We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Booked this trip on a lark since I heard that New Braunfels was a real gem of a town to visit. Margy and her family were a shear delight: very helpful and congenial with lots of suggestions for places to visit. Awesome breakfast of homemade pancakes, scrambled eggs (no need for lunch), sausage, fresh fruit and gallons of coffee. Very accomodating for those who deal with gluten allergies. Hubbie and I will definitely come again. This Bed and Breakfast is a real keeper!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My wife and I have made several trips to the area, but had never stayed at a bed and breakfast. After speaking to the owner, Margy, via telephone, I decided to stay here versus a number of other bed and breakfasts available. It was honestly one of the best travel decision I have ever made. The property is located a little outside of town, and is very quiet. The grounds and rooms are absolutely beautiful, and both are kept sparkling clean. After a wonderful night's sleep, I awoke to the smell of a delicious, home-cooked breakfast. Margy and her son, Darrell, were extremely nice and the perfect hostess and host. I will DEFINITELY stay here, again, when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillCountyLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We arrived at Keubler Waldrip Haus and immediately fell in love with the inn. We walked into the front door and the warmth of the fire in the rustic stone fireplace was so very welcoming. The sign on the front door said "Come into the back room" and we made our way back to meet the innkeepers. They were both very friendly and showed us up to our incredible room on the second floor. It was magical.

Our room was the sleeping area in the original stone house, peaked ceiling and original slatted plank from the house when it was built in the 1800's. The stone walls flanked either end and beautiful views of the sunrise from the dormer windows were spectacular. Modern conveniences abound, including a kitchen area off of the suite, separate dressing area for the ladies and large jacuzzi bathtub in the full bath. Beautiful linens in both the bath and on the beds showed the attention to detail. Walk out the back of the kitchen onto a beautiful deck and enjoy your morning coffee or a nice glass of wine.

The hospitality was amazing, wine and ice cream at night and a fabulous candlelight breakfast complete with homemade coffee cake, eggs, cinnamon apples, sausage, freshly made hash brown potatoes and an array of jams, salsa and juices and other beverages.

We loved it and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown TX USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at Keubler-Waldrip Haus for two nights in September 2010. The main building and our cottage were very cozy. Margie and Darrell made us feel right at home. We stayed in Deer Haven Cottage....roomy and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding both mornings. Our stay was enjoyable. The only word of caution I'd offer is to those allergic to cats. There were at least three adult cats on the property and they were allowed inside. I think the website should make this very obvious on their website's home page for the sake of those allergic to cats.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBBGeorgetownTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret W, Manager at Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
We want to thank you for your review and your comments, and we appreciate any input where we can make adjustments for our guests concerns. We have taken stricter actions to keep our cats outside, however they may come inside when a guest arrives or goes outside. As a result of this guests review, we have also placed that we have cats on our web site. We now have 5 working cats in the Texas Hill Country. Thank you for all of your help. This is our 28th year and we have many repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The breakfast was very good with the big lazy susan, good food and interesting conversation around the table. The location was also good, in the countryside but close to Gruene and New Braunfels. The family is very nice and accommodating. However, the main house where we stayed was dark and cluttered. The bed was soft and uncomfortable, and the bathroom was not very clean. There were many cats that wandered in and out of the house and the main living room smelled of cats. It was definitely an interesting experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
7.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
8.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
7.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
370 reviews
7.0 km away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#9 of 32 in New Braunfels
660 reviews
4.7 km away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast

Property: Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Friendship, Great Food and Texas Hospitality can be found here. The Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast is a Texas bed and breakfast conveniently located on 43 peaceful acres just 4-6 minutes from Historic Gruene and New Braunfels, 30 minutes to San Antonio, and 45-60 min. to Austin. Enjoy a casual relaxed atmosphere with open spaces, trees, maybe some wildlife and our resident cats. Choose from one of our three beautifully restored buildings. The buildings include DEER HAVEN COTTAGE building (900 sq. Ft.), a cozy 3 bedroom cottage with tile floors, a shower/jacuzzi bath, living room, and kitchen, and sleeps 2-6 guests; the HISTORIC KUEBLER WALDRIP HAUS building (5000 sq. Ft.), an original 1847 German pioneer limestone and timber log home with 5 separate bedrooms each with a private bath; and the HISTORIC DANVILLE SCHOOLHOUSE building (2500 sq. Ft.), an original 1863 one-room Texas schoolhouse with 5 separate bedrooms and 5 private baths. The schoolhouse was named for Daniel Murchison, a Texas Ranger, and moved to our ranch from Solms in Comal County in 1990. It has been restored with the original hardwood floors, chalk board with stage, and it now has 5 separate bedrooms. All of our rooms can be rented separately, and are perfect for a couple, a family with children or a weekday or weekend getaway. Total facilities can sleep a minimum of 22 people up to 33 people. Children welcome from 0-100. HISTORY: The original property was listed under the Veramendi Spanish land grant in the 1800's. The property was owned by a French wine merchant, Francois Guilbeau as an investment, and the main house was built in 1847. It was then owned by Andreas and Katherine Pape of Hanover, Germany who built the main house in 1847. The second family was Willie and Olga Kraft and children, and they owned the property from 1900 until 1974. In 1974, Margy and Larry Waldrip and their three sons, Dibrell, Darrell and David bought and moved the property, and they have lovingly restored the Kuebler Waldrip Haus building to its present state. PRESS ARTICLES include the Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly book Texas Bed and Breakfast by Ann Ruff, The Great Stays of Texas (HHAT), and "House Full of History" in the Texas Hill Country Magazine, (summer 2010). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing