We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Picked this place as the most romantic of our 11-day trip to see the fall folliage. It is a beautiful old home, converted to a B&B with a large dining area/restaurant, nice sitting area and well-decorated rooms. Shower/tub was nice w/ good pressure. Bed slept well.
Breakfast was great. Good service, wonderful food. In a beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spellbound56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    96
    18
    18
    7
See reviews for
74
175
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in early October. We were so warmly greeted by the staff - from the front desk, to the servers in the restaurant. It was so nice to feel as though we were wanted guests, rather than interruptions to be dealt with! These employess know how to deliver good customer service.

The inn has been tastefully restored without losing the quaint features of an old building. We found the food to be absolutely wonderful! The chef was even kind enough to share a recipe.

If you are looking for the modern hotel with all the amenities in the room, this is not the place for you. This is the type of place, that when you leave, you feel like you have left friends behind.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed one night at Quechee Inn during the week of August 20, 2011 and found the inn to be every bit as quaint and lovely as we had read. The room was spacious and very comfortable-the furnishing throughout the inn are beautful, period pieces put together in a way that feels just like home. We enjoyed sitting on the lawn chairs drinking wine and that evening after a delicious meal sat in the living room sipping drinks. The atmosphere in wonderful and relaxing. We explored the upper floor and balcony and found the view of the grounds from up there spectacular.

Breakfast the next morning was just as good as the dinner before and the ambiance of the dining room, with the french doors to the patio opened wide, was fresh, bright and delightful. Service at both meals was superb.

The only thing negative about the experience was the front desk personnel. The woman who checked us in was friendly and helpful but we were never told that we, as guests, had privlegeds at the local country club which includes a swimming pool. We would have taken advantage of this had we known as it was quite warm at the time we were there. At check out the woman at the front desk was completely unfriendly. The only reason she actually spoke to us was because there was a computer problem and she had to explain what she was doing to circumvent it.

Yes, it's a wonderful place to stay and we are so glad we did. If you plan to go, learn what's available to guests before you get there and ask a lot of questions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
I would like to thank these guests for such a great review of both our guest rooms and the dining experiences we strive to provide every guest of the Inn. Reading this review, it is clear these guests made full use of the Inn, enjoying our beautiful grounds, porches and finishing up in the Common Room after a good meal. As the Innkeeper, this is what it is all about here at the Inn, seeing our guests relax and enjoy all that we have to offer.

Regarding the comments about the front desk, I would like to say that candid reviews like this only serve to make us better. I am pleased the clerk at check-in was helpful; however, we do not actively promote the privileges at the Club during the check-in process, as we like to take the guests on a small tour of the Inn and provide them with a lot of other information at that time. We do list the fact that we have those privileges right on the first page of our in-room Guest Information books. The Front Desk is happy to provide a wide variety of information to guests regarding activities and places to go and see, we just can’t fit it all in on arrival.

As for the unfriendly check-out, I make no excuses. Whether the clerk was busy, pre-occupied or had issues with the computer, they should still be friendly and courteous to our guests. I will use this review as an item for training and re-enforcing our commitment to providing our guests a great stay from check-in to check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Such a quaint little inn! So inviting with wonderful staff. The servers in the restaurant couldn't be more helpful. We spent every morning having breakfast on the lovely covered patio overlooking the garden. We read the reviews prior to making reservations and found a few that called it "dated". That's EXACTLY why we stayed! The original floors and fireplaces were gorgeous. I wouldn't have them change a thing!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

About the most genuinely friendly staff you will ever come across. From the front desk to the bartender everyone just seemed happy with their jobs and themselves. On a scale of one to ten the dinner was an Eleven! And it wasn't even the regular Chef, he was off that night and the sous chef prepared the meal.
The room was upgraded for no charge to a King bed and although simple, the place was roomy and clean. Prices were very reasonable all around and we felt the relaxed atmosphere the minute we stepped in the door.
Would I stay there again.....for sure...... and SOON I hope !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
1.3 km away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
12.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
405 reviews
13.7 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
454 reviews
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
288 reviews
9.4 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Property: Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing