We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If all you care about is price, it's the place to be”
Review of Shark Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shark Reef Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed here 3 nights. AC worked OK. We weren't cool, but we weren't miserable, either. Decent size room. However, there was only 1 light (other than the bathroom), a low wattage lamp and the bathroom was in pretty bad shape. Dirty looking, chipped paint, bathtub porcelain was chipped and broken off. They didn't clean the rooms daily, either. They just took dirty towels and left clean towels in a pile on the bed. Not a huge deal, honestly, I care most about having clean towels, so I wasn't upset. The pool is pretty nice and the staff is friendly. It was also very quiet, especially considering we were staying at peak vacation time. It was close to everything. If I stayed here again, it would likely be in the newer looking cottages they have, as those seem to be in better shape. But we were shopping with a super low budget in mind, so I think the room is on par with what we paid.

Room Tip: Shower in the morning! Hot water was gone by afternoon through the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

We walked in the room and dropped our stuff off , then we where off to the beach .We spent the day out, we got back to the room at about 8:30 and all we heard was the air conditioner ! It was screaming loud , we couldn't hear the television or each other talk .
When we checked in the young woman at the front desk said "We are family owned , if you have any problems please call. I called and called and all I got was an answering machine telling me the office is closed !.My husband ,then took of the front of the AC and it was disgusting, covered with dirt and black mold.
The room itself wasn't bad at all but, we didn't get a wink of sleep .

Room Tip: Check your AC before you leave for the day .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juwelzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

We pull out our air conditioners twice a year to deep clean them, and more if needed. I do not believe that there was any mold in your air conditioner. We are family owned, and when I checked you in I told you the office is open from 8am-8pm, and if you need anything after hours that there is a doorbell that you can ring to get a hold of us on the front office. I had the air conditioner in your room checked and cleaned out after you checked out; window ac's at times can be a bit noisy, but this one was not any more loud than most. Thank you for choosing the Shark Reef Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

room was clean. good ammenities. Staff was considerate. pool was clean. the price was reasonable compared to motels around them. i would go here again. they were also one of the only places that had a vacancy.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margaret_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for the kind review! Was there anything that could have been better about to stay to warrant a 5 star review? We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We took a family vacation and stayed the weekend here. What a great family owned place! Nice pool and great staff. Very friendly!! Very accommodating. We Will definitely come back and stay at shark resort!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you so much for choosing the Shark Reef Resort! I am so glad that you enjoyed our pool!! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

A few basic amenities you expect with a any Hotel. A.C., Water, Electricity and a nice bed. The A.C. is so loud it was impossible to sleep. Water went out and when management was notified Jennifer said she'd send someone. They never came. The light switch does not work and the cord to the wonky ceiling fan/light was broken. The bed was the least of our issues but was by far the WORST RUN DOWN BED OF ALL TIME. To add insult to injury when I kindly asked Jennifer(Owner) why she never sent someone she was rude and confrontational. She literally argued with me and told me too bad so what. Avoid at all cost.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank texasangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.9 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
360 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
862 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#18 of 20 in Port Aransas
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
3.6 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
550 reviews
2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Reef Resort

Address: 314 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4203
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: €60 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shark Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shark Reef has 3.5 Acres for fun in the sun featuring our remodeled heated pool area, kid's great jungle-gym playground, basketball court, yard games and picnic area complete with bar-b-ques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Shark Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Reef Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing