We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pizza pizza!”

Sam's Wood Fired Pizza Co.
Ranked #30 of 64 Restaurants in Manchester
Good for: Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

love Sam's many types by the slice avail. our go to is the J. lewis all meats! good value for size and awesome quality toppings, my only downfall fall can be constancy with cooking can be too under done, and getting all the topping offered on the pie

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nyg142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I think this place missed in a few areas. The place was busy, and with a $6 lunch special, how could it not be. Looks like a big hit with the locals. This was highly recommended but missed several marks. The pizza was marginally ok, the other reviewer was right about the sugar in the sauce, and the cheese was not of the highest quality, and provided it's own grease to the pizza. The crust was good, nice and thin, with just the right amount of char from a wood fire. I could have done without the extra big pepperoni slice on it.

As an operator and have worked in the pizza industry, I love wood-fired pizzas. The inside of the restaurant was very Hodge podged. The ice for our soda came from a Coleman camping cooler. The sneeze guard protecting the pizza choices was only for on top, you could reach right through it and touch the pizza, be aware if taking kids there. The slices need a little more protection, for everyone's safety. The kitchen seemed disorganized and the counter girl seemed to have to walk too far in between tasks.

While I can appreciate air flow in a kitchen, it seemed weird to have boxed fans hanging all over the places in the kitchen. I am sure that this place doesn't make people wear uniforms, but the pizza maker should be at least made to wear a t-shirt with sleeves and no slits down the side, pretty sure the health department wouldn't like that.

Pizza wasn't too bad, I think a few tweaks and this could be an amazing place. I would love to stop next time we are in town and see if it improves.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LansingFoodie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Delicious thin crust, wood-fired pizza! This is the place to get pizza in Manchester, offering individual slices and whole pies. We got a large (16”) Ben’s pizza with spinach, goat cheese, and caramelized onions for $26; delicious! Don’t miss this hidden gem.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank BethMartineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Had a stop over in Manchester on a trip home. You can smell the wood pizza oven in town, and it smells great! Thought this would be a great dinner place. Ordered a small pizza with Greek style toppings with pepperoni and cheesy bread. The pizza itself was tasty however very skimpy on toppings, and was a thin crust which was a nice surprise. The sauce has more sugar than a typical pizza place, but still good. The cheesy bread was the biggest disappointment as it was just a sub roll cut in half with cheese on it. Don’t bother ordering it, there’s a big bowl of garlic knots available to purchase which look way better. The cashier/server was not overly friendly and did not seem to want to be there. The pizza itself is higher than a 3, but the service and cheesy bread drug it down. Would go back for just a Pizza in the future

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Small little order your food . No table service however pizza was good. They ran out of chicken wings. Who runs out of chicken wings!!!!!! We were there for the horse show they should be more prepared for busy times. Girls at the counter were very nice.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Wood Fired Pizza Co. also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Sam's Wood Fired Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing