We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm people, and great food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn while on business in a neighboring town. Situated off the main street in Waitsfield, it was quiet, comfortable, and welcoming. Mike greets you with his Boston drawal, and genuine kindness. His wife Sandra prepares a delicious breakfast every morning. They made you feel like you were walking into their home, not just a place to stay. My room was clean, warm, and I haven't slept that well in years. Businesses, and places like the Yellow Farmhouse Inn make you want to move to Vermont, and enjoy the serene beauty all year. I spent hours my first night sitting in the den near the fire reading, watching the snow fall like mad outside. I was a great trip, and the Yellow Farmhouse Inn was a big part.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank followchrisjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I had a truly wonderful experience staying at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn for 3 nights in February 2012. It is a super cozy, comfortable, and friendly place -- by far the best B&B that I've ever stayed at, and one of the best places I've ever stayed period (and I've traveled a lot, in the U.S. as well as internationally, though this is the first time I've taken the time to write a TripAdvisor review). We stayed in the Catherine room on the 2nd floor -- spacious room with a very nice king size bed, lots of windows with great views, nice bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were delicious and different every day - french toast, pancakes, eggs, etc. The innkeepers, Mike and Sandra, are very caring and friendly people. They gave us great advice about good places for dinner nearby (American Flatbread, Big Picture Cafe, etc) and places to visit after skiing (Cider Mill, Cabot store, Ben & Jerry's factory, glass blowing studio, etc.). As for skiing, the inn is only 10-15 minutes from both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen, so it was convenient for us to go to both; they are both excellent places to ski, and very different from each other, so I think it's worth spending at least a day at each one as we did. We plan to go back soon -- and even though we went to VT for skiing, we loved the inn so much that we may go back to stay there during the other seasons.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 (Presidents Day weekend) while skiing at Sugarbush. I cannot say enough good things about the YFI. The breakfasts were all great and filling. The breakfast was so hearty that we didn't need to stop for Lunch at the Mountain. When we returned from skiing we had Minestrone soup waiting for us :). On the other days there were delicious afternoon treats. The rooms were all spacious and clean, I already know which one we will book next time we stay at YFI. The common area is warm and inviting. Mike is gregarious and very knowledgeable of Waitsfield and its history. Mike also recommended some excellent restaurants in the area for dinner. We had a slight problem with the heat in our room, once we brought it to Mike's attention he took care of it immediately and followed up during our entire stay. We hope to return to YFI for many years to come. We love Skiing Sugarbush and will make this our home away from home when visiting the Mad River area of Vermont. Thank You Mike and Sandra you are excellent Inn Keepers and truly know how to run a terrific B&B we are already looking forward to next time. Hopefully next winter will bring more SNOW!

AR & Stu

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We felt right at home and enjoyed the great hospitality of our hosts, Sandra and Mike. Our room was spacious with a cozy gas fire in the corner and views of the snowy fields. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling. Finding homemade cookies waiting in the evenings was an added treat. Sandra and Mike were friendly and helpful in every way. It was also one of the quietest inns I've ever stayed at. Perfect for a good night's rest. Wish all B&Bs were as wonderful as The Yellow Farmhouse!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CookieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed for our 4th time over the New Years weekend and it was just as good or better as the first three. In addition to comfortable and immaculate rooms and a cozy common room we were treated with a delicious and filling breakfast and homemade cookies the remainder of the day. Our hosts Mike and Sandra made us feel like we were at our home with our own family and their dog Dolly is lots of fun and playful. We were planning on skiing but it was too comfortable to leave. If we were adventurous there were plenty of activities and attractions close by. A must place to stay if you are traveling to Vermont!

We will be returning soon for our 5th stay!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sobmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
3.5 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
317 reviews
4.0 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
97 reviews
3.6 km away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
153 reviews
2.2 km away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
2.7 km away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: €109 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing