We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom
Ranked #7 of 64 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Owned by an ACF "Vermont Chef-of-the-Year", serving quality food for a moderate price & open 7 nights a week! Patio seating available in warm weather. Choose from a lunch, bar or dinner menu in a casual atmosphere. We also carry a late night menu on Friday and Saturday and will gladly do take-out food anytime. STEAK, SEAFOOD, SALAD BAR, SPIRITS, SPORTS BAR...Raven's Den Steakhouse and Taproom has been met with overwhelmingly positive reviews. The restaurant is spacious and welcoming with its simple, clean rustic/industrial design. Some unique features are: an all-you-can-eat salad bar with seasonal local produce (included with your dinner entrée), craft cocktails, relaxing seating area in front of a large stone fireplace in the taproom, wines-on-tap, award-winning wine collection with one of the largest (& guaranteed fresh) wines-by-the-glass list. There is an attractive taproom (lodge-like) ambience offering craft cocktails, 11 beer taps & hard cider, 5 wine taps, plus 4 HD televisions to watch the game. We have a professional & friendly staff who look forward to serving you.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

It was a very relaxed environment and the food was fabulous and our server Tom went above and beyond, To make the dining experience that much better.

Thank lindsaydoug2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello Lindsay and Doug - thank you very much for the 5 star review and kind words. Food - check. Service - check. Ambience - check. Yes, Tom is great, as are all of our servers! Come see us again sometime soon. ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Every single staff member we interacted with was friendly and kind. Salad bar with all entrees was a nice touch. The food was fine, but we weren’t wow-ed.

Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Anne - thank for the great review. Now I'm curious about what you ordered in terms of the wow-factor. Thanks for the feedback. We look forward to your next visit. ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We were visiting Manchester from NYC for Thanksgiving Eve through the weekend. Naturally, we tried in vain to find a restaurant who was open for that evening and had an opening. After several calls to other restaurants, we were recommended to try calling Ravens Den. We are extremely happy that the situation turned out as it did and we were able to secure a reservation for dinner. The young lady who took our information for the reservation was very charming and extremely helpful. Parking was plentiful as the restaurant had a sizable lot in the front of the restaurant. Sonia, our server, was also very courteous and helpful in explaining the specials and what she recommends. We started with a Beer Tasting Flight, 2 Soup Du Jours, a Vermont Turkey dInner, and a Salmon Red Miso dinner. What was unexpected was the wonderful salad bar Raven's had and how fresh everything was. Dressings were definitely homemade and very tasty. Both the Salmon and Turkey were well prepared and perfectly cooked and served. Portion sizes were more than adequate If this wasn't enough, we interacted with one of Raven's employees leaving to back to Long Island NY and we had a very pleasant conversation. Our only regret was that we were to full to try any of the wonderful desserts.

We cant wait to return and try some of their other dishes when we are next in the area. We only wish Raven's Den was closer so that it could be our regular go to eat place.

Many Thanks for making some tired and hungry New Yorkers feel welcome on Thanksgiving.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eminker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi eminker - OMG! What a fantastic and thorough review of your experience at the Den. I'm always surprised at how many people DO NOT order turkey on Thanksgiving. While many restaurants serve a limited menu for Thanksgiving, we serve the full main menu and our daily specials, including an awesome turkey dinner with the BEST turkey gravy on the planet. We hope to see your family again this November or even sooner! ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Vermont for my sons green mountain soccer tournament at Stratton mountain. We wanted to take a drive and see some of the cute surrounding towns. We came upon this Steakhouse restaurant Raven’s Den Steakhouse and taproom and took a chance. The outside and inside was modern but still had a rustic mountain feel. We were greeted right away by a very pleasant women and gentleman who took us in a tour of the restaurant. They have a very nice bar lounge area and a dinningroom area with tables and some beautiful high comfortable booths which were very large and spacious. They also had a patio dining area with a warm gas fire feature in the center.

I wanted to take my time to really really compliment our waiter Tom~ he was fabulous. I truly felt like I had know him for years!! He is the definition of a friendly Vermonter. He took his time explaining everything and gave us great suggestions on food and he was right on from the salad bar to the entrees and then the amazing deserts. He really made sure we were taken care of.

The food was so well prepared. The salad bar came with all the entrees even my sons kids meal!! The dressings were all homemade by their chief. They made great use of the local maple flavors of Vermont I loved that. My husband got the Filet mignon and was perfectly done this came with fingerling potatoes and 3 vegetables, gingered carrots which were fresh and outstanding, green beans and roasted cauliflower. I had the seafood special (the name escapes me) which had shrimp, scallops and and crabmeat over linguini in a rich cream sauce. It was very good. My son is such an extremely picky eater and he loved his grille chicken breast which came with mashed potatoes but they had no problem substituting those for French fries. He eat almost all of it (never happens)

The deserts, well I am not sure I can do them justice with my description but here goes. I had the donut desert it was not just a regular donut they are freshly made everyday from the little bakery right down the street (which Tom told us about and we visited it the next morning) they deglaze the donut in this decadent maple glaze and it’s topped with a homemade salted caramel ice cream with a homemade maple whipped cream with a caramel drizzle it was by far one of the best and unique deserts I have had!! It was very hard to keep my husband from eating it all :) he also got the maple Creme brûlée also an outstanding desert. This was such a great dinning experience and Tom was awesome and we hope to be back again. If you have a chance to visit this restaurant you should you won’t be disappointed.

Thank Jojoalex010609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hello Jojoalex - Thank you for the detailed review of Raven's Den Steakhouse - everything is made by the chef - Edward St.onge, CEC - from fresh ingredients and we buy local when we can in the summer. We take a lot of pride in what we serve and with creating a warm ambience. Please come see us again soon - we are open 7 nights a week, plus on weekends for lunch. Your review means more to us than you know. ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We came to Manchester. VT and was told that most dining places served between 5-8. My friends were staying at a hotel across from the Raven's Den that said it was open until 11:30. 6 of us showed up at 9:30 and received excellent service, salad bar, perfectly cooked steak and tons of food! A definite stop whenever we come to Manchester.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you Amy! Yes, we serve house-cooked (seasonal local) food later than most establishments around here. We serve until 9:00 Sunday- Thursday and on Friday and Saturdays we serve the main dinner menu until 10 and the bar menu after that. If someone is traveling, just give us a call to let us know you are coming and we can hold the kitchen open until you get there, if it's just a few minutes or you can order over the phone and we will have it ready when you get there. We are very flexible and customer focused. Can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing