We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cabins, Nice and Secluded Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stowe Cabins in the Woods
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The Stowe Cabins in the Woods are very rustic, in a very woodsy secluded location set back from the main highway. I stayed in No. 7-The Hemlock. Cabin No. 7 and 8 shared an ample parking area about 50 ft from the cabin. The cabins are situated far apart from one another which added to the secluded mountain feel. The Hemlock is spacious with a full kitchen including a electric range, full size refrigerator and microwave; all cooking utensils and included a towel and soap for washing dishes. The living room had a nice sitting area with a large screen television w/cable tv, and a wonderful cast iron gas stove used for heating the area. It was wonderful on the cool, damp evenings and early mornings during my stay. The furnishings are a bit dated, but that is what I expected from a rustic cabin in the woods. There is a small dining table and two chairs in the living area. The bathroom was very clean and water good and hot, with towels and soap provided. The one bedroom was very large with a king bed. My only negative remark is that the bedding had quite an odor. I attribute this to the property being pet friendly. I mentioned my concern to Ed, the owner, upon checking out; and because he seemed like a conscientious gentlemen, I trust he had housekeeping take care of the problem...so hopefully it won't be an issue for future guests.
On the wooden front porch, the cabin had a table with umbrella and gas grill. Very nice for cooking during our stay.
There are a number of areas to hike in the vicinity, but not really any on site; however, you can walk along the roads within the property itself.

Room Tip: Rustic and secluded getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingGal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Found this on the internet while looking for a classic, secluded stay in the woods. Decor is dated but the facilities were very clean. Great sheets and equipped with everything you need for a lengthy stay. Area is well secluded but still close to area restaurants, Ben and Jerry's and Stowe Mountain. Highly recommended if this is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We travelled to the Stowe area (just up the road from Ben and Jerry's) on two occasions, first in early August of 2016 and again in December of 2016. Our first stay was in cabin 7, the second in cabin 10. The layout of each and the accommodations were very homey, very comfortable for our 10-year old Labrador, and very accessible to Stowe and surrounding cities and towns. Large beds, multiple TVs, multiple bathrooms and comfy dens, porches made it a home away from home. Full kitchen with microwave, and a gas grill on the porch made this a dream, And on our winter excursion, there were ample areas to snowshoe and cross-country ski both on and off the property. Easy access off I-89. You must sample the Cider Mill apple cider doughnuts. A+ for both stays.

Room Tip: If one couple, ask for cabin 7, if a family with children choose cabin 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotton3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Such a cute cabin!.. like a little apartment. Fully equipped! All kitchen needs ... We made coffee & breakfast. They even put ice in the freezer (Thank you! and I forgot my ice cream in the freezer! Sorry!) Great deck with a grill, table, umbrella, and chairs (we loved that!). TV, radio, a/c. Gas fireplace for inside heat in the cold weather. Very close to Waterbury Center and any of those attractions. We even hiked the Short Trail right there as we wandered to check out the immediate area. Just a wonderful experience and great stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EtherealDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I travel regularly both professionally and personally, and Stowe Cabins is among the most relaxing places I've ever stayed. It was well-maintained and provided the calm and peace of the Vermont woods while also being less than a 10 minute drive from the major attractions in Waterbury.

The cabins have many of the amenities of a hotel with the feeling of a cabin in the woods. It's the best of both worlds. Do you want your cable, AC, and wi-fi? You're all set. Or, you can just open the windows and listen to the quiet sounds of the woods.

The innkeeper patiently answered several of my questions and was generally available for both advice as well as any concerns.

I will definitely return, and highly recommend staying here if you have any interest in the Waterbury area or just staying in your own cabin in the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury Center
8.1 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.6 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
7.4 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
10.5 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
8.4 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Cabins in the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Cabins in the Woods

Address: 513 Cabin Lane, Waterbury Center, VT 05677 (Formerly 1836 Cabins)
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Waterbury Center
Price Range: €96 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stowe Cabins in the Woods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 200 acres of forest and field for hiking, snowshoeing, and more, Stowe Cabins in the Woods is the perfect choice for the couple who wants to get away to a special spot in the woods that they can call their own. Family friendly and pet friendly too, Stowe Cabins in the Woods is the unique and affordable choice for the whole family seeking accommodations outside the confines of a hotel, motel, inn, or B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stowe Cabins in the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Cabins In The Woods Hotel Waterbury Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing