We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
86
48
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
48
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distance to shopping and restaurantslovely groundsvery nice place to stayvermont experiencerooms are clean and comfortableclose to towncomfy chairsnice propertyhorse shownice weekendplenty of hot waternice sizeoutdoor poolwould stay here againroom was largeother guestsnew england
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We typically stay at one of the better known chains, but they were full so we turned to Trip Advisor for suitable alternatives. Fortunately we were able to reserve the next-to-the-last available room at the Aspen. It's an old fashioned motel but very clean and cozy. The owner is friendly and welcoming and made excellent recommendations for dinner and breakfast! Dinner at the tavern at the Perfect Wife and breakfast at Up for Breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ROADTRIPPER2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This was our first stay at the Aspen. The owners are great people, very, very friendly and sincere about wanting you to have a great stay with them.

The room was very, very clean. No musty smell (mid-August). The air conditioning worked very well. Plenty of hot water. The bed was extremely comfortable!!! :-)

WiFi there is free, but like in many motels it has some type of govenor so you can't do a lot of downloading or uploading. So if you are there on business or need streaming, make sure you are set with your cell coverage.

The rooms don't have refrigerators in all of them, but the motel does rent them for $5 (I saw them and a sign in the ice room).

The Apsen is very, very well maintained. The grounds are beautiful with a lot of flowers all around. You can tell the owners are very proud of their property, and they have every right to be.

We'll definitely look at the Aspen on our next trip to Mancester.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We knew we made the right choice with the Aspen as we viewed the lovely grounds and plantings on the property when we pulled off the highway. Our room was squeaky clean and we enjoyed our own "happy hour" with vino and snacks at the table for two outside our door several times -- chatted with neighbors -- and walked to and from town twice. We used Manchester as a base for day trips to Woodstock and Danby. We enjoyed the excellent (and free!) art museum and sculpture grounds in Manchester, as well as a street fair one night with a great Irish Band playing. The town is filled with outlets if one is interested in and shops and restaurants. In fact, we were able to easily walk to Ye Olde Tavern where we had a wonderful meal our last night in town. We highly recommend The Aspen -- our first, but hopefully NOT our last stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sandibytheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Owner at Aspen at Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

We thank you for choosing The Aspen for your stay. We strive for cleanliness and friendly Vermont hospitality and happy you received both. Like you said, our location is within walking distance to town and that is why we picked this location 41 years ago. We look forward to having you return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

well maintained, spacious, and CLEAN room. My daughter and I stayed there for a horse show and it was only 15 min to grounds. great value, will definitively stay again. right on 7A but very quiet. Manchester center has good restaurants and outlet shops

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

I was in town while on tour with my band and stayed here overnight! It was such a relaxing place to stay and made our first trip to Manchester that much more enjoyable. Thank you to Bruce for welcoming us so warmly! Clean rooms, quiet, nice view of mountains, very close to town, and beautifully decorated outside of the rooms. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Seann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews