We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grafton Inn(Grafton)
US$228
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel in the Meadow(Chester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snowdon Chalet(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic View Motel(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Inn(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hill Resort And Spa(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We traveled to Vermont on a fall foliage tour for the long weekend. Traveling as a family we tend to get apartments or similar places to stay. If I could give the Spruce Cottage a location score it would be a 6 out of 5. It's really a lovely place in the middle of the woods and the leaves were spectacular. My kids loved picking and eating fresh apples from the trees. The nighttime sky was fantastic and we could see a million stars. We loved walking the paths and visiting the local horses. The only two things that could be improved would be the very small and well worn bath towels and the pots and pans are old and could be "updated". Regardless, we had a wonderful stay. Please keep in mind this is RURAL Vermont, and you'll be driving in on a mostly two lane usually unpaved road. There is no cell service but the cottage has a land line and wi-fi. The nearest grocery store is about 20 miles away and it's a Walmart free area. My kids loved watching the fire in the fireplace and there was basically no TV. I would definitely stay here again. Make the turn on Middleton Road. Your GPS will send you on a wild ride. Consult a map and don't rely on GPS unless you want to visit every back road in the area.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been staying here sometimes twice a year for a long time, and never tire of the Woodchuck. Set on a hill about 300 yards off a dirt road near idyllic Grafton, VT, this is a great place to go to relax, get lost in the woods with the wonderful old stone walls, and appreciate the Milky Way at night. No noisy cars and trucks to listen to (like at the Grafton Inn). I've seen a moose, foxes and other wildlife there. Eating a meal on the deck or sipping a glass of wine while overlooking the gorgeous Vermont hills is a treat. Mark and his wife Marilyn are wonderfully sincere owners/innkeepers who, like many Vermonters, have two jobs. The rooms run the gamut from family-sized barn to shared bathrooms in the main colonial building. Most rooms have private baths and great views. All the rooms are full of character. I have had the good fortune to stay at many inns in VT., and this is certainly one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for several days in late summer and were literally the only people staying there. We were seeking peace and quiet and got it in spades. We stayed in a king bedded suite on the ground floor. The room was huge, pleasantly decorated with antiques, and newly painted but dark. Rooms on the second floor had better light, but may have been smaller.

The inn is the childhood home of the proprietor, Mark, who lives with his wife in a separate house on the grounds. As he and his wife both work else where, you see him sporadically through out the day. He's pleasant enough, but not as warm and fuzzy and other innkeepers. If you sleep in too late, you miss breakfast. Breakfasts are O.K, nothing special, and modestly sized.

The farm house is a bit of time capsule and probably hasn't been changed much since Mark's parents lived there--their eclectic collectibles and books are throughout the kitchen and living room which also contain rustic colonial-type accents and furniture. Cushions outdoors and indoors are dry rotted. The ambiance is atmospheric.

The grounds are spacious and quiet. There is a small pond with a kayak and acres of grounds with walking trails.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mads212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at Woodchuck Inn for one night after a very long drive on Route 100. 1 mile out of Grafton in a fabulous location. Mark met us and gave us a choice of beautiful rooms in this quintessential New England farm house. The room was spacious, clean and had great views. Great breakfast, enjoyed chatting to Mark over breakfast and would definitely stay again. Don't understand why there are any negative comments about this lovely Inn.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I am not sure why the folks that own this place are in the hospitality industry. They have absolutely no clue on how an "Inn" is run. Where do I begin:

A) Check in: loose and sloppy, no real welcome and clarity in how the inn operates, what to expect, who to call if you need help

B) Rooms: Antiquated is a nice word. Beds, floor door creak and you hear every movement of all the other guest. Our own door could not even shut for privacy. Towels provided are substandard to say the least.

C) Breakfast: small slice of honeydew, two english muffins with center cut out and egg in middle (overcooked) small slice of tomato, slice of cucumbers. When asked for eggs only, the response was "I don't like being given orders - I don''t like special requests." Yikes....

All I can say is if you want even a modicum of comfort, this is not the place.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews