We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Four day family trip

My family just finished a three night, four day guided trip down the Rio Grand with BBRT. What an... read more

Reviewed 4 April 2021
David B
Santa Elena Canyon Beauty

What a great time and hard work. Im not in top physical shape however Ernesto our guide was... read more

Reviewed 15 March 2021
ginam485
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 231 reviews
  
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
175
34
8
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs cookies santa elena canyon canoe trip rio grande crackers tour company full day tour fabulous experience dry bags fern canyon an adventure longer trip sandwiches small rapids flora and fauna wealth of information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2020

This was our first time kayaking and it was overall a great experience. There were four of us in our group and 2 additional people. Only 1 person had been on a kayak before, and we were all satisfied with our guide's patients and instructions. Ernesto was kind, calm, and well informed. I would definitely recommend him as a guide. I think if you are with a group that are beginners you will find the time on the river is sufficient. We did the half day, and we were very happy with the scenery and level of difficulty. They allowed us to drive our own car up to a closer meeting point, so that we could stay socially distant longer and took less risks, which we appreciated. This also allowed us to get some great pictures after our tour was over, since the area is beautiful to take in. Something to note, their website doesn't look like it is updated often, so I would call them for pricing and more details.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank darrlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Our guides, Josh and Divo, were very capable, professional, interesting, knowledgeable of the wildlife, and mindful of our safety. This is a must do trip when visiting the Big Bend area and the staff at Big Bend River tours make the experience a first class one.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 744rebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We were highly pleased with our canoe trip on Santa Elena Canyon. We were low on sunscreen so we went to the local gas station in the morning but Big Bend River Tours actually has a great gift shop that sold sunscreen, chapstick, and souvenirs. Our tour guides Jared and Darin were very friendly and knowledgeable (and funny). All of the equipment were in great condition. A mother/daughter combo couldn't figure out how to paddle upstream in the canoe so one of the guides was kind enough to tie their canoe to his and paddled for them all morning. Paddling upstream was quite a workout and we stopped about every 30-45 minutes for a break and to allow others to catch up. Lunch was really good. For deli meat sandwiches, they had every topping you could possibly imagine.They also served chips, salsa, fruit, cookies, and had water, lemonade and fruit punch drink mixes. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that Darin and Jared were going to lead us on a hike during a lunch break back to Fern Canyon. It required lots of climbing and had some difficult spots but I felt safe with Darin and Jared's instruction. The hike was probably less than a mile (one way) and took about 45 minutes. Coming back downstream after lunch was a breeze. The shuttle van was very clean and air conditioner worked great when everyone was hot coming back. I would definitely recommend a trip with Big Bend River Tours.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We took the full day Hot Springs Canyon tour in mid-February. Weather was sunny and pleasant (mid-60s) and the trip was scenic. However, we only covered 6 miles, spending an inordinate amount of time sitting in a hot spring. Guide was generally knowledgeable about ecology and geology, and food (cold sandwich) was satisfactory. However, trip could have covered significantly more of the river and at $335 for two was pricey (well over the advertised price of $135 each).

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank selbyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

My family was extremely excited to spend a day canoeing on the Rio Grande. We were extremely disappointed to find out that most of our day was either traveling to and from the site or hanging out at the Hot Springs location that you could drive to. Our itinerary was:

• We left the office at 8:00 and arrived at the river at 9:30.
• The guides had the canoes unloaded and provided instructions around 10:00. We were ok with this timing.
• It was 10:30 by the time everyone was loaded into their canoes and we started to Hot Springs.
• We stopped at Hot Springs at 11:00 and received instructions until 11:15
• We hiked the Hot Springs trail until 12:00 and then soaked in the Hot Springs until 12:15.
• Went back to the launch site for lunch until 1:00 – 1:10. Had to wait for everyone to return from restroom and load back up.
• We were on the river to 2:30. Most of the time on the river was waiting for everyone to catch up as we went through the “riffles” on the river.
• 2:30 – 4:15: Loaded back up and drove to town.

i would not recommend this tour. It was overpriced for what we actually received.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank J3331CVmicheler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews