We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back in time - four stars”
Review of Wilburton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilburton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rowley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A step back in time - four stars”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

After booking two days here, I made the mistake of reading reviews.....
Buyer's doubts but I kept an open-mind on this historic inn/hotel.
The whole experience was like a step back in time, back to when travel was an adventure, back to when civility counted, back to when grace mattered.
Even if we hadn't gotten a discount through and online promotion, this stay would have been worth the money.
In the absence of co-owner/hostess Georgette, Jayson filled in admirable. Very helpful, very chatty, very warm and welcoming.
This historic inn reminds me of the mansion in Newport, RI. The dark woodwork, the ornate carving, the elegance.
Every bit of the property is an amazement. The artwork, the sculpture, the atmosphere was amazing. The stately manor, with it's sitting rooms, the original billards room (now serving as a four-star restaurant, the oversized fireplaces, the heavenly smell of sage/herbs filling the air.
The room, No. 12, was delightful. The bed comfortable, the bathroom squeaky clean, plenty of hotwater and comfy towels.
Breakfasts were wonderful. A French chef is a big bonus to the dining experience there. Made to order omlettes, french toast, real homemade grain breads, great Green Mountain coffee. Couldn't have asked for more.
Usually, I begin my reviews with what the experience was not.....This is not a Holiday Inn Express, no indoor pool, no sauna, no fitness center, no business center, but who needs them when you have turn-of-the-century elegance?
Definitely four-stars. Great value, great experience, great lodging.

Room Tip: Main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newzmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    76
    18
    17
    17
See reviews for
130
155
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This past weekend I celebrated my birthday in Manchester VT. The Wilburton inn was the perfect choice ! The location was perfection ! Close to town yet not amongst the shops and main streets ,nice views of the country side and the staff was warm and inviting ..great for all ages ..beautiful rooms and a warm toasty fire in the great room .I will most definitely go back and recommend to friends. Cozy and filled with character and ambience .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christineg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is the kind of place that you tell your family & friends about - and hope to share with all of them..
After my husband and I enjoyed a romantic stay in early September 2011, I returned at the end of October the same year with one of my best friends for a "girl's getaway". This time, we enjoyed the elegant ambience and service in the dining room (the Banquet & Service Manager at this establishment is professional and truly exceptional in his attention to detail) - it turned into a 3-hour culinary experience I shall not forget!
Just like last time, our rooms were deliciously appointed and clean - both were located in the main mansion.
If I am able to make it back this winter, I plan to bring my cross country skis to explore the area around the beautiful town of Manchester - one of my favorite little corners of New England.
Thank you, Wilburton Inn - Owners, Management & Crew - for sharing this gem in such a loving fashion!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reiselysten777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've never written a review before but this place was so horrible I had to warn others not to stay here! The smell when you walk in the room is so overwhelming with cleaning chemicals we had to leave and go into town immediately with all the windows open to air out the place. The service was horrible. The owner was so rude. The rooms were sooo overpriced you get fooled online into thinking it will be beautiful Inn. The carpet on the floor is so gross- we made sure to wear our socks when we walked to the bathroom we were so grossed out. We had friends staying in another room and we compared to see which room was worse—I think they may have actually won since their bedspread was disgusting (I won’t even go into detail). We both tried to get out of our second night and go stay at the Equinox but they wouldn’t let us cancel the reservation. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Equinox Resort a mile down the street- it’s more expensive but worth it for a clean, beautiful room---great service, great facility, and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilburton1, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
This guests stayed with us during the busy vacation week. It is comforting to me that the same day this review was posted, a guest who had stayed in the same room earlier in the week emailed to book a family reunion. I don't believe I was rude to the reviewer. I invited her to sit in the living room, but i said that she could not bring in her own beer because our liquor license includes service in the living room. I should have offered to buy her and her husband a beer and wished them a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We recently visited the beautiful Wilburton Inn for a weekend. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Georgette, and she immediately made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was the perfect size for us two. The furniture had an antiquey feel that you can't get in a corporate hotel. The decor of the inn was exquisite, with paintings and other art valuables that had us wandering around all the floors exploring. The grounds were beautiful, and even in the cold November, we felt we had to roam around and enjoy the gorgeous atmosphere. We would definitely return if we had the opportunity!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.1 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
6.0 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.0 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.3 km away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#1 of 12 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilburton Inn

Property: Wilburton Inn
Address: 257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilburton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilburton Inn is a majestic hilltop estate for families, romantics, artists, foodies and leaders who transform the world. The 30-acre private estate features a historic inn, seven vacation homes and the most breathtaking views in Vermont. The grounds include an outdoor pool, tennis court and the sculpture gardens of the Museum of the Creative Process. The Wilburton Inn has been owned and run by the Levis family for almost 30 years. We serve a full country breakfast every morning which includes Vermont Maple Syrup and hearth baked breads from our organic farm and bakery. Join us for our farm to table dinners every Wednesday in summer and theme dinner party weekends throughout the year including our Murder Mystery Weekend and New Year Eve Dinner Dance. We are more than pet friendly - we are pet celebrating! Dogs are welcome for an additional fee in all our vacation homes and inn rooms with the exception of the Wilburton mansion. From romantic bed and breakfast guest rooms to extravagant private mansions, our lodging offers something for all travelers: corporate solo travelers, couples, families, family reunions, destination weddings, and wellness and academic retreats. Our hilltop campus offers tranquility, serenity and beauty - yet we are but a mile from the Equinox Resort Hildene, golf, hikes and Manchester Designer Outlets. Every guest room has a private bathroom, complimentary WiFi, A/C, free parking, and cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you to our magnificent property. The Levis Family and Wilburton Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wilburton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilburton Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing