We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Resort
Nearby Hotels
TownePlace Suites Provo Orem(Orem)(Great Value!)
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Provo(Provo)(Great Value!)
US$134
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
312
78
32
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
78
32
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree roomfoundry grillrobert redfordstewart fallsowl baralpine loopski liftgeneral storenordic centerpark cityrustic elegancezip liningutah mountainsfilm festivaloutdoor activitiesfull kitchenevery staff member
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Average hotel. Location is absolutely beautiful. If feels as if you are in a very remote location even though there are many lodges and rooms all around. I had arranged for chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling cider to be waiting at our room before our arrival and was promised by the concierge person on the phone it would happen, but of course it did not happen. I had to call to let them know and they finally brought only the strawberries later that night. The next day, upon returning to our room from a short walk, we were locked out of our room because the front desk gave us the wrong keys. I had to call for someone to run up with the correct key.

We stayed at one of the Sundance Suite. Very drafty doors and windows, but the wood fire place made up for that. The small fridge was very noisy and the bathroom door didn't close all the way. Another room above us was very noisy. We could easily hear walking and voices etc....

The food from the Deli was good. The Tree Room restaurant was over priced, small portions, very pretentious, not worth it. Sunday Brunch at the Foundry was very very good. Great variety and prepared very well.

Nordic Center for cross crountry skying and snow shoeing was a fun experience. Beautiful trails.

Overall I give this resort an average score because they don't seem to pay attention to the small details and that can make all the difference.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbagbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Although you have shared with us an appreciation for our location and beautiful surroundings, we are disappointed that your overall experience was not as you had anticipated. Since it is always our desire to take care of our guests’ needs to create an exceptional experience we are truly sorry for the issues you encountered. We hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do make your stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Spent 4 nights here, including NYE. This is actually my second review of the resort...if that is what you want to call it! More of a retreat. We are skiers...spent same time here last year with horrible mountain conditions. Unless you like pottery, jewelry making, glass blowing or kids movies (in screen rom) there is not a lot of action. So, 2011/2012 was, lets say, relaxing as we could not ski on the ice. This year is a whole other story. We actually snuck away to Deer Valley for a day...Sundance has three times the snow and powdery runs. And, of the almost 50 ski resorts I have visited, none compare to the vistas and beauty of this mountain, and the resort. So, here are my thoughts:

1) The Resort. Like I said above...just breathtaking in beauty, but isolated with very little action. 2 restaurants, 1 deli, and 1 bar (remember those Utah liquor laws...weak drinks.) The bar has weekend live music, but it starts late. There is very little shopping (a general store) and little daily activity. The mountain is the winter calling. The resort is spread out into little cabins, which I will discuss below. It is a hefty walk to the communal areas, especially with ski equipment. We usually drove down to the parking lot. Everyone that works for the resorts is super friendly...you will not fine a sour puss anywhere! The restaurants are pricey, but delicious. A stream runs thought the grounds and there is beautiful landscape lighting. Truly breathtaking.

2) The Rooms. This time, we scored a major deal with the 12 Days of Christmas deal. $139 night! And, that included lift tickets for 4 days. The room this year was a Mandan unit 14c. Each cabin is separated into three. Ours was lower unit. There is simply a very comfortable bed, fireplace, bathroom with tub. There is a coffee maker, but it is the Lavala pods. But, they supplied plenty of pods and condiments each day. They also supplied glasses and dishes, but there is not a microwave or kitchenette. Also, no fridge, but a patio that keeps everything cold (frozen.). There are bathrobes, hair dryer, plenty of towels and amenities.

Tips: 1.bring slippers. You tend to track salt in from the walkway that is sharp on the feet.
2.Don't worry about bottled water...great, cold spring water from tap
3. Crowded get long on mountain..but your village ski pass is a fast pass to front of line...look for VIP line
4. Being provisions. The general store is not a grocery store...super expensive
5. Ask for a humidifier....super important!
6. Keep a fire going...and get extra wood delivered
7. Wine is reasonably priced...but you can BYO in any restaurant or bar (10 corkage.). And, you can carry out what you don't consume
8. If you are an intermediate skier...stay on the top of the mountain. Less crowded and great skiing. Ski the gulch off the bowl. It is black...but very doable.
9. The cabin at the top of the mountain is great. Go at 11 as it gets crowded. Amazingly reasonable ( if not cheap!) prices for on mountain food. $6 loaded nachos that can feed a family of 4!
10. Buy hand warmers and aspirin before you come to Sundance!!
11. And...most important..ask for an upper unit. Our only disappointment was the "Stampetts" (stomping Clampetts) above us. Obviously east coasters, as they got up at 6 each morning. We were pretty certain they were playing wii winter Olympic ski game...fully outfitted in their Solomon's! Even with a gentle nudge and a screaming "shut up" they refused to be courteous. I have never experienced such rudeness....it was a cabin full of 8 to 10 year olds, but I would have thought the parents would have taken control.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dzf3yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

The weather this year has been amazingly cooperative for our guests to enjoy all the winter activities at Sundance Resort. We are thrilled that during your recent stay you could experience our 450 acres of snow-smothered terrain and breathtaking views. Thank you so much for your many compliments. We would like to let you know that many of our rooms do include microwaves and refrigerators and we’d be happy to help you to select the perfect accommodations for your needs for your next visit. We hope that you can return soon; there’s a lot of winter fun left this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Rented a cabin in Oct at the resort. Snowed the first night! All cabins are a fair walk or drive from the resort itself, so be prepared. They are very charming. Wood burning fireplaces, large bathroom with jacuzzi in our cabin, full kitchen, and bedroom, living room space. My only complaint is the poor lighting. Very difficult to sit in front of the fire and read. The resort itself was very nice. We tried the food at all three venues. All very good, but I have to say the high end restaurant was not as good of a value. We ate there because we wanted to see Robert Redford's private collection of Indian art. The bat is very charming. I could recommend the spa and art classes.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin with a mountain view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It’s wonderful that on the first night here, the weather welcomed you with a beautiful gift of snow. We do regret that the lighting by the fire was not optimal for reading and hope that next time you will let us know if there is anything we can do to help. We are happy you found the Owl Bar to be charming and your recommendations for the Spa at Sundance and the Sundance Art Studios workshops are truly appreciated. We would love to welcome you back again soon to experience all that Sundance Resort has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Sundance isn't Park City. It isn't Deer Valley. It's Sundance. It's rough-hewn wood, everywhere. It's beautiful glass place settings made from recycled wine bottles. It's wood-burning fires in stone fireplaces. It's cozy, comfortable, beautiful and incredible. Don't come because you want marble-clad bathrooms and Frette sheets. This isn't that kind of place. This is the kind of place where you can walk down an evergreen-lined trail from your cabin-in-the-woods to a fine-dining meal, in LL Bean boots if the conditions require. Or a drink at the Owl Bar in front of the fire. Smell the burning hardwoods from the fireplaces mix with the verdant scent of the evergreens and the fog with the glitter of freshly fallen snow.

The slopes are equally as comfortable but unassuming; there are certainly challenging runs, but a vacation at Sundance isn't purely about the slopes. There is enough variety to keep everyone from a beginner to an advanced skier occupied, and again, the lifts are only a walk from your lodging. Sure, there are better slopes, longer runs and more challenging terrain in Utah. But there is no where I would rather return home to than Sundance.

Room Tip: All of the rooms vary, as they're individually owned; however, there are obviously quality standards and an aesthetic that is maintained throughout. Most rooms have at least a partial kitchen, but its worth inquiring what, precisely, the room has. Also, the rooms in the upper part of the property are a bit more of a trek to get to, since they're up a steeper hill, although if you exercise at all it's not a big deal to get up the trail.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We were truly touched by your review for Sundance Resort. It was a real treat to read about your impressions of the accommodations and our grounds. We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

As a Utah native, Sundance has been a frequent destination for skiing, hiking, and other outdoor activities, but I have never taken the opportunity to stay at the resort until last night. In short, we had a fantastic experience!

We checked in at the front desk. The two men working were extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. I've become accustomed to service employees spitting out information at a rate that would make an auctioneer jealous, so I appreciated the very personal, conversational manner in which they relayed our instructions.

We were taken to and shown around our room, and the bellman offered to make us a fire (which I declined...making the fire is most of the fun!). Despite being 6 degrees outside, the suite was comfortably heated, a fire wasn't necessary, just a fun addition to the ambiance. Everything was very clean and decorated nicely. The attention to detail demonstrated to me that Sundance knows it's visitors. For example, there was a blanket on the couch for cozying up to the fire and hot chocolate and coffee standing by.

I'm a bit of a nerd, so I had to connect to the WiFi. I was pleasantly surprised how fast it was. Most hotels really restrict the bandwidth so that their WiFi is next to useless, but their network was fast! I forgot to do a speed test before leaving, but it felt at least as fast as my 15mbps connection at home, if not faster.

The bed was incredible! My wife and I both felt like it was the most comfortable bed we have slept on. There were plenty of pillows and blankets provided and we slept incredibly well.

I'd also like to comment on how quiet it was. We didn't hear cars, people, or anything! It was such a fantastic break from the hustle and bustle of our suburban life. It was so peaceful and relaxing.

Sundance is a fantastic location. The mountain is beautiful with camera worthy moments at every turn. We enjoyed the shops, eating at the Foundry Grill, and of course, the skiing/snowboarding. I only wish we could have made a 3 day trip out of it. We live only a half hour or so away from Sundance, but staying where you are skiing is a much better experience than I imagined.

If I had to make a complaint, it would be about the faucet in the shower. It was an older one with two separate controls for hot and cold, and it was a little tricky trying to find the right balance and making adjustments was a little confusing. I ended up in some hot water for a few seconds!

If you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful getaway, Sundance is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matudnorthrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences and impressions of your stay at Sundance Resort. We are touched by your many compliments for our resort and your praise for our staff is truly heartwarming. Everyone at Sundance Resort is committed to ensuring that our guests’ time with us is memorable. We’re delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit; however, we do apologize for the difficulties you encountered adjusting the water in the shower. We hope your next stay with us will be soon and maybe a little longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews