We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
190
135
70
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
135
70
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town hotel restaurant state house great restaurant an older hotel fitness center alarm clock easy parking downtown montpelier comfortable rooms front desk staff convenient location very nice hotel one night stay parking lot new england steakhouse
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Clean, comfortable room. Friendly staff and welcoming environment. You can leave your care in the free parking and not need it till you leave town. So many walkable options to great dining and shopping options.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank krjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTTravelFamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

HI Krjoseph,

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review. Our staff truly enjoys ensuring that our guests are happy and I'll be sure to share your nice words with them.

The weather was perfect this fall for walking around our quaint streets of Montpelier and for enjoying the beautiful foliage.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Atrocious service in the adjacent restaurant where we had to wait 45 minutes for breakfast even when the servers knew we were in a hurry. Inflexible and arrogant: they refused to take breakfast orders until they had taken orders for beverages, which means orange juice and coffee, thereby wasting 10-15 minutes. Same thing at dinner. We were a group of 16 - large but not huge.
Inflexibility over minimum service charge for laundry, not disclosed in advance. Management (if there is any) failed to follow up on complaint by email, as promised. More seriously, the hotel ripped off out tour manager by saddling him with a lot of extra charges for so-called a la carte items on the bnreakfast menu. No clarity over what was not included in the package.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lothlorien18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTTravelFamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hi Lothlorien18,

We have enjoyed having your group stay with us for many years.

All of our staff tries very hard to provide a high level of service. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast was relatively new and inexperienced and unfortunately, did not provide the high level of service that is expected. In addition, due to the manner of the ordering, the new staff entered the items a la carte, instead of combining in one of our complete breakfast meals. This was unintentional. We have gone over each of the restaurant slips and issued a credit to the group for those discrepancies. We have talked with each of the servers and explained the proper way to take an order and the proper way to provide the best customer service possible.

With regard to your charge for laundry. The Laundromat picks up, does the laundry in it's own washer and dryer and delivers the laundry back to the hotel. For those reasons, they charge us a minimum of $10. The front desk staff did let the manager know that you did not want to pay that amount. The manager did not realize you were waiting for an email response. I have asked the front desk and manager to work more closely to insure that a manager responds immediately to a guest concern such as yours.

We have spoken to your group contact and are working together to put in new protocols for next year's group. We have always valued your group's patronage. We pride ourselves in our customer service and our clients return because of the service and hospitality they receive when they are here.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Charming hotel. Clean room. Friendly helpful front desk. Room was, however, very pricey. It was well above my price range but I would stay there again if I got a good deal or had a coupon. That being said, I slept well (even if we were only there for 6 hours!)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lisamerlo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Charming and comfortable! Great cozy bedding! Love the bowed shower curtain...roomy! Large windows! Lovely decorated lobby! High end toiletries! Wifi! Alarm clock charges iPhones! Friendly staff! CLEAN!!

Room Tip: Had a great fall mountain view!
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HampshireHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTTravelFamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Dear Hampshire Haven,

Thank you for staying with us and your detailed review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed all of our little touches. We pride ourselves on providing wonderful amenities. I'll be sure to share your nice words with our housekeeping and front desk staff.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The Capital Plaza is the best place to stay in Montpelier. The ladies at the desk were extremely helpful from the time I checked in until check-out time. We found the room tastefully decorated, always clean, and it was so quiet. Our thanks to the entire staff for making our visit to Vermont so enjoyable! .

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annegD2693DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews