We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playawful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Playazul
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Playawful!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I've stayed in many 'basic' style studio apartments and I am not one of these people who stay in the room when on holiday, i really do use it purely as a sleeping base but when we arrived to see we didn't even have beds but instead uncomfortable wooden sofabeds, we were extremely disappointed. To top this off the apartment was grimy, maids seem to come when they felt like it, and towels and sheets were only changed once in the week that we were there. The complex looked nothing like the pictures from where we were situated near the pool area at the back of the hotel. Not only did we have to climb 4 flights of stairs when entering and leaving the hotel site but it was like a multi-story carpark looking out onto concrete hallways constantly in the shadows and at night very dark with uneven cracked stairs. We had about 4 visits from uninvited cockroach friends. When we asked to be moved to a cleaner room preferably with twin beds, the hotel wanted to charge us an extra £150.00! This ruined our holiday and I wouldn't return to this area of Playa De Las Americas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HDW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    111
    90
    27
    41
See reviews for
68
92
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Overall, apartments are very comefortable, and great for those who enjoy a lively holiday as the location of them is excellent for the "strip" of bars.

Pool at apartments very quiet.. suited us!!

Staff in apartments were not so friendly, barely lift their heads up from behind the desk to greet one.

Had no problems with apts at all.. the road works in the morning were quiet noisy but didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here for a week golfing in tenerife. It was fine. Did the job. Clean and spacious. Rooms only cleaned every 3 or 4 days though. Very central to beach, bars, restaurants, golf courses.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolsEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Don't understand the moans of people that complain about cheap accommodation, you get what you pay for!
Yes, the apartment's decor is full of dark wood but they are clean and a perfect location for nightlife.
Anyone with young children, find somewhere else unless you socialise with them and are prepared for young people enjoying themselves!
I went with my wife and two teenage daughters and found them basic but in the centre of some good nightlife. The price reflects their position and quality.
The pool is excellent and the pool bar/snack bar is good value.
Our only complaint is that the reception staff and security guards in the evening have to pamper to the fools with young children who expect the complex to be quiet by 8 o'clock. We got told at 9.30pm to turn our music down and be quiet when we were a family with a 13 and 15 year old playing quiet music on the balcony.
It seems that people want to pay next to nothing for the accommodation in the centre of the nightlife...err hello, pay more and go to a family oriantated hotel!
The noise from the Strip is quite load with the patio doors open but when shut, it's a dull hum and doesn't stop you sleeping.
There were a few ants, but these have to be expected in July in any apartments.
These apartments are just fine for a base to enjoy yourselves.
PS. I've been in the travel industry for 20 years and know rubbish from value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcus5976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Before going on holiday I had read a mixture of reviews about the Playazul Apts so wasn't quite sure what to expect, we just knew that we wanted somewhere close to the beach and nightlife, which it was! We got there and were really surprised at how nice the apartment was! It was much bigger than we thought, we had a large living area with sofabed, table, 4 chairs, dressing table and large mirror. This was all joined onto a kitchen that had everything you could need; a good size fridge, an oven, a hob with 2 rings, kettle, toaster, sink and cupboard space. The bathroom was a good size and very clean, as was the whole apartment, with a good shower! Our bedroom had 2 single beds and a large wardrobe. It was all very clean and there was a good maid service, they cleaned every other day I think and the beds and towels got changed every few days. We didn't have any problems with bugs at all we didn't see any cockroaches or other bugs in our room the whole time which was great! The balcony was massive! It had beautiful views, we could see the beach as well as our hotel's pool and the surrounding area and out of the front balcony we had a view of the mountains! Obviously not all rooms had these great views, but we were lucky with that! There is a security guard around at night which made us feel secure. We never felt unsafe at the apartment which was good as 2 girls on holiday on our own that is an important thing! You can hire a safe which is 14 euros for a week plus a 6 euro deposit which you get back when you check out and return the key. We did have to carry our suitcases up a couple of flights of stairs just to warn you! There are shops right outside where you can get drinks and snacks...a tip..the shop closest to the hotel entrance is slightly more expensive than the shop a few doors down. The beach is literally about a 3-5 minute walk away and the nightlife is even closer, but not too close that it stops you sleeping. Most of the time we got in around 4 and the bars closer to us shut at that time so apart from some places it was fairly quiet. DON'T USE THE CASH MACHINE OUTSIDE THE PHARMACY opposite Tramps Nightclub as my friend had her card swallowed there and we were told by someone that 3 of his friends had the same problem! There is a Deutsch Bank by McDonalds which is safer to use. There are lots of people selling things but you just ignore them and it's fine. The reps are annoying trying to get you in everywhere but you just find excuses to say to them and they leave you alone eg oh we've got a ticket for drinks elsewhere we might come in there tomorrow. Most places did 2 drinks for 6 euros and some gave free shots too and you'd get a ticket with the 2nd drink on which you could get whenever you wanted. The nightlife is good we liked Yates, Mett Bar, Oasis Bar and the foam party at Bobby's Bar. There are loads of places to choose from. It is definitely not a place for families! Don't see why any families would go there but if you do stay away from the strip area at night, it's not a place for kids to be around. Was a fun holiday, we made friends with 2 guys we met on the transfer who looked after us and kept an eye on us, would advise girls to go in a group of 4 or more probably though as we always felt safer when we were with the guys at night. Hope this helps! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmmaAndSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,039 reviews
0.2 km away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
539 reviews
0.3 km away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,118 reviews
0.3 km away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,902 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Playazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Playazul

Property: Apartamentos Playazul
Address: Avenida Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Playazul 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Apartamentos Playazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Playazul Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Apartamentos Playazul Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing