We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best poutine ever!”
Review of The Copper Grouse

The Copper Grouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Copper Grouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$5 - US$45
Description: Cooper Grouse is Restaurant + Bar in Vermont near the historic town of Manchester, featuring regionally inspired dishes, classic cocktails & craft beers.
Restaurant details
Description: Cooper Grouse is Restaurant + Bar in Vermont near the historic town of Manchester, featuring regionally inspired dishes, classic cocktails & craft beers.
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Staying at the Kimpton Taconic so had to try the in house restaurant. A little too warm temp wise, but wonderful atmosphere. Very stylish, very VT ski chic. Not cheap but not inappropriate for this sort of place in Manchester. Interesting people watching, definitely some Manhattan money floating around. Beyond best poutine we've ever had, the entrees of duck and short ribs were excellent. Nice wine list but I made some bad choices. The Shiraz/Viognier was just strange. It sounded interesting, but in the end the Viognier just made the finish fizzle. My second glass was a Lodi Petite Syrah, but that also felt weak. Maybe my palette was just not feeling it tonight. Not the restaurant's fault. Server was very nice, and she did a good job. But on several occasions she was addressing the table next to us but neglected to check on how we were doing. Once she swiped in a grabbed an empty glass without even a smile. And most importantly my second glass of wine took so long that I was 99% done with my meal. If she had turned around and addressed us a minute earlier when she was waiting on the adjacent table, I would have cancelled the second glass. Overall a very good experience that could have been great with just a few subtle but important improvements.

Thank BillBedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Grouse R, Assistant General Manager at The Copper Grouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for the rave review! Our poutine is certainly a crowd favorite! We hope to see you soon, here at The Copper Grouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch. Drinks were ok, and very expensive, not worth price tag. Food was a mixed bag. Chicken salad sandwich and fries were great and reasonably priced! But, Caesar salad was a disappointment. It's more of a deconstructed salad and for $18 with chicken (20 if you add anchovies), it lacked flavor. I know this restaurant is located in a Kimpton, which is high end, but I still expect more than what we got, especially since this place had such good reviews.

2  Thank meghannm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Grouse R, Manager at The Copper Grouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thanks much for your honest feedback! We will review your concerns with our kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We had brunch here and were pleasantly surprised to find such good food in this mega-tourist town. My husband had the most unusual and delicious breakfast burger, with bacon and a fried egg. My black bean burger was one of the best veggie burgers I have had. It is a lovely, relaxing room, without the annoying distraction of blaring television. I would definitely return here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greenstate802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Grouse R, Assistant General Manager at The Copper Grouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

So glad you enjoyed your experience! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Friends and I had dinner at The Copper Grouse and breakfast the next morning, largely for convenience but food was very good. Service could have been a bit better, our servers seemed less well versed and a bit disaffected, thought the restaurant could work on that since Kimptons are usually so much better in this regard. Very nice ambiance, cozy, a bit noisy when crowded, but very enjoyable.

Thank mlledeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Grouse R, Assistant General Manager at The Copper Grouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you next time you are in Southern Vermont!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Taconic Hotel where the Copper Grouse is located in Manchester Village, VT. We met friends from Florida, we live in Connecticut. The restaurant is large, has varied seating. Devote very sharp. Even has a seating area around the fireplace that also is the fireplace in the lobby.

We all enjoyed dinner here and breakfast each morning.(serve until 10 am). It was very nice to not feel like we had to go out to eat dinner after being out for lunch & all afternoon each day. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good. There was a nice selection of appetizers and entrees for dinner. Breakfast could be yummy oatmeal with your choice of toppings (brown sugar, nuts, chopped warm chutney like fruit) to traditional eggs & potatoes to Eggs Benedict! Would have liked a mug of coffee instead of a cup, but the refills flowed.

Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Grouse R, Assistant General Manager at The Copper Grouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for dining with us Marsha! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copper Grouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Grouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing