We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic Inn with great food”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

The lobster bisque is excellent as was the rest of the meal. Historic surroundings and dining by the fireplace. Very romantic candlelit setting

Thank katemospaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thanks for the stunning review, Kate! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic dining experience with us.

We look forward to your next visit. Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 174 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Great food, intimate setting, and some really cool history behind the place. Book early, fills up fast.

Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Jonathan,
Great knowing that you had a wonderful evening with us. Living in Bondville, we hope to see you often. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The authenticity of this restaurant to the Colonial period is amazing, giving its guests a real feel for the period. The dining area is full of antiques and/or replicas from the period. The food and the service was great. We came in without a reservation and the hostess was pleasant in arranging a small table for two. Our Beef Pot Roast was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAH42881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

It's such a pleasure having you dine with us and earning such high praise. We hope you will visit again the next time you are in Vermont. Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We went to Ye Olde Tavern to meet with a friend I hadn't seen in about a year. We started out with some of the cocktails and they were all unique and rather nicely made. The atmosphere is great - close small rooms with soft lighting made for a nice area to make conversation. I ordered the salmon and my brother had the venison. My salmon was a bit on the dry overcooked side but the sauce on top helped keep things moisturized a bit. My bro's venison was "triangle" shaped and this resulted in a tip that was a bit overcooked and tough but with the meatier bit more appropriately cooked so it was just a bit uneven. I'm giving the Tavern 4 dots because I loved the environment and the pre-dinner drink but felt the food was a bit more average. I'd give them an opportunity to make better, though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Julianne,
Thank you for dining with us and the valuable feedback. I am happy you enjoyed the atmosphere and drinks, but sorry the food did not meet your expectations. I am going to talk with the cook about your comments regarding the salmon and venison, I look forward to welcoming you back and giving you the perfect evening. Cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

the specials were to die for tonight. a chicken pot pie delish too. good wine selection and romantic setting

Thank oliviaebsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thanks for dining with us and wonderful to read you enjoyed everything. Until next time, cheers! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing