We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!!”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

WONDERFUL! When we decided to go to Stowe for a 3 day getaway, we didn't want to leave our 11 year old dog in a kennel. I found Topnotch and prepared myself for a so-so room, maybe a bit smelly. Well, the concierge, Carol, contacted me to assure me of all the comforts waiting for our pooch. She also helped me with reservations for spa and dinners, all before we hit the road. Upon arrival, all employees welcomed us and our dog with treats and clean bedding for our 4 legged friend.
Norma's restaurant is "over the top" fabulous; the food, ambiance, and service...including the unpretentious yet talented Executive Chef. Tommy, one of the waiters is such a hard worker and always pleasant.
The room was spacious, spotless and fresh always! Greta, the housekeeping manager, found us one morning to personally welcome us. My son fell in love with the slopes and I, the SPA! I've been to many, and Topnotch topped them all. One again, immaculate facilities with "attention to detail" staff. Bob worked wonders on my sore neck. Lastly, we stayed in the dog wing and never heard others while in our room and some were barkers! LOVED IT...can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to take your pooch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    194
    94
    37
    23
See reviews for
257
381
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hands down the hotel is beautiful, but dogs are allowed (I left mine home)and we had a big dog barking from 4-8am right next door. We were so tired today. Checking out they said sorry, oh well. So, my advice, call down ASAP and and shut the hounds up!!! Big bummer!!!!

Room Tip: Ask front desk if dogs are near you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdody67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our first trip to Stowe and were fortunate enough to stay at Topnotch. While the entry, foyer, check-in, and elevator all seemed a bit dated, after we settled in we were really happy to be staying there. It is a great location and the staff is really incredibly kind and attentative. The recommendations Carole made were spot on and our time in the Spa was amazing. It truly is one of the nicer spas we have ever been too (and we get to stay at some top hotels in the country luckily). Norma's was really good and again, living in Atlanta we are spoiled with great food, and Normas delivered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDUPREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Loved the Spa and the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and outdoor pool and hot tub. The gym is gorgeous and the lounges are extremely elegant.
Service is very friendly and the make sure all the needs are satisfied.
Rooms are very clean and the beds are ver confy. I got 2 rooms, both with no decent view. The wallpaper is "old style".
The lounge, bar and fireplace are very nice. The game room is very ugly and cheap, it's the sore in thevye of this resort.
They offer a shuttle to the mountain.
Overall great hotel. I don't like the fact that patrons of the restaurant walk there in the hallways between the guests rooms!
Architecturally the hotel is not fancy except for the outside pools and restaurant area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Oh Topnotch, you have fallen behind in your quality. Only the Spa remains as the highlight!

Pros: near the cross country/sleigh facility, free fridge and rollaway in room,
Spa/lounge amenities are wonderful including several tea and water varieties, fireplaces in lounce areas, wonderful towels and good toiletries, shower setup which includes razor and full size products at the ready, and plush bathrobes. Good hot tub and lots of lounging chairs. Very accommodating and friendly front desk staff and bellhops. Free WII games in basement. Good workout rooms with lots of free weights and several cardio machines.

Cons: HORRIBLE BEDS!! The 'executive' room had 2 doubles which were so small my husband and i were falling off the "bouncy??" bed. so cramped we barely slept. Ate breakfast at Norma's, which has no atmosphere and about 15 tables crammed next to each other with a food lamp in plain view where the servers picked up their plates. My omelet was so dry and flavorless I considered sending it back and leaving. Limp greasy soggy homefries, and flavorless toast served with cold butter. Almost has a feel of a cafeteria inside...and for $18 with coffee??? yikes. Indoor pool was very cool, too cool for most adults to swim in. Hotel carpet has been there for many years and is worn, threadbare, and badly needs updating. Had to pay for pool table usage in game room (but Wii was free ?? figure that one out). Only one restaurant onsite (besides a "pub" which was filled with kids and a screaming infant the night we were there). When waterfall was on in hot tub area, you could barely hear yourself talk. Very weird and dangerous "ramp" on each level of the hotel in between rooms- you had to gingerly slide/baby step down several feet to continue! My 4 year old son fell down and I almost slipped while bringing luggage into the room. A hazard for any age!! Even an employee acknowledged they were going to redo these.

Sorry guys, you need to bring in a new chef, update the restaurant layout, redo the carpet, replace double beds with queens, and get rid of the ramps in between rooms. Save your money (of which they want alot) and stay somewhere else!!
We won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a King Bed!!! Request a refrigerator in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.9 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.7 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.1 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing