We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting Fossils and Pleasant trails.

The fossils here are interesting but not numerous - it looked to me as if vandals have chipped away... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
Laura K
,
South Burlington, Vermont
First concert in the Goodsell Ridge Preserve Barn

Yesterday the Isle la Motte Preservation Trust held its first classical concert in the restored... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2017
landon30
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
11
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 17 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

in July, the place was bursting with flowers and birds! Saw some turtles, but very few people. It was midday on a Monday, and very warm, and we didn't stay long. The whole island really is lovely, and a very special place.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank StarM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A wonderful side attraction on our bike ride around the Island. With a more knowledgeable member of our group we might have seen more but a special hidden treasure.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank ffxvttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is also known as the Chazy Fossil Reef. It was fun to take the white trail and walk the mile and a half around the reef. This little hike takes you over coral/fossil reefs(be sure to look down), over fissures, through the woods and a small little meadow. We walked both on and off the path-you find more fossils off the path but have to look carefully. Be sure to wear bug spray and sun sunscreen. I would not go out of my way to make the visit but it is worth the drive if you are staying in the area. Also a great place to stop from a bike ride!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank readerboehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We took the white blazed trail on July 28, 2012. The path is very well maintained and marked. The history provided is an incredible look at the geology of the area an can be fully appreciated by a layperson. We saw dozens of fossils in the rock at our feet.
Unfortunately we arrived after the visitor center was closed, but still found the available information on the trail highly informative. If you are planning a visit to any of the Lake Champlain Islands, the Goodsell Ridge Preserve is well worth the visit. Their website is at:
http://www.ilmpt.org/ilmpt/The_Goodsell_Ridge_Preserve.html

Date of experience: July 2012
6  Thank Laura_D_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews