We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Homemade breakfast, a real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of That Takes the Cake

That Takes the Cake
Ranked #54 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Austin
2 reviews
“Homemade breakfast, a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We visit every time we are in town. Home baked pastries, decadent egg and french toast dishes, pleasant atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Eat a small portion or take half to go if you are watching your waist. Otherwise you should be walking and enjoying the outdoors while in Port A. and this is a treat!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Tura C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant and coffee house, Bundys...I'm so glad that you enjoy yourself when you visit us....it makes me think my efforts are succeeding what my goal is and that is to give people one of those happy "hole in the wall" places that you tell your friends about....I love it when I happen upon those....thank you for frequenting my shop and hope you come to see us in the future....Tammy Bundy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very good food, nice owner Highly recommend. This is a must try place they only take cash.

Helpful?
Thank jayney34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Jayney34,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bundys….I’m so happy you enjoyed our little hideaway and hope that you come back to see us soon…..P.S. We are now catching up with the real world and taking credit cards….small steps and on “island time”. Thanks again…Tammy Bundy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“More than coffee and donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went for coffee and donuts. Nice selection of pastries, egg dishes and sandwiches. Food was okay. Coffee was okay. Friendly people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishmonger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great brunch overall, but food is very rich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a coffee house which has a small breakfast and lunch menu in addition to numerous delicious looking pastries in a display case. They also make cakes to order and have a floral shop in there too. Not many tables for seating, but there is a nice big front deck for additional seating. The French toast was decadent, nearly too decadent, with a slice of cheesecake stuffed in the middle and the egg's Benedict were served over croissants instead of English muffins. The food was rich. The coffee was good. Our breakfast for two (2 coffees and 2 entrees) cost just over $25 which we thought was a bit high. The service was super friendly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was within walking distance to our hotel, which is good, but just don't see what everyone raves about. Food was heavy and hard to digest. Coffee could use some work. More of a coffeehouse than a restaurant. Perhaps its just us,but I just did not enjoy it, although the deck was nicely decorated.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tranelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Takes the Cake also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to That Takes the Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing