We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip skip ”
Review of Provo Inn & Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Provo Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Provo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I travel to Mexico extensively and I've never encountered a hotel like this in a third world country. There was hair everywhere in the bathroom, the sink, the counter, the towels. It's like they could care less if the costumer saw it. The walls were dirty, the doors were full of scum . The area looked shady as well. Definitely not worth the 85 dollars I paid. It does have a kitchen area with a microwave and a fridge but you would be better off paying 30 dollars more and get a nicer hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

I don't know how this hotel operates and makes money, it's the worst property that I have ever stepped foot in. I stepped into the room and immediately left the hotel and went somewhere else. The owner who is an Indian man named Vijay, was very rude and would not give me my money back. Please do yourself a favor don't come here.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonny_W32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I usually stay at the Days Inn up the road closer to BYU, but this being the week that the BYU students were returning up there or going up with family, and with almost EVERY hotel/motel booked solid, I turned to Priceline and found this motel. The sidebar said, "3 left at this price!". Well, there's ALWAYS a vacancy there, but the price was ok (compared to the other motels/hotels in the area), appx $185 for 3 nights including city tax.
Thank goodness for Travelocity reviews so I could go there prepared!
We couldn't just pack up and leave if we didn't like the place or the room because the town was bursting, so we made the best of it.
When we got there, the staff seemed pleasant enough. Not rude, just a nice kid.
The rooms have old-fashioned locks and not the electronic carded ones. We were in room 102.
In a previous post from August 1st 2012, jla2784 stated that at this facility, the room's bed had bedbugs.
I looked up how to spot them, looked through our bed COMPLETELY when we got there, nary a sign of 'em, but we STILL put blankets and things down on top of the coverlet, just in case. We brought in our own pillows, too.
(BTW, a little interesting hint to kill bedbugs on-site, but it doesn't work on cold days; put all the linens that have them into a car trunk and LEAVE them in there for about 4-5 hours. The temp inside the car and trunk gets VERY high and will kill the critters.)
Our room was bottom floor very close to the office, and had just been kind of 're-done' i.e. tile floor, new shower/bath enclosure, new garish paint, but I'll tell you, I could see the signs of trouble all over.
There was a gaping square hole in the wall between the bedroom area and the bathroom, and mostly covered up by a piece of plywood. If you looked up to the ceiling corner area, you could SEE that there had been considerable water damage and that's why they had to replace the entire tub/shower area.

We thought we'd get certain things, based on the room descriptions. We DIDN'T get:
A table (all we got were 3 chairs, NO table);
A towel bar (we did get the little things that a towel bar WOULD go into-luckily I brought some over the door plastic hooks for our stuff);
Decent air conditioning-the controls stayed at 69 and that was IT-no more cold air (but no one turned it off during the day, which was good);
Electricity in the outlets in the bathroom. Sure, there were outlets, but no electricity. We had to dry our hair using the big mirror by the entry and since there was minimal lighting on that side of the room, we'd have to guess when doing our hair at night.

Some thoughts on the room:
The refridgerator worked well enough, kinda looked a little seedy on the outside but was perfectly clean on the inside, kept stuff cold. The freezer part didn't work so we put our waters in there;
The microwave was small and low powered, so you had to heat things at 'time and a half' vs. the regular instructions, but it was clean;
The coffeepot was small, your usual motel coffee pot, it wasn't plugged in where it sat in the entertainment center/dresser, so we had to pull it out and put it on the floor to make coffee;
The bathroom had NO counterspace, just a cabinet under the sink (we put our toiletries in a folding box on top of the toilet);
The lighting was UNACCEPTABLE-there were two lamps on one side of the bed closest to the bathroom-a wall lamp for reading and a bedside table lamp that took up the whole bedtable space. There was NO lamp on the other side of the bed and the little dinky lamp that was on top of the TV center didn't work, so half the room was in darkness.
Since there wasn't a table, we had to put all our electronics (laptops) on the floor next to the TV center. The bedside table was taken up mostly by the one table lamp but we managed to put the cell phones on there to charge.
The other side of the bed closest to the window not only didn't have a lamp on the wall but also didn't have a bedtable, so I used one of the chairs.
The third chair was an office swivel chair.

I know it sounds like I'm complaining, but I'm just trying to objectively review this property based on what I've experienced in the past at various other facilities. I KNOW I've stayed in worse, but i don't remember when.
THE FACILITY:
There was coffee in the lobby in the mornings BUT you had to get there really really early, because by 9 AM it was all gone.
The motel I guess is used for some families on welfare or foodstamps or relief, because there were people staying there for awhile. Some folks would go out and smoke everyday and hang out in one place, some folks would take their kids and do wash (I don't know where, I really didn't feel like looking for it), so when other reviewers stated that there seemed to be some disreputable people hanging out in the parking lot, it's because people live there. The motel is in a horseshoe anyway, with the parking lot in the middle, so it's not like people come off the street and hang out.

The cleaning lady was VERY nice. She didn't speak any English, but we communicated.

We did luck out, though-we were very graciously allowed to stick around until about 1:30 PM, loading up our cars and stuff. To do a little payback for this kindness, I put all the towels together on the floor and the linens in a pile on the bed, just to get everything set up for this nice cleaning lady.
There was an ironing board, iron, clothes hangers and hanger bar, shelf above the bar, lots of space closet-wise actually for putting stuff to the side.
It's a practice there that they don't come and clean the room UNLESS you ask them to-I guess people complained that stuff was being taken and they didn't want that kind of liability, so as long as we knew ahead of time, we were ok with that. We'd see the cleaning lady and hit her up for more towels and more coffee makings, plus we could always go to the office, a whole 50 feet away!
.
The price quoted on Priceline was $65. I think that may've been steep by $15+ because we DID get a coffeepot/microwave/refridgerator but the lighting in the bedroom and the lack of space in the bathroom were sub-par.
I'd go back, if I couldn't find anything else, now that I know what to expect (and what not to expect).

Room Tip: It's probably a good idea (and is a good idea ANYWAY, no matter where you go) to get a room clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmink45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed for 2 nights. I rented for a week. I woke up with hundreds of bedbug bites (found when we removed bedding, actually saw tons of them) Owner accused us of bringing them with us and then offered to switch our rooms. When we demanded a refund we received only partial. Staff was rude. Owner was a jerk. Room had bugs. Need I say more??

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jla2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The air conditioning was shut off during the day (when I requested that it be left on, I was told the management told the room attendants to turn off the air conditioners in the rooms, even when they were booked for that night). The beds were hard.No quilted pads or pillow top mattresses there! The bottom sheet was not fitted and came untucked when you got in bed, and the sheets had several burn holes. There was no hot water for showers for 2 mornings. There were no amenities in the room, no coffee pot, no lamps. I asked for a lamp, and was told a lamp would not be available until the next night. That lamp had a broken switch, and I was told to just plug it in and pull the plug to turn it on and off. The swimming pool was empty and barricaded behind a fence along with three barking dogs and five old water heaters. We told the manager there was no hot water the first morning. He said that was impossible because the water heaters were new, but that 5 guests had checked out by 7:30 and that was why there was no hot water at 8:15. When we left early after again no hot water, the wife scolded us for not reporting the hot water problem before, as they could not get a plumber there over the weekend! But they seemed to have an on-site handy man who was apparently installing laminate flooring in one of the rooms on Saturday morning. He had gotten the broken lamp for us, and spoke to us every time we came in or out of the room.
On Friday night about 10 or 10:30 there were about 10 people who had pulled chairs out of a couple of rooms and were barbequing and drinking in the parking lot! Our room was so hot from the air conditioner being off all day that we wanted to have the door open for a while, but did not feel safe doing so with a party going on downstairs!
We were booked there for three nights, but had to leave after two nights of no sleep and no shower. No refund on rooms booked through the airline! They offered to change rooms, but there was no difference in the room, the beds, or the bedding! An expensive lesson, but but worth the days room rate just to get out of there! This is a motel I would pay not to stay in!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irisrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provo hotels
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Provo
Hampton Inn Provo
#1 of 20 in Provo
663 reviews
1.8 km away
Sleep Inn Provo
Sleep Inn Provo
#5 of 20 in Provo
275 reviews
3 km away
Days Inn Provo
Days Inn Provo
#10 of 20 in Provo
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Provo River
3.8 km away
Residence Inn Provo
Residence Inn Provo
#2 of 20 in Provo
341 reviews
0.6 km away
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provo Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provo Inn & Suites

Address: 150 West 300 South Street, Provo, UT 84601-4412 (Formerly City Center Motel Provo)
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Provo
Price Range: €60 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Provo Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Provo Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing