We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I had in Manchester. ”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Food here is great. Very classic but upscale at the same time. Definitely get reservations. They had a 30 minute wait when we got there at 6 but we were able to sit down immediately. Definitely the best meal we had in Manchester.

1  Thank jonathansilva05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Jonathan,
I am so pleased to learn that you had left with such a positive impression of us, which was made possible by the efforts of our great team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and dining at our historic tavern. We look forward to many future visits.

Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

After experiencing many average to below average meals in the area it was a delight to dine at Ye Olde Tavern. Everything was just great. We were seated in the oldest room in the building with the original flooring and marble hearth - the ambiance became second place when the meals arrived. We all ordered something different and all of us were more than satisfied. The service was very good and she was very well informed about the menu and was able to make helpful comments and suggestions. It was not the typical everything is good or that is my favorite comments. This was by far the best experience we have had in the Manchester area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bondville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

We're thrilled your evening with us was 'FABULOUS!!!!!!!!'. We strive to offer top-notch service alongside our mouthwatering dishes in our authentic c.1790 Tavern and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. That's what we like to see!

We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing experience. Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the tavern as a group of 8 on a Sunday evening. Our group ranged from baby boomers —generation Zs. The menu included something to satisfy all palates and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our food. The kids loved the history of the tavern. The wait staff and manager were very attentive. We closed the place down and didn’t realize we had stayed well beyond closing time. Thank you to all at ye old tavern for a delicious meal.

1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Sharon,
Thank you for ending your great week in Vermont by dining at Ye Olde Tavern. We are so happy that your entire group, ‘from baby boomers to Generation Z’, found our New England & Continental fare, attentive service and historic ambiance exceptional.

There's always a warm welcome waiting for you here. Thanks again and cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is exactly what you expect. Historic, quaint, friendly and wonderful service and food! The sirloin steaks were cooked to perfection, however I would have liked a bit more of my sauce on the side. Our waiter Tom, couldn’t have been nicer. He made our experience delightful.

1  Thank kareyrhoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your Ye Olde Tavern experience. We take pride in providing the best service and food. Obviously, we were met our goals. Tom is a ‘great’ member of our great team. I will pass your comments on to him, as will I pass on your comment to our Chef regarding a bit more sauce with your meal.

We would love to welcome you back soon and cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Our hotel suggested we try the Ye Olde Tavern. After spending 6+ hours driving, we wanted to take a walk. We arrived near 7pm. Sunday evening without reservations. As we entered, we noticed plenty of open tables. We were greeted by the host who seemed very perturbed by our lack of reservations. His actions made it very clear. Once seated, our waitress and food were amazing. The maple butter, scrod cakes, parsley horseradish crusted salmon and chicken breasts were delicious. The dining experience was amazing, but the host sure could lose his attitude. While dining we watched him interact with the the older more refined couples while avoiding the younger patrons. Wonderful food, great atmosphere, but an poorly trained host. We would visit again.

1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your detailed review and listening to your hotel and dining with us. It was myself who greeted you and we always ask guests if they have reservations, so not to see a walkin guest at a requested table. I also check on all tables, regardless of age. I am sorry you felt that I seemed unfriendly or caring, that is about as far from who I am as can be. I am thrilled you enjoyed the rest of the service and food, that is the way your entire evening should be.

Please introduce yourself the next time you visit, I would like you to meet the real me! Hope to see you soon, cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing