's a must do!!!
You guys are the best!!
Bob & Gail

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson falls
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We found this beautiful place by accident, and I am SO happy we did. The building was beautiful, the rooms were clean and nice. The staff was extremely helpful, and the breakfast was delicious. Cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We had a fireplace room, and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grevenmacher
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We made an overnight stop here on our way through Vermont.
The building is gorgeous and the new owners seem to have done and be doing quite a bit to fix it up. Very welcoming.
If we had planned ahead, we could have dined at the hotel, which we were told by other guests was very good. However, dinner recommendations were spot on. Breakfast was also good, although the choice was perhaps a bit more limited than at other B&Bs we stayed. None of us went hungry though.
We had two bedrooms right under the roof, which were quite tight and we would not recommend them for a longer stay. We did, however, see many of the other suites and they looked fantastic. If you do stay for longer get a room that faces away from the main road, which is quite busy.

Room Tip: If you mind noise ask for something facing away from route 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
38 reviews
0.8 km away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
386 reviews
2.6 km away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
0.3 km away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
119 reviews
10.6 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Property: The Nutmeg
Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, cr 1777 is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. Evening dining in the summer is fireside along the banks of the river. The inn has a wonderful food truck offering rotisserie chicken, ribs and beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing