We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Field Guide(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveller rating
1,307
461
110
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
461
110
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmansfield housewhip restaurantluxury suitemiddle of townfour poster bedmain streetfire pitnew englandjacuzzi tubclassic roomcookiesmodern amenitieshotel restaurantbeautiful roomdowntown stowelarge bathroombaked goods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When paying $300 a night for a room, one has certain expectations and we were sorely disappointed. On the first night, we were awaken by very loud engine noises that would roar for about 10 minutes, stop for one minute, and then start up again. After an hour, we called the front desk and were told it was the jacuzzi in the room above. Extremely noisy and frustrating.
Prior to booking, we were advised that if we wanted to pre pay breakfast, we would get the discounted rate of $13. The buffet was actually $8.50! Finally, when we went to check out, we noticed a $19.60 per night "maid gratuity" added. Do they not pay the maids from the $300 per night? Assuming that the maid cleans 3 rooms per hour, is she receiving $60 per hour tip? I was happy to book the hotel, knowing that it was possibly the most expensive one in Stowe but felt absolutely nickeled and dimed with the other charges. I love Stowe but have far preferred the other inns I have stayed at there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yesvirgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madaline1, Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

I was sorry to read that you were frustrated and disappointed with your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We make every attempt to exceed our guest’s expectations, and in your case, we clearly failed. The noise issue that you pointed out will be addressed to prevent future guests from being woken up during the night. The discounted full breakfast that you, $13.00 inclusive per person, was for the entire breakfast buffet in addition to ordering specialty items such as pancakes, French toast and eggs cooked to order from our menu. The price of the full breakfast and menu is actually $12.95 per person plus tax and gratuity. You actually received a $3.39 savings per person, per day for your discounted breakfast. The $8.95 price is for the continental breakfast side of the buffet. We do not offer a discounted package plan for the continental breakfast. The “maid gratuity” that you referred to is actually a service charge that is added to all guests bills as a convenience. If a guest prefers to make their own decision regarding gratuity, the Reception Desk staff will remove the service charge from the guest bill. This service charge is discretionary. The hotel service charge is shared by all hotel staff that provided services to you during your stay. Dining gratuities are not included. The service charge is mentioned to guests at the time of booking, again at check-in, stated in the confirmation letter and noted on a tent card placed in each guest accommodation. After reviewing your bill, I see that you paid the service charge. I will take the liberty of refunding the service charge amount from your bill. I would also like to invite you back to the Inn, as our guest, for a one night stay so that we can provide you with a memorable experience that you deserve. I will send you a gift certificate by mail.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your recent experience at the Inn. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Inn on a future visit to Stowe.

Patti Clark
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November and the place is wonderful. We stayed in a luxury room with a king size bed, jacuzzi and a fireplace. The hotel is located right on Main Street.The staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first trip to Vermont and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our first trip to Stowe. We plan to come back and will not look for a different hotel -we have found our place! The building is very charming, the rooms cozy and a good mix of modern and historic. The location is great right on Main Street and the service is so friendly! Make sure to get a massage here because it is excellent! All around, very high quality and a good value as a bonus!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling-politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Since the first day we arrived, my husband and I loved it. We felt so welcomed by the whole staff. The entire resort is beautifully designed. We were in the King Suite with our own livingroom, a fireplace and a jacuzzi. The bathroom had a vanity counter for the ladies, a very good touch for us ladies. The room was so cozy that we did not wanna go outside. We used the heated outdoor pool which we loved too and the jacuzzi in the pool area. We had dinner at the Whip bar and grill. Food and drinks were great and good price too. We definitely will be back. It is a place to make unforgateble memories. Thank you for making our first year anniversary special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelmendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This was our first time to Stowe and I booked a townhouse within this hotel for a group of 4. The location, service, rooms and bar are all fantastic. I struggle to think of anything bad to say! Perfect location for a ski break just 6 miles from the slopes but within walking distance of loads of shops and restaurants. Will return for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a townhouse!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews