We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricy but really good food”
Review of Texas Traditions

Texas Traditions
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: home style cooking, bakery that offers homemade pies and ding dongs, and cheesecake factory cakes, voted best steaks in Calhoun county 2 years in row, hungry yet!
Restaurant details
Description: home style cooking, bakery that offers homemade pies and ding dongs, and cheesecake factory cakes, voted best steaks in Calhoun county 2 years in row, hungry yet!
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Prices were a bit high, but that's to be expected for good food.
The fried pickles were absolutely amazing!!! It was the perfect amount for two people to split. I had the jalapeño bread (TOTALLY worth the extra dollar) chicken salad sandwich. My biggest regret was that neither of us had room for desert. The case full of homemade cakes and pies looked heavenly but it'll be saved for our next visit when we bring plates to eat one of the ding dongs on the beach.

Thank Happy-To-Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texastraditions, Owner at Texas Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

thank you so much for the nice review. we appreciate your feedback. vic ,marty and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Congenial host, pleasant waitstaff make for a leisurely lunch on Main Street.
Good food - but surprisingly small salad bar plates.
In spite of that we would stop again.

Thank GinaWst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

The place definitely has a charm to it, from the open, wooden dining room to the oldies music playing. The manager and our server were both so friendly, laid back and eager to please. The salad bar is small (the plates even smaller) but clean and fresh. We also tried the meatloaf and chicken fried steak. The meatloaf was edible, but I've had better frozen. CFS was good quality meat, a nice thin, crunchy breading and the yellowish gravy needed a little salt which after I added made it really good. Rolls had a slight "old" taste. We tried a piece of one of their beautiful pies. The macaroon pie was a chocolate mousse pie with a thick, but light meringue and toasted coconut. DELICIOUS!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Not many choices in Port Lavaca, but this had a lot of charm. We stopped for lunch and had the rib platter and Texas burger. Good choices and very filling. We wished we had room for pie which looked amazing. Friendly service.

Thank Dansker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texastraditions, Owner at Texas Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

thank you for the kind words and happy you were so pleased, thanks again,vic,marty, and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Fried pickes appetizer is great. chicken fried chicken equals awesome. Get mashpot and green beans. The burger is great too. Homemade ding dong to boot, or the jack daniels pecan pie or coconut pie. .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank appetizers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texastraditions, Owner at Texas Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

thank you for the nice words, vic,pat,marty and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Traditions also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing