We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great place for families with beginners

Very friendly staff and nice little mountain. Only about half the trails were open yet. This hill... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2021
Davidcarmytraveler
,
Coventry, Rhode Island
via mobile
Good beginner mountain

Went for the first time skiing here at Bolton. The group beginner lessons we took were great, and... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2020
Leandro S
,
Miami, Florida
Read all 119 reviews
  
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
59
42
7
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
42
7
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski trip lift tickets cross country fresh snow great snow slopes skiing backcountry skiers accommodations gear novice trees quad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021

No effort by staff to make the resort safe. Ice everywhere you're expected to walk in ski boots. Blatant disregard for any mask or distancing guidelines.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank MikePiehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2021

We had a great experience at Bolton Valley! As pretty novice skiiers, we wanted to get an immersive weekend experience acclimating to cross country and then back country skiing. For our first day, we did a one hour cross country ski lesson with Ali then hit the trails by ourselves. Ali was very patient and instructive! For our second and third days, we were fortunate enough to work with Milan one-on-one. He provided us gear recommendations ahead of time and spent significant time teaching us how to work with our gear. We then worked on drills/skills the rest of the day, which upped our confidence. The third day was spent touring the beautiful trails at Bolton. Milan made sure to take us to some awesome spots. He was always patient with us and met us at our skill level. That being said, he also made sure to challenge us! Overall it was a great experience and we hope to be back!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank nbenfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021 via mobile

I went on a half-day guided backcountry tour with a guide named Milan and had a great experience. Fresh snow, beautiful terrain, and a perfect introduction to backcountry skiing. The Nordic and Backcountry Center and access to backcountry make Bolton a special mountain!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank OliviaRLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2021

What an awesome place to ski! I can't wait to go back.

I visited for Christmas 2020, with the stated purpose of learning backcountry techniques.

I bought a lesson from BV's resident ski mountaineering pro, Milan Kubala, and was delighted to go from total novice to skinning uphill in only a couple hours.

The next day, I returned and skied uphill solo for the first time and absolutely loved it.

Even with COVID restrictions, the resort is warm and welcoming, with plenty to explore.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank morrowjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Very friendly staff and nice little mountain. Only about half the trails were open yet. This hill was perfect for my 9 and 7 year olds to start out. It wasn’t overly crowded and it was good for them to get in lots of reps on the beginner/training hill. The tow rope is available to pull them up. They also liked the greens after they got the basics. An experienced skier might find it less exciting but it’s perfect for kids and or beginners.

Date of experience: January 2021
3  Thank Davidcarmytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews