We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Four day family trip

My family just finished a three night, four day guided trip down the Rio Grand with BBRT. What an... read more

Reviewed 4 April 2021
David B
Enjoyable half-day on the Rio Grande

While visiting the Big Bend area, we wanted to experience some time on the Rio Grande. We booked a... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2020
SnowyShasta
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 231 reviews
  
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs cookies santa elena canyon canoe trip rio grande crackers tour company full day tour fabulous experience dry bags fern canyon an adventure longer trip sandwiches small rapids flora and fauna wealth of information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2020

While visiting the Big Bend area, we wanted to experience some time on the Rio Grande. We booked a half-day kayak trip with Big Bend River Tours and really enjoyed our experience. There were 6 of us in our group, plus one guide in his canoe, and we could choose whether we wanted single or double kayaks.

We floated the river in Big Bend State Park (not in the National Park) and enjoyed the several hours-long experience. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and there were a few small rapids along the way to add to the fun.

The tour company provided dry bags for us for anything we wanted to have on the river, and were helpful in answering questions before the trip. We would definitely do a trip with them again.

Date of experience: October 2020
3  Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Our party of five went on a raft trip on 11/23/2020. Our personable guide Eric was competent, capable and very knowledgeable about local, history, plants and animals. He was the "Boat man" on this float from la Clocha to Rio Grande village.

This experience was mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually stimulating. We had a relaxed lunch and then a refreshing swim in the Rio Grande. Learned about the history of the area and saw plants, animals, native American pictographs & historic sites.

All in all a rewarding trip. We will use BBRT again. Soon.

Date of experience: November 2020
2  Thank outofdoors01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

This was our first time kayaking and it was overall a great experience. There were four of us in our group and 2 additional people. Only 1 person had been on a kayak before, and we were all satisfied with our guide's patients and instructions. Ernesto was kind, calm, and well informed. I would definitely recommend him as a guide. I think if you are with a group that are beginners you will find the time on the river is sufficient. We did the half day, and we were very happy with the scenery and level of difficulty. They allowed us to drive our own car up to a closer meeting point, so that we could stay socially distant longer and took less risks, which we appreciated. This also allowed us to get some great pictures after our tour was over, since the area is beautiful to take in. Something to note, their website doesn't look like it is updated often, so I would call them for pricing and more details.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank darrlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Our guides, Josh and Divo, were very capable, professional, interesting, knowledgeable of the wildlife, and mindful of our safety. This is a must do trip when visiting the Big Bend area and the staff at Big Bend River tours make the experience a first class one.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 744rebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We were highly pleased with our canoe trip on Santa Elena Canyon. We were low on sunscreen so we went to the local gas station in the morning but Big Bend River Tours actually has a great gift shop that sold sunscreen, chapstick, and souvenirs. Our tour guides Jared and Darin were very friendly and knowledgeable (and funny). All of the equipment were in great condition. A mother/daughter combo couldn't figure out how to paddle upstream in the canoe so one of the guides was kind enough to tie their canoe to his and paddled for them all morning. Paddling upstream was quite a workout and we stopped about every 30-45 minutes for a break and to allow others to catch up. Lunch was really good. For deli meat sandwiches, they had every topping you could possibly imagine.They also served chips, salsa, fruit, cookies, and had water, lemonade and fruit punch drink mixes. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that Darin and Jared were going to lead us on a hike during a lunch break back to Fern Canyon. It required lots of climbing and had some difficult spots but I felt safe with Darin and Jared's instruction. The hike was probably less than a mile (one way) and took about 45 minutes. Coming back downstream after lunch was a breeze. The shuttle van was very clean and air conditioner worked great when everyone was hot coming back. I would definitely recommend a trip with Big Bend River Tours.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews