We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff, great Sunday brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2017

My fiance and I stayed at the Doubletree South Burlington over Memorial Day Weekend while visiting family in the area. The location is sort of random/middle of nowhere, but only a 5-minute drive from downtown Burlington or Winooski. It's right near some other hotels like the Courtyard, which is right on the highway, so it's nice the Doubletree is a few doors away from the Interstate.

We arrived with two road bikes which we needed to lock up indoors somewhere, and the front desk staff immediately and helpfully offered that we could use a coat closet for a conference room that wasn't being used, that only staff had a key for. It worked great and we were soo glad not to have to keep the bikes in our hotel room.

The room was lovely, not the most incredible I've ever stayed in, but the bed was comfortable, we had a nice little view of the courtyard, and it was very clean, so I didn't need much else. Bonus points for having electrical outlets on top of the nightstand.

Note - we were in room 204 which is one floor up but right off the lobby. Highly recommended if you don't mind taking a short flight of stairs (like a grand staircase in the middle of the lobby). Otherwise, the elevator is apparently way at the other end of the hotel. But we didn't mind the quick stairs, and it meant not waiting for an elevator!

We had normal breakfast there one morning, and it was quite worth it- plus, we were in a rush, and the waiter was very funny and nice about it, brought everything out very quickly, so we were in and out in about 10 minutes.

But the SUNDAY BRUNCH buffet!!!!!! This review may be biased because we have Hilton status so it was free but still! Again, it's a Doubletree, so it wasn't a crazy enormous spread, but what was there was REALLY GOOD. In particular, the buffet bacon was crispy, not soggy, and -- somehow -- the eggs benedict, sitting however long on the buffet, still had cooked whites and runny yolks. I have never seen such an accomplishment. Anyway, it was all delicious and definitely worth going to their restaurant for Sunday brunch.

Overall, I'd recommend it, especially if you have a car and are willing to take a small drive to get downtown. If you want to be in the middle of the action with lake views, this may not be for you, but it was great for us.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the low 200's are right near the lobby, accessible via a staircase (or elevator...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigailmaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and encountered friendly staff. Trader Dukes does a great job and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Eggs Benedict is a popular choice here! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Definitely, this is a good place to stay. It needs some minor updating but the room was very clean and well-appointed. We arrived in a pouring rainstorm, and the ability to walk to a good restaurant without going outdoors was a welcome addition.

Room Tip: A room on the side away from the main road is always quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay! We are so happy to hear that you encountered attentive staff, enjoyed the restaurant, and found shelter from the storm! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

This is an older doubletree in desperate need of updating. I had to stay here five nights on business and was unimpressed by everything but the front desk folks. Now I am a Diamond member, no acknowledgement of that and they still booked me in rooms not fitting my online preferences. Good luck getting to your room if you're in the back. You have to walk down two very long hallways dodging a guantlet of cleaning carts, laundry carts, maintenance carts like every third room. Very noisy hotel because of the cleaning staff. I only had my room serviced twice in the stay because it took them forever to do it and the service was inconsistent. The hallways and lobby are all dark and pretty dingy looking. When I arrived my room was super hot and you can;t set the thermostat lower than 67. This is a pet peeve of mine and actually affexts my health.. The guest should be able to set the thermostat to what they are comfortable with. Even then it did not blow out cold air so the maintenance guy (the same guy who picked me at the airport) had to bring a fan--an old dirty fan that made noise while it spun. The restaurant Trader Jacks onsite is good for breakfast, and I appreciated the free breakfast that you could order off the menu. But lunch and dinner seems to be food out of a can designed for the older palette. There is a small bar but no happy hour and the drinks are super overpriced. This is not a hotel where a biz traveler wants to stay. The front desk folks were friendly. No shuttle service except to and from airport so the van just sits there. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: I don;t know. they all seemed pretty awful.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. Here at the DoubleTree we take guest feedback very serious and will look into this issues that you had with your stay. We hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

My husband and I were really looking forward to getting away for the long holiday weekend. Once we got to this hotel, we found the reservations were screwed up and we had to go to another hotel for the 2nd night- they did find us another hotel at the next exit. Once we got home we found $50 in hotel overcharges on our credit card and even with receipts, it is still unresolved. The hotel was not as good as I thought it would be and they don't really seem to have it all together. I travel alot, I will not stay at this hotel again, maybe it's just one of those things, but I still had a not so great experience and there are many other choices of hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank mariacA6204NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not a pleasant one. Here at the DoubleTree we take guest feedback seriously and will look into the issues with your reservations. The $50 is a hold for incidentals when you check into the hotel and is released back to you once you checkout. If it is a debit/credit card then it can take anywhere from 3-7 business days before it returns to your card. We hope you are able to give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The Double Tree at Burlington Vt. was excellent. It has an amazing restaurant "Trader Jacks" attached. The food was great as well as the drinks and atmosphere. The staff at this facility was exceptional. I am in a manual wheelchair and everyone went above and beyond to help me out. The room was great. We had # 108 on first floor.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank F3947MFjoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 June 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent stay! We are thrilled to hear that you found the restaurant and staff to both be exceptional. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.7 km away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
670 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,385 reviews
1.1 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,599 reviews
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
524 reviews
3.4 km away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Address: 1117 Williston Rd, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: €109 - €288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing