We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
190
212
98
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
212
98
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool ski lockers mexican place aerie restaurant top floor hot tub el chanate cottonwood canyon ski resort eucalyptus steam room yoga classes breakfast buffet views of the mountains lift tickets locker room small fridge ski school
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Just got back from another week of Utah powder. This time we stayed in a part of the Cliff Lodge which is the condo section. It is newer and allows you access to the Spa without a surcharge. 2 lift tickets per night booked are also thrown in. There is a nice kitchen with a full range/oven and full size refrigerator. There is also a hot tube on the terrace. We had room 108/110, which is very close to the ski locker area, facilitating our march to the slopes in the morning. The restaurant at the top, The Aerie was not as good as last time we were there 2 years ago but it is acceptable. The best meal we had was at the Copper Onion in Salt Lake City.
The Spa has a "mountain recovery massage" which was helpful, but at $140 for 50 minutes, a little pricey. A tip is also expected.

Room Tip: Room near ski lockers will make your journey to the slopes easier.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

The Cliff is very nice and comfortable. The prices for the dining is a little bit on the high side, but the food was generally good. The best value seemed to be at the Mexican restaurant. The one thing I was not impressed with was the fitness equipment in the fitness room. For a resort with their own spa facility, the fitness room should have better equipment that isn't worn out.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank BAdams56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

This giant concrete lodge has everything you need for a relaxing ski vacation, enjoyable business trip, or in my case both! Glad I got the chance to stay for 5 days and take in a conference in house at this location. The heated pools, hot tubs, spa on the lower level and the roof were perfect after a packed day of learning and skiing.
A bit pricy, glad it was covered for business but worth it for the views, decorations, cafes and restaurants. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain facing views to see the first skiers of the day trekking down the slopes.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

The Cliff Lodge & Spa is the best accommodation if you want to stay in the Snowbird-Alta ski area. While the rooms themselves are in dire need of upgrades, the complex itself has a lot to offer. It’s ski-in/ski-out to Snowbird and only 5 minutes up the road to Alta. When it’s not busy the bellhops will gladly take you up the mountain or there is a bus stop conveniently located right outside the complex. It appears they tend to get a little overwhelmed during prime check-in/check-out times. We had to wait 15 minutes for our room after 4 p.m. and the valet parking/bag check gets a little frenetic, but it all works out. On either side of the complex, you’re going to have spectacular views. Be aware: The rooms that overlook Chickadee will have night skiing several days of the week. The rooms are actually quite spacious, with beds and pull-out couches. The bathrooms need some updating. Hot water in the showers is sometimes hit or miss and our blow dryers were fairly old and some didn’t work. However, the bathroom amenities (i.e. shampoo, lotion, etc.) were top-notch. We especially enjoyed the spa. From the hot tubs on the rooftop with exceptional views to the steam room laced in eucalyptus it was the perfect (and favorite) après-ski activity. The Mexican restaurant on-site was average at best but the Aerie restaurant was terrific – and we even enjoyed it via room service. There are also quiet places on each floor to work or have a private telephone conversation – all with a BIG view of the mountains. At Snowbird-Alta, you go for the skiing but the accommodations at Cliff Lodge and Spa are comfortable enough to add that little bit of lagniappe to make it an outstanding travel experience.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gobeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Very well maintained, right at the base of Snowbird. Probably the most courteous staff I have experienced. Outstanding pool, spa.

Very easy access via shuttle to Alta, about a mile away.

The Mexican restaurant and bar were very good and the top floor restaurant was excellent. Sushi specialization but many other choices as well.

Room Tip: Our room looked away from the mountain but directly at a small ski run and dramatic terrain. Not all rooms have balconies but our two connectected rooms did, one with a hot tub on the balcony only for two very good friends. Only downside was one room only had a rather uncomfortable sofa bed.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews