We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Manchester)
US$103
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
US$195
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aspen at Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$153
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Winds Country Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brittany Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chalet Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
340
59
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
59
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssocial hourwine hourfront porchwalking stickyoga matfire pitfireplace kingspacious porchthe hotel's restaurantindoor fireplacehotel is beautifula pet friendly hotelchocolate covered strawberriescomplimentary coffeeglass of winerocking chairsmanchester village
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

At the last minute my husband and I decided to go to Vermont for the long 4th of July weekend. After exploring different hotel options we chose the Taconic (Great rates for Karma members!). We couldn't have been more happy with our choice. The front desk Team and valets were super friendly and welcoming. Our room was fantastic with a comfy bed and even better pillows (while there is not enough room for this another chair in the room would have been great but it was not that huge of a deal) . We took advantage of the morning coffee hours and enjoying it on the rockers on the wrap around porch. I loved spending time at the pool while looking at the mountains and we both enjoyed evenings by the fire pit. The restaurant, while not our favorite, had a great selection of food and fantastic signature drinks. Overall a phenomenal weekend here... We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tlc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Kimpton Taconic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a Kimpton fan, Karma member and for choosing Taconic for your weekend getaway. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and other TripAdvisor followers. The feedback you have given us is invaluable. The team will be happy to hear that they made such an impact.

We look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I stayed here for two nights and was very happy with this hotel. The hotel is brand new and all areas are very clean. The hotel is located within walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants in town. Though the hotel does not offer a wine hour like the other Kimptons, there is a social hour with some snacks and drinks. I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant and found both to be excellent. The staff at the hotel was warm, friendly, and offered great suggestions for things to do in the area. I hope to come back soon for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunshinedaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Kimpton Taconic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Taconic, a Kimpton Hotel. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review. The team love to make guest's feel special and I will share with them how they did make a difference. The Copper Grouse, our restaurant, thanks you for joining them for breakfast and dinner.

We do hope you join us again soon.

Warmest Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

It was clear from the description that this hotel was going to be a nice stay, but WOW! Rarely have I encountered such a great vibe mixed with pure professionalism and quality in a hotel stay. The fact that they welcome dogs creates a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the decor is contemporary but fitting for a historic village and the staff was outstanding. Food was great and service was top notch. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KRW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Kimpton Taconic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Guest,

WOW right back at ya! Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of your stay here at Taconic, a Kimpton Hotel. We know there are many choices in the area and we thank you for choosing us. I am thrilled you had such an incredible experience.

We look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I took a quick weekend trip to Vermont over the July 4th weekend . We saw the Taconic online and decided to give it a go! From the second we pulled in we were utterly impressed. The Hotel is beautiful with a huge wrap around porch . We were greeted the second we pulled the car in . The staff is so friendly they went out of their way to acknowledge each guest . Our room was nicely decorated the bed was very comfortable and the linens were fabulous. The bathroom was very nice and the shower was large .
The inside of the hotel is beautiful the wood floors are Gorgeous and there are so many little areas around where you could just sit and curl up with a book or newspaper.
The Restaurant was equally as fantastic the food was delicious( we had dinner and breakfast there ) the bartender Juliette was super friendly and the restaurant manager was awesome .
On our drive home we were already talking about when we will be back , hopefully in late fall or winter , I can't wait !

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Kimpton Taconic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Jenn,

Thank you and your fiance for choosing Taconic, a Kimpton Hotel for your July 4th weekend getaway. I am so delighted to hear that you both experienced what we strive to provide our guests each and every day. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and all TripAdvisor users.

We too look forward to your return. Until next time...

Warmest Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Brand new, the usual great staff and convenient location. The terrific Equinox Mountain park and hiking trails are nearby.
The Copper Grouse restaurant is very good and perhaps not more expensive than at other hotels. The wait staff here are terrific. The bar is well stocked but seems expensive ($16 for 10yr Bullet bourbon on the rocks is a lot).
VT liqueur laws require you to surrender any obvious
alcoholic beverages when checking in. The hotel checks them for you. Could this be a reason the bar prices are so high?
VT law also precludes the usual Kimpton wine hour at least for now..

alcoholic beverages when checking in. The hotel checks them and you have to remember to retrieve them when leaving. VT law also precludes the usual Kimpton wine hour at laest for now.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wineo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Kimpton Taconic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Guest,

I am not sure what happened but my replay never made it to you...I am so sorry. We value our guests feedback and I am sorry I let you down. Thank you for choosing Taconic, a Kimpton Hotel. We sincerely appreciate all the time you have taken to share your experience. I apologize that there were a few hiccups.

Unfortunately due to the fact we hold a liquor license, we are required to be the only persons to bring in and serve alcohol on premise. This is no different than most state laws as I worked in Massachusetts and the same rules applied. There are hotels that are not full service, that don't hold a liquor license, where you might be able to bring in your own beverages. Sorry.

The best news is that in mid-July we were approved and able to serve wine during our Social Hour. It is limited to one glass per adult hotel guest, with a drink ticket. We are so glad to have it back. Perhaps the next time your are here we could have a glass of wine together during Social Hour.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews