We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NOT WHAT IT APPEARS TO BE!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT WHAT IT APPEARS TO BE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at the T BAR M. Their advertising it FALSE! This is a place for children's camps, a time share, business conferences, and permanent residences. Parking was difficult to find. THIS IS NOT A HOTEL AND MOST CERTAINLY NOT A "RESORT"! They advertise several pools. Only certain pools are available to vacationing families. The rest are for campers. The activities listed are only for campers. There are NOT three restaurants like they advertised. There are three banquet rooms for campers. They have one tiny outdoor grill for guests. The breakfast food was mediocre. We stayed in a villa for a week at $282 a night thinking the higher price would be worth all of the amenities. It was not worth it. Our room was filthy. I let my daughter walk around the villa barefoot our first day there and the bottoms of her feet were black with filth. There was someone's personal belongings shoved into every drawer of the villa. Leftover remodeling supplies were shoved everywhere including a broken bathroom mirror that was half way shoved under a bed that I happen to step on. There was what appeared to be dried feces on our white bath mat. They advertise smores and nightly movies. The smores are clear across the lot and YOU have to find an employee to light the fire to roast the marshmallows. Housekeeping "forgot" to clean our room until we complained that we needed more towels. One thing to keep in mind, this "resort" is spread out so get ready to drive to breakfast, outdoor movie, etc. After the first couple of hours in the villa, I tried to cancel our reservations and go to a different hotel, but there weren't any hotels available near by. I really wish I had checked reviews first.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationmom806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    40
    26
    25
    14
See reviews for
82
15
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Had such a great time with family at T BAR M. The staff is beyond amazing. There was a summer camp going on so we were unable to get to a certain side of the grounds, but the staff did show us other places we were allowed to go. My husband and I went bike riding and loved the scenery. Everything about this place is amazing. I highly recommend you trying this resort out if you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Thank you T Bar M for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kassv98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you so much! We appreciate your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I Paid 130$ for a clean but outdated room on the second floor, No elevators and hard , hard beds. Most of the "resort" is for the campers and not for you. Yes thats right, this is a camp. Me and my wife came here looking for a little get away from the kids at a nice resort. Don't let the website fool you. We were under the impression there were multiple places to eat on site and archery and there would be multiple swimming pools. There is no fine dining on site, just hot dogs and such. One nice thing was there was a bar by the pool, which I needed by the second night. We get a couple for nights away from our kids for some romance and go to a hotel full of kids. This is a very nice camp by the way, and may bring my kids here when they get older, it is however a very poor resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefsrule4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
We are truly sorry to hear your get away did not turn out as planned! We certainly appreciate your feedback. T Bar M is two companies located next to each other, T Bar M Resort and T Bar M Camps. The CAMP which hosts children ages 6-12 runs through the summer months and is completely separated from the resort. While the camp is in session the Resort side does have limited access to the “camp” areas, however it is opened to all Resort guests on Saturday from 12-8pm. Closing access to the camp is strictly for the safety of the hundreds of children they host. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you while on vacation. During the summer there is still plenty to do with our special summer guest activities! The Resort sets up several games on our baseball field such as ladder ball, life size chess, washers, croquet, disc golf, and volleyball. If under some shade is more your style we have an indoor gymnasium with basketball, a rock wall, table games, indoor volleyball and NEW this year a gaming room “Club X” with XBOX and Kinect. We also have upgraded all our fitness equipment in our NEW cardio room. If you are looking for some adult entertainment our Lonestar Bar and Grill is a great place to sit poolside and enjoy a beverage. We offer live entertainment every Friday and Saturday night, along with a nightly movie under the stars, smores and ice cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Vanderbilt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Don't let the website fool you. We were under the impression we would get to do rockclimbing and archery and there would be multiple swimming pools and bike riding. We even received a map from the front desk showing us all there is to do. Once we stepped out of our room to walk over where the archery, basketball courts, and swimming pools and event centers were, we were chased down by the "director" in her swimming suit and told us that she could tell we were "clueless" as we looked at our maps and that we were not allowed to be in that part of the resort. She told us that all of that section is saved for the "Family camp campers". She told us we could not do any of the archery or courts and that the only swimming pool we were allowed to use was the one by our room that is 3 ft deep. So we went back to main office to see if we could at least ride bikes down the "nature trail". Surprisingly, we were allowed to do that. We go get the bikes to ride, only to see there are a total af about six bikes (there are four of us adults). There were three adult bikes, one which had flat tire. The other two were super old, but ok. So two of us got adult bikes. There were 3 kids bikes. One which had the seat tore off and one had the bike chain to make it go, kept falling off. So us four adults had two adult bikes and two kids bikes trying to go down the pathetic gravel nature trail, that bikes were not made for. This resort looks GREAT on the website, but it was a terrible experience. You are not allowed to do ANY of the activities unless you are in some summer family camp. We were not informed of this or we would have NOT have stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandiNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

This place is a scam. Upon arrival we were informed by the front office the an additional $250 'deposit' was added onto our room charge. This may have been acceptable however the lady also informed us that this deposit is "rarely" ever refunded reguardless of the condition the room was left in. Basically, this is an underhanded way of the resort to keep their listed rates low but still make money. The facility itself is outdated and dirty but has many amenities for families. Overall, stay away.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neal_rudderow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
7.5 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
9.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
9.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
9.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
10.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#11 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Property: T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Address: 2549 Hwy 46 West, New Braunfels, TX 78132
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing