We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Accommodating and Friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating and Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed there as part of a group. It is a very cozy and warm setting. The breakfast was delicious, with a huge variety of dellcious plates to choose from. The pool/jacuzzi was so inviting, I couldn't get enough of it! The staff was very accommodating, professional and friendly. I definitely will be back! Great Place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vee_vergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    20
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

4 miles away from the Mountain; you can't get much closer than this! Unlike most things in Stowe, the Inn was not overpriced. We got a great deal as part of a ski group.

The free breakfast is hearty but nothing to write home about. That was OK as it served well as fuel for the skiing that came soon after.

The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice surprise and were enjoyed by our 5 year old.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionysia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We came up to the Mountaineer Inn last weekend as part of a group ski trip. The manager was very friendly, happy to give us advice and tips. Rooms were clean, and the giant, 20-person hot tub downstairs is great after a day of skiing. There was almost always a pot of coffee ready, and the manager was happy to brew more on request. The inn is about 4 miles from the base lodge, and getting in and parking was a breeze. There's also a shuttle that will pick you up on the road. Our package included breakfast both mornings: not gourmet, but a step up from continental breakfast. It included eggs, bacon, sausage, and pancakes or french toast, as well as bagels, muffins, and cereal. These were served buffet-style. The only downsides were a slight musty odor in the halls when we checked in (old building with a pool, not too bad), and the fact that we never saw the downstairs lounge and bar open. I think it's only open late on Saturday nights--though if you want to go drinking in Stowe, there is no shortage of options. Overall, a very serviceable, not too expensive option for staying in Stowe in the winter.

Room Tip: Though the rooms boast private decks, you won't be spending much time on them in winter. Ours ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights in the Mountaineer Inn in Stowe and were quite happy with the hotel and overall stay. The price was very reasonable for Stowe (about half the cost of any other hotel in the area for the week we were there). The rooms were basic, but quite large and very clean and were adequate for our needs. The complementary breakfast was good- all the basics (pancakes, eggs, bacon, bagels, etc) that provide a good base for a day on the mountains!
Everyone who worked at the Inn was extremely friendly and willing to help with any questions and provided great suggestions for dinner and drink locations in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Perhaps the reviews previous to this (all 2009 and before) applied in their day but they might as well be talking about a different place now. My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding over a long weekend, we found the room to be pleasant, clean and pretty well appointed. We loved the little individual porches that each of the room at the front of the hotel had, while we didn't have a chance to check out the swimming pool and hot tub/jacuzzi we heard good reports from others in our party. The service was excellent for an establishment of its size, the manager (?) even opened up the bar for us after he had closed up and responded very quickly to our many and varied requests throughout the weekend.

All told we very much enjoyed our stay, the only negatives were that there was no hairdryer or iron (but were brought prompted upon request) and the chairs on the outside deck needed to be wiped down (but then in fall everything outside does).

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front, not noisy and you get a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.1 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.5 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.1 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
2.2 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Property: The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Address: 3343 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget Inn that is located just 3 miles from Main Street, and just 3.5 miles from the famous Mount Mansfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
Mountaineer Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing