We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!”
Review of Desert Thistle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Thistle
Ranked #1 of 4 Rockville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We couldn't have been happier with our choice of the Desert Thistle while visiting Zion! We stayed four nights. Maureen is a warm, wonderful person and was so welcoming, helpful, and sweet. We loved visiting with her - and since we are dog people missing our pups, we loved that we were able to hang out with Maggie and Angus out by the pool :-) Speaking of pool - what a perfect way to end a day hiking - the pool with it's beautiful view was an extra treat for a B&B! Accommodations were comfortable and it was quiet while we were there, so we really felt at home using the sun room and pool area! We enjoyed having the voucher to go to Oscar's for breakfast every day - sat outside, could order what we wanted and the service and food there was awesome! HIGHLY recommend the Desert Thistle!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Anniversary Room - but as we peeked at a couple others, they all look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed there two nights in a very comfortable room, in a great house with pool. We had a very great pleasure to Maureen that has been so nice to us. Great location close to the park entrance and Springdale restaurants and grocery store.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barbie_et_ken_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

First of all, let me say that our B&B hostess, Maureen, has her hands full at the moment. I read the one-star review below and wanted to add that the miscommunication issue likely occurred when Maureen's husband had to be hospitalized this spring. Her husband is in the hospital (in St George now) so the days she goes to visit him are long and demanding. She's doing quite well at juggling running the B&B and spending time with him. It works out well that she gives you a voucher for breakfast at Oscars (yum!), and a key to the front door to come and go as you please. (She lets you know when she'll be gone for a long day.)

Maureen is as delightful as all the previous reviews have said. We arrived to hugs and a warm welcome. She introduced us to everyone staying there, and we felt comfortable to sit in the living room, the sun room, or out by the pool....not just confined to our bedroom. Although we came to hike Zion, the location of this B&B is just 4 miles away in quiet Rockville, which gets you out of the tourist-craziness of Springdale. We liked that separation.

Room Tip: Canyon King suite. Limited space in room due to size of bed and furniture. Only one easy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahiawakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Desert Thistle Inn. It was a wonderful and relaxing experience all around. As a matter of fact, I remembered how to relax for the first time in 15 years. I attribute this to not just the ambience of the inn, but even more so to Maureen. We read many reviews about how wonderful Maureen and Warner are, how welcoming and special they are. We liked the looks of the inn and it's rooms in the pictures online and decided to book the Emerald Pool room for a week.

This was our first vacation in four years, so it was important to us that it be special. Unfortunately Warner was not there as he was in the hospital at that time; so we were very sorry not to meet him and hope to next time we go, which we surely will. Maureen more than made up for it with her interesting and easy conversations. I enjoyed my visits with her every bit as much as spending time in Zion or Bryce Canyon. She had so many interesting stories and she was one of those rare folk who make you feel as though listening to what you have to say is the most important thing in the world. A rare gift indeed!

Her dogs were awesome and helped alleviate the missing of our own four pets. Maureen only let them into the back yard when we asked for them and only when we were the only guests out back. They were so well mannered and quiet, A real joy.

After long days of activity, there was nothing more relaxing than sitting in the backyard by the pool, the vista of the beautiful rock formations spread out in front of us. It was wonderful! We'd stay out there until it got dark and the stars came out.

Maureen gave us vouchers for breakfast at a local eatery (the best in town) and we could get up whenever we wanted and meander into town and over to Oscars for breakfast (as long as it was before 11am). The breakfasts were great and they were filling. In fact, we found that Oscar's breakfasts pretty much filled us up for the rest of the day, so we never did try any of the other local restaurants for dinner.

Our room at the inn was very comfortable, the bed was equal in comfort to our new temperpedic mattress at home, and the bathroom with it's huge tub was perfect.

Maureen, I can't thank you enough for giving me the gift of your friendship and the most relaxing stay in many, many years. We hope to be back soon!

Kay

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hissnpurrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

I would give it more than 5 stars, if I was allowed to. The B&B is well decorated, has comfortable beds and the perfect host.
We stayed in the anniversary suite with a private bathroom and a hot tub. The pictures online dont do justice to the room.
Maureen is a very sweet lady and fun to talk to. She adds to the overall positive experience of the B&B. Desert Thistle, you have a repeating visitor.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikhil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
6.3 km away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,203 reviews
0.3 km away
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
#2 of 4 in Rockville
40 reviews
0.5 km away
Amber Inn B&B
Amber Inn B&B
#4 of 4 in Rockville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
968 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Desert Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Thistle

Address: 37 W Main St, Rockville, UT 84763-7739
Region: United States > Utah > Rockville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rockville
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing