We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
183
205
58
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
205
58
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goblin valley small town lake powell capitol reef continental breakfast little wild horse canyon cabin rooms gas station stan's burger shak state park remote area place to stay worked fine coffee maker microwave and fridge comfortable beds wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The motel is decent and a good choice in the area. It is clear that management is trying hard to offer good services to the clients. Although generally clean, the carpets could use some further cleaning. Great view of the mountains.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ina_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Whispering Sands Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

This motel is indeed in a small, out of the way town - between places you might want to visit. The room was fine. My biggest complaint was the cost of the room - total of $119 - which seemed a lot for a room with no breakfast, in the middle of nowhere.
The motel is situated on a very wide, dusty parking lot. You can park your car outside your room, which is handy (unless you're in one of the few 2nd floor rooms). The room itself is spacious and it was clean. It had a comfortable bed, but the pillow is a block of foam. Thankfully, I had my own pillow. When we arrive by plane for an extended journey, I purchase a shredded foam pillow and case of water from Walmart to use on our trip. The pillow is very needed when I'm faced with a big block of foam.
The woman at the desk when we checked in was not very friendly - no smile or welcome. But, thankfully, she checked us in and that's all we needed.
The town is small, with a little market and three small restaurants, along with two other motels and two gas stations. There are small old homes scattered through the town, pretty much all of them over 100 years old.
We ate at Stan's Burger Shak, which I reviewed separately.
There IS one place to visit that is unique - it's the Hollow Mountain gas station. It's literally carved into a mountain of rock. You couldn't get permission to build something like that today for love or money. It's an interesting sight!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyfulWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

On our journey from Escalante to Blanding we stayed overnight at the Whispering Sands Motel in Hanksville. This was a fairly good decision, as this place seemed to be "the best" in Hanksville. Nothing really special, but we got everything we needed. Nice, clean, spacious and quiet room. Friendly and helpful staff. However, we had two objections: We got a room on 2nd floor, and there was no elevator. The motel is not offering breakfast, but guests are free to take the snacks that are in the room (and to make coffee by themselves). More important was the fact that we slept very well! The Whispering Sands Motel is definitely a place we can recommend.

We saw a T-Shirt in a store with the following claim: Where the hell is Hanksville!

Room tip: Try to get a room on 1st floor!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wernero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

The room was clean. There are two restaurants close by. The amenities are fine. The wi-fi worked well. In our latest travels, we discovered we preferred motels/hotels that have rooms inside the building. We feel safer. The place is great for an overnight stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ozpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

There are several motels in this small town but the Whispering Sands appeared to be the best. Its a moderately priced motel with clean comfortable rooms right on the main drag thru town. Nothing fancy but a great place to get some rest.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anglerman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Whispering Sands Motel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews