We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Santa Elena Canyon Beauty

What a great time and hard work. Im not in top physical shape however Ernesto our guide was... read more

Reviewed 15 March 2021
ginam485
,
Houston, Texas
Enjoyable half-day on the Rio Grande

While visiting the Big Bend area, we wanted to experience some time on the Rio Grande. We booked a... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2020
SnowyShasta
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 231 reviews
  
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs cookies santa elena canyon canoe trip rio grande crackers tour company full day tour fabulous experience dry bags fern canyon an adventure longer trip sandwiches small rapids flora and fauna wealth of information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2021

What a great time and hard work. Im not in top physical shape however Ernesto our guide was fantastic very patient, extremely knowledgeable, we could not have asked for a better guide. we spent 1 night in the Santa Elena Canyon what a beauty! xox Thank you, Thank you Ernesto

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank ginam485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

While visiting the Big Bend area, we wanted to experience some time on the Rio Grande. We booked a half-day kayak trip with Big Bend River Tours and really enjoyed our experience. There were 6 of us in our group, plus one guide in his canoe, and we could choose whether we wanted single or double kayaks.

We floated the river in Big Bend State Park (not in the National Park) and enjoyed the several hours-long experience. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and there were a few small rapids along the way to add to the fun.

The tour company provided dry bags for us for anything we wanted to have on the river, and were helpful in answering questions before the trip. We would definitely do a trip with them again.

Date of experience: October 2020
3  Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Our party of five went on a raft trip on 11/23/2020. Our personable guide Eric was competent, capable and very knowledgeable about local, history, plants and animals. He was the "Boat man" on this float from la Clocha to Rio Grande village.

This experience was mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually stimulating. We had a relaxed lunch and then a refreshing swim in the Rio Grande. Learned about the history of the area and saw plants, animals, native American pictographs & historic sites.

All in all a rewarding trip. We will use BBRT again. Soon.

Date of experience: November 2020
2  Thank outofdoors01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

This was our first time kayaking and it was overall a great experience. There were four of us in our group and 2 additional people. Only 1 person had been on a kayak before, and we were all satisfied with our guide's patients and instructions. Ernesto was kind, calm, and well informed. I would definitely recommend him as a guide. I think if you are with a group that are beginners you will find the time on the river is sufficient. We did the half day, and we were very happy with the scenery and level of difficulty. They allowed us to drive our own car up to a closer meeting point, so that we could stay socially distant longer and took less risks, which we appreciated. This also allowed us to get some great pictures after our tour was over, since the area is beautiful to take in. Something to note, their website doesn't look like it is updated often, so I would call them for pricing and more details.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank darrlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Our guides, Josh and Divo, were very capable, professional, interesting, knowledgeable of the wildlife, and mindful of our safety. This is a must do trip when visiting the Big Bend area and the staff at Big Bend River tours make the experience a first class one.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 744rebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews