We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charge you $168 and then ask you to tip their staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Red Hills
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I paid $168 (with taxes) for a night here: got 2 beds in a room that had a fancy-ish bedspread and a fridge, but was otherwise a classic cheap hotel room with a broken curtain, yellowed towels, industrial carpet, and the reek of cleaning chemicals. Management sets out envelopes and cups asking you to tip their staff, both the housekeepers and the people running the free breakfast. Its true these people are doing a very good job and deserve good compensation, but after I pay $168, I expect the hotel to give staff a living wage and not ask me to feel sorry for how little these good people are getting paid.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eddy2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_HotelGM, General Manager at Best Western Red Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback. While it sounds like you had a decent time and experienced genuine, welcoming hospitality from our staff-- I’m sorry that the option to tip them caused offense and led to a 2-star review. As with any establishment in the hospitality industry where it’s customary to tip your servers, the option to do so here is also optional. Guests asked where to leave a tip, so we provided the envelopes and cups. We are very conscious at keeping our room rates at a value given whatever the current market is in the area at that time. Most find their rate to be a great value given the area, but I’m sorry to hear it did not suit your personal preference. Please note that in booking directly, we are able to offer the best rate available and can personalize your visit overall to insure that you’re in the room best suited to your specific needs while traveling. We hope to hear from you again the next time you’re in Kanab and in the meantime, we wish you continued and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2016

We booked Best Western Plus months ago using the AAA rate. We needed to add a day and although it was the Fourth of July weekend, they honored the third night for the same low rate. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Although the hotel is located on a busy road, the noise level was very low. The pool is located in the parking lot, but my granddaughters enjoyed taking a break from hiking to cool off. There is a veranda to sit out of the sun. The rooms were made up early so when we returned to rest we didn't need to wait for them to be cleaned.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_HotelGM, General Manager at Best Western Red Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Greeting, and thank you for your recent extended stay over the holiday weekend. I’m glad we were able to get you in at the rate you desired for an extra night despite the timing. Our pool is a sure hit for cooling off during the heat of the summer months and I’m glad your family made good use of enjoying it. We hope to see you again next time and remember that the best rates are always found when booking directly with Best Western Red Hills. Happy travels!

Best,
Ed, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Good hotel at a fair price for the area... Breakfast was great - eggs and real bacon was a huge plus. Beds were comfortable, room was "roomy" and clean. Wi-Fi worked fine and TV had plenty of channels. Nicely updated and having a fridge was great, too. Only minor complaint was the A/C - no matter how low we set it, it would shut off every few minutes. On the other hand, with the outside temperature at over 105, maybe you take any cooling you can get... Very pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fishhawker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_HotelGM, General Manager at Best Western Red Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Greetings, and thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad to hear we were able to provide a comfortable place to rest and relax outside of the soaring heat here in Kanab during the summer. We hope to see you again the next time your travels lead you our way and until then-- have an amazing summer!

Best.
Ed, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The red hills is my go to place to stay in Kanab. The staff is very pleasant, rooms are clean and well appointed. The swimming pool is awesome with a hot tub and shaded area. I will stay here again. The breakfast room is pretty good, but can be crowded. The hotel rates are affordable.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank marcyWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_HotelGM, General Manager at Best Western Red Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for being a loyal guest of our Best Western Red Hills. It’s so great to know you can count on us for a comfortable night’ rest and welcoming environment at your “home away from home” along your travels. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and until then-- have a fantastic summer!

Best,
Ed, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well located between Bryce and Zion National Parks. Clean quite and comfortable. Nice breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is in the center of this small town with several restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Edchelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_HotelGM, General Manager at Best Western Red Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us during your explorations of Zion. I’m happy you had a pleasant stay with us overall. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you our way and until then, have a fantastic summer!

Best,
Ed, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
247 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
351 reviews
0.4 km away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
483 reviews
1.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Kanab
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Hills

Address: 125 W Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: €67 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Red Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Red Hills Hotel Kanab
Best Western Hotel Kanab
Best Western Kanab
Kanab Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing