We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable Inn in the heart of Stowe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cazenovia, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very comfortable Inn in the heart of Stowe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I had a very comfortable three night stay at the Green Mountain Inn. Our room was located in one of the new buidlings in the back of the old Inn. It was extremely comfortable with a King bed, Jacuzzi and a gas fireplace. Our only complaints were the street noise outside our room and connecting to the internet was somewhat problematic. However, the bed was so comfortable, I would simply fall back to sleep after being awoken by the street noise. The staff pampers their guests the hotel offers a lovely pool (open year round) and exercise room. Breakfasts are delicious with many options. I would stay their again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHan170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    424
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
364
1,010
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

When paying $300 a night for a room, one has certain expectations and we were sorely disappointed. On the first night, we were awaken by very loud engine noises that would roar for about 10 minutes, stop for one minute, and then start up again. After an hour, we called the front desk and were told it was the jacuzzi in the room above. Extremely noisy and frustrating.
Prior to booking, we were advised that if we wanted to pre pay breakfast, we would get the discounted rate of $13. The buffet was actually $8.50! Finally, when we went to check out, we noticed a $19.60 per night "maid gratuity" added. Do they not pay the maids from the $300 per night? Assuming that the maid cleans 3 rooms per hour, is she receiving $60 per hour tip? I was happy to book the hotel, knowing that it was possibly the most expensive one in Stowe but felt absolutely nickeled and dimed with the other charges. I love Stowe but have far preferred the other inns I have stayed at there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yesvirgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madaline1, Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
I was sorry to read that you were frustrated and disappointed with your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We make every attempt to exceed our guest’s expectations, and in your case, we clearly failed. The noise issue that you pointed out will be addressed to prevent future guests from being woken up during the night. The discounted full breakfast that you, $13.00 inclusive per person, was for the entire breakfast buffet in addition to ordering specialty items such as pancakes, French toast and eggs cooked to order from our menu. The price of the full breakfast and menu is actually $12.95 per person plus tax and gratuity. You actually received a $3.39 savings per person, per day for your discounted breakfast. The $8.95 price is for the continental breakfast side of the buffet. We do not offer a discounted package plan for the continental breakfast. The “maid gratuity” that you referred to is actually a service charge that is added to all guests bills as a convenience. If a guest prefers to make their own decision regarding gratuity, the Reception Desk staff will remove the service charge from the guest bill. This service charge is discretionary. The hotel service charge is shared by all hotel staff that provided services to you during your stay. Dining gratuities are not included. The service charge is mentioned to guests at the time of booking, again at check-in, stated in the confirmation letter and noted on a tent card placed in each guest accommodation. After reviewing your bill, I see that you paid the service charge. I will take the liberty of refunding the service charge amount from your bill. I would also like to invite you back to the Inn, as our guest, for a one night stay so that we can provide you with a memorable experience that you deserve. I will send you a gift certificate by mail.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your recent experience at the Inn. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Inn on a future visit to Stowe.

Patti Clark
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland,Ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November and the place is wonderful. We stayed in a luxury room with a king size bed, jacuzzi and a fireplace. The hotel is located right on Main Street.The staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first trip to Vermont and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our first trip to Stowe. We plan to come back and will not look for a different hotel -we have found our place! The building is very charming, the rooms cozy and a good mix of modern and historic. The location is great right on Main Street and the service is so friendly! Make sure to get a massage here because it is excellent! All around, very high quality and a good value as a bonus!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling-politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Since the first day we arrived, my husband and I loved it. We felt so welcomed by the whole staff. The entire resort is beautifully designed. We were in the King Suite with our own livingroom, a fireplace and a jacuzzi. The bathroom had a vanity counter for the ladies, a very good touch for us ladies. The room was so cozy that we did not wanna go outside. We used the heated outdoor pool which we loved too and the jacuzzi in the pool area. We had dinner at the Whip bar and grill. Food and drinks were great and good price too. We definitely will be back. It is a place to make unforgateble memories. Thank you for making our first year anniversary special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelmendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
6.3 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing