We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
145
138
72
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
138
72
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews movie theater art deco main street mountain view continental breakfast downtown brattleboro co op terrazzo floors street noise original fixtures connecticut river record player boutique hotel step back in time purple room great downtown location cookie cutter
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Very Interesting and Fun. Location is great to lots of shops and restaurants in downtown. We stayed in the large Purple Room that had a record player and old albums, fun decor, an private air conditioning unit (which apparently is not in most rooms - one central unit controlled by hotel), and a "noise machine" for sleeping (which I need white noise). The continental breakfast was... well, continental. But there are restaurants near by if you want more. The staff were very nice and... I loved meeting Paris, the dog, as opposed to other review. The attached theatre was amazing! Be sure to see! The only MAJOR problem was the traffic noise. It is a major travel route for large work trucks and just travel through Brattleboro.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room upon booking unless you are from NYC and hear the traffic all the time.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

This place is great, but we were waiting to cross the street and saw the hotel’s resident dog take a dump in the lobby. We told the guy behind the desk and his response was “really?”. I held off to write this review, but then my sister told the lady checking out about it and, again, no apology.

It’s a great place, but you all need to walk the dog more often.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatchisHotelGM, General Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

I have composed several responses to this review and keep going back and editing them. Still not sure how I feel I can and want to respond to this review. I think I have it now so here it goes.

Paris is our beloved mascot and truly loved by our guests. In fact Paris is part of the destination for many of our guests and has become quite the canine celebrity over the years to hotel guests, theatre patrons and town locals.

First of all Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Latchis Hotel and being so kind as to giving us 4 stars in the review. We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again. We work hard to deserve these stars

Secondly, I am sorry for your experience of seeing our beloved Paris poop in the lobby when she was just back from the vet and not feeling 100 percent. I am glad that the Concierge was right on it. That is not something we generally deal with. Their response "really?" was appropriate as that is not something Paris does so yes we were shocked. Oops.

We ARE a dog friendly hotel and as such guests can and should expect the occasional accident. Yet we generally don't have these accidents. We certainly don't hold it against the canine guests and to be honest, we have human guests that have done things that perhaps are not all that lovely, but what do you do?

That said, please accept my personal apology for the dog poop accident. It was an accident and not something that, perhaps was worthy of mention in a review. Am so sorry it happened while you were present. Dog friendly hospitality is not for everyone and we can certainly understand that but we are in fact canine friendly and we love our canine guests who are equally as welcome here.


Sincerely,
Jonathan W. Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Ok, They never said that the Trapp family singers sang there in1939 after their escape during the war. That this hotel is centrally located near everything. The town co-op is literary around the corner and is a must see. The thrift shop up the hill holds many consignment treasures.
Now about the hotel.
Very clean, crisp sheets and very quiet rooms. We were on the third floor and yes, they have an elevator. The continental breakfast is nice. The front desk offers suggestion for those who want more for breakfast in town which we tried. We decided the continental offered more. The front desks offered so much information. While Barry went to guitar camp every day I ventured out to the shops and stores. On the last day I showed him a few finds, the guitar man, strolling heifers over the river a great consignment store and the coop as well as the bridge that had been dedicated to an American soldier. All within walking distance from the Latchis Hotel, great staff, good rooms, comfortable beds, nice showers and an attached which plays first run movies and has other events. Great artsy town

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Memrnc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

If you prefer sleek and modern, this is NOT the place for you - old and a lot of charm, not deluxe, but functional and comfortable. Decent room. Great fun to have the movie theater as part of the building, adjacent walk through. Looks like there will be a pub soon! We've already planned a return visit. Well located.

Room Tip: top floor which is floor 3
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank powershopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatchisHotelGM, General Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We ARE a fun hotel and theatre and our staff adds to that fun experience. Looking forward to your return visit.

Cheers

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This place is the heart of Brattleboro. Fun, funky, non traditional hotel. Great staff and local mascot, Paris! Such a fun place. Feel like I’m captured in time...circa 1950. Rooms are unique and uber clean.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank skiburlingtonvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatchisHotelGM, General Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for your great review and the staff are all pleased that you included the Latchis Hotel in your travel plans. It is very easy to be captured in a travel back in time but just a bit further than the 1950's, try 1938. We are super proud of our historic hotel and theatre and make every attempt to see that the guests have a great experience. Paris the Weimaraner says hi...

Cheers

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews