We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic "unplugged" Vermont”

The Inn at Woodchuck Hill Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Woodchuck Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Grafton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We traveled to Vermont on a fall foliage tour for the long weekend. Traveling as a family we tend to get apartments or similar places to stay. If I could give the Spruce Cottage a location score it would be a 6 out of 5. It's really a lovely place in the middle of the woods and the leaves were spectacular. My kids loved picking and eating fresh apples from the trees. The nighttime sky was fantastic and we could see a million stars. We loved walking the paths and visiting the local horses. The only two things that could be improved would be the very small and well worn bath towels and the pots and pans are old and could be "updated". Regardless, we had a wonderful stay. Please keep in mind this is RURAL Vermont, and you'll be driving in on a mostly two lane usually unpaved road. There is no cell service but the cottage has a land line and wi-fi. The nearest grocery store is about 20 miles away and it's a Walmart free area. My kids loved watching the fire in the fireplace and there was basically no TV. I would definitely stay here again. Make the turn on Middleton Road. Your GPS will send you on a wild ride. Consult a map and don't rely on GPS unless you want to visit every back road in the area.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been staying here sometimes twice a year for a long time, and never tire of the Woodchuck. Set on a hill about 300 yards off a dirt road near idyllic Grafton, VT, this is a great place to go to relax, get lost in the woods with the wonderful old stone walls, and appreciate the Milky Way at night. No noisy cars and trucks to listen to (like at the Grafton Inn). I've seen a moose, foxes and other wildlife there. Eating a meal on the deck or sipping a glass of wine while overlooking the gorgeous Vermont hills is a treat. Mark and his wife Marilyn are wonderfully sincere owners/innkeepers who, like many Vermonters, have two jobs. The rooms run the gamut from family-sized barn to shared bathrooms in the main colonial building. Most rooms have private baths and great views. All the rooms are full of character. I have had the good fortune to stay at many inns in VT., and this is certainly one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for several days in late summer and were literally the only people staying there. We were seeking peace and quiet and got it in spades. We stayed in a king bedded suite on the ground floor. The room was huge, pleasantly decorated with antiques, and newly painted but dark. Rooms on the second floor had better light, but may have been smaller.

The inn is the childhood home of the proprietor, Mark, who lives with his wife in a separate house on the grounds. As he and his wife both work else where, you see him sporadically through out the day. He's pleasant enough, but not as warm and fuzzy and other innkeepers. If you sleep in too late, you miss breakfast. Breakfasts are O.K, nothing special, and modestly sized.

The farm house is a bit of time capsule and probably hasn't been changed much since Mark's parents lived there--their eclectic collectibles and books are throughout the kitchen and living room which also contain rustic colonial-type accents and furniture. Cushions outdoors and indoors are dry rotted. The ambiance is atmospheric.

The grounds are spacious and quiet. There is a small pond with a kayak and acres of grounds with walking trails.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mads212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at Woodchuck Inn for one night after a very long drive on Route 100. 1 mile out of Grafton in a fabulous location. Mark met us and gave us a choice of beautiful rooms in this quintessential New England farm house. The room was spacious, clean and had great views. Great breakfast, enjoyed chatting to Mark over breakfast and would definitely stay again. Don't understand why there are any negative comments about this lovely Inn.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I am not sure why the folks that own this place are in the hospitality industry. They have absolutely no clue on how an "Inn" is run. Where do I begin:

A) Check in: loose and sloppy, no real welcome and clarity in how the inn operates, what to expect, who to call if you need help

B) Rooms: Antiquated is a nice word. Beds, floor door creak and you hear every movement of all the other guest. Our own door could not even shut for privacy. Towels provided are substandard to say the least.

C) Breakfast: small slice of honeydew, two english muffins with center cut out and egg in middle (overcooked) small slice of tomato, slice of cucumbers. When asked for eggs only, the response was "I don't like being given orders - I don''t like special requests." Yikes....

All I can say is if you want even a modicum of comfort, this is not the place.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
2.7 km away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
21.6 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
8.5 km away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
8.6 km away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
108 reviews
8.6 km away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Woodchuck Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Woodchuck Hill Farm

Address: 275 Woodchuck Hill Road, Grafton, VT 05146
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grafton
Price Range: €161 - €416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Woodchuck Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing