We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location on South Padre Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness at South Padre
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stay here every year. It is on the Ocean and provides us with the sound of the waves 24 hours a day. We have stayed many places but Inverness is the Greatest. In my 77 years I have not found a better place. Fall of 2016 I will be there once Again!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and the sound of the waves are there 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorless S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Well, if there were ever a place where the maxim "location, location, location" applied, it's the Inverness at South Padre. It's in a great location. It's right on the beach, it's about halfway "up" the island, so there is still plenty of stuff around it, it is a 10 minute walk from one fun beach bar (Wanna Wanna) and a 15 minute walk from another (Clayton's), it's a 5 minute walk to an Irish pub, to a breakfast place, etc. Have I said it strongly enough? LOCATION! Where it is, is where it's at.

And ... that's where the love ends. This place is crumbling into the sea. I'll caveat this by saying the unit we were in was clean, serviceable and functional (and I'll get into more detail below), but the building ... oy. I've seen much nicer buildings in truly third-world locations. The exterior is literally peeling off the building, there is crumbling concrete everywhere. I was very concerned about the safety of our railing on our 5th floor balcony. There are two elevators. Only one works, and the other is overtaxed and slow. The stairwells are very dark, and often sllippery. This is a building in need of some serious love, which it doesn't seem to have had in a very long time.

So, onto our unit, 501. I'd give it a "clean and serviceable" rating, but again, everything is very tired and very dated. I don't think the furniture has been updated in at least 15 years, the kitchen probably more like 30. The appliances are that wonderful 80s color - almond. The bathrooms were in pretty rough shape. Again, it's clean, but you can't clean off "worn out". The fridge is dented outside and corroded inside, the stove is newer but just not fresh, the dishwasher worked fine, but again, it's a solid 20 years old and was the bottom of the bottom of the line when new. The beds were lumpy and worn, the bedroom drawers broken off their tracks, And etc. etc. There was peeling paint on the ceiling of the "living room", chipped and cracked tiles, a shower door off it's track (that I was able to fix myself!), etc. Again, clean, serviceable, and worn out.

Now, lest you think I'm a diva traveler, I'm not. Just being honest. And as such, did coming back to a crumbly looking building drag on our trip at all? Nope. Did we enjoy our time? Yes, definitely. Will we be back to SPI? 100%! This place? Nope.

Positives: It was relatively clean, and felt safe (at least until you get to the railing set in crumbling concrete). The other people staying there were a mix of native Mexicans (half the cars in the garage had plates from Mexico) and the other half were Americans, but all middle class family folks. The staff and management are solid - nice people, helpful, there to help you be comfortable. And there's that view, and that location on the beach every day. And the pool was nice - it's basic - a 40x15 foot pool with a side area and a hot tub on a plain deck on the third floor overlooking the beach. But it was a great place to stop after a day on the beach to get the salt off, have a beer and relax. And the breeze up there was marvelous.

Now interesting news, I overheard the desk manager talking to an owner (the building seems to be about 50-60% owner occupied and the rest are rental or RCI units) and discussing the special assessment and when exterior refurb is going to start, so it looks like they are on a path to fix the outside. Hope they update the rental units too.

So, in summation - read my headline. It's the location that makes this place worth a stay. If you're cool with a little (ok a lot) of crumbling concrete and exterior unsightliness, and you don't need the nicest place in the world and just want to get your beach on, well, it's not bad for that.

And watching the sunrise every morning from our balcony sure erased a LOT of sins. And being able to walk downstairs onto the beach, erased most of the others. We're not the kind of folks that would let a funky place ruin our vacation. But if you are, best pick a nicer place. And if you want a great location and can tolerate some funkiness, this place will do fine.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, but are more challenging with the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank stewc625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed on the 8th floor and looking out our patio you felt like it was in the gulf.
Good parking
1 elevator worked
Nice balcony overlooking the gulf
Convenient location
Nice beach keep nice and clean
2 pools on the 3rd floor
Very helpful staff

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This place is at a very nice location right on the beach. It is a corner unit on the 6th floor with an outstanding view. You can see the sun rise over the gulf, and the sun set across the bay. They also have parking under the building that is wonderful. The exterior of the building is scheduled to be renovated this winter so it should look even nicer in the spring than it does today.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

The balcony views are spectacular, but that is the only good thing about this hotel.
The rooms and furnishings are extremely dated. This whole facility needs a complete renovation. There's a reason they only show the balcony and sea views in their ads.

Room Tip: Until this hotel is renovated I would stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
5 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,626 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,616 reviews
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
705 reviews
4.4 km away
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Isla Grand Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
986 reviews
4.7 km away
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness at South Padre

Address: 5600 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7640
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: €150 - €311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverness at South Padre 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Inverness at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness At South Padre South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing