We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality home cooking”
Review of The Shovels Inn

The Shovels Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Shovels Inn, located in the heart of the village of Hambleton, is a warm and welcoming, friendly, family orientated pub serving delicious home cooked (inc. real chips!) traditional pub food and a la carte daily specials. There is a wide range of cask marque recommended real ales, world wines, gins, draught beers/ciders, soft drinks and rijo coffees. We have regular entertainment inc quiz night (Thursdays), Karaoke, live bands, family fun days, psychic suppers and much more! Like The Shovels Inn on Facebook for regular updates too.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

It had been a while since our last visit but the new updated dining room and good portion sizes means we will be returning on a regular basis. Chips are great!

Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review and are glad that you revisited our establishment, we are so happy that you like the improvements we have made and hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Re-visited this establishment recently and once again the food was absolutely superb......

The works to extend the restaurant area now seem to be complete.

Staff are as friendly and customer service orientated as ever.

Clean and pleasant surroundings.

Well behaved dogs allowed which I have no problem with at all.

The Landord and Landlady are obviously slowly working through the establishment to bring some tired areas up to high spec.

My only criticism at this time is the state of the ladies loo. Very tired looking and scruffy and the plastic flowers scattered about do nothing to improve matters, they actually draw your attention to the overall state of the loos. I believe both established customers and new visitors would prefer to see a notice on the wall apologising for the down trodden look of the toilets which will be upgraded in the near future, asking customers to bear with them in the meantime and ditch the plastics....and I think this would instil some loyalty with their clientele.....just my opinion!!

I have no hesitation in recommending The Shovels and look forward to my next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kbanks428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your great review, we are happy that you like the improvements we have so far, regarding the comments on the toilets you have made I will pass your comments on to the owners. Thank you for the kind comments about the food you have made we only use quality local produce. We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile


Just had lunch for 4 with our two Shih Tzu's and mum's Doberman.
Dogs were given water and treats and we were all made to feel really welcome. Service was good and food was home cooked and excellent quality. The surroundings are tasteful, clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend the salmon and king prawn spaghetti and the homemade steak and kidney pie. Delicious!

Thank Bubblestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your positive review, we are very happy you enjoyed your food and service we try to make everyone that eats and drinks with us welcome. We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We travel 20 miles round trip regularly to eat here. They serve proper, home cooked meals that are the best in the area. The cheese and onion pie is a big tasty lump of deliciousness. The Sunday roast has all the expected ingredients all well cooked, and the roast beef is succulent, thick cut and wonderfully flavoursome. The roast spuds too are perfect. Then there is the sausage and mash, lovely Cumberland style sausages and perfect creamy mash. The chips are big and chunky and so soft.

The pub is traditional with lots of parking and separate dining room and vaults as well as pool room. I would highly recommend this place. Oh and all the staff are so friendly too.

Thank 65KMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank for your very complimentary review. We are so pleased that you love our establishment and food so much and that you come to us so often. We try to use the best local fresh ingredients we can for our meals. I will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Good food really enjoyed our meal will be going again, first time in hambleton good Sunday lunch and a good pint to go with it
Waiting was very short time

Thank terry c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you very much for your glowing review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shovels Inn also viewed

Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
Preesall, Poulton Le Fylde
 
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 

Been to The Shovels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing