We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,355)
Filter reviews
3,355 results
Traveller rating
1,732
1,097
352
106
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,732
1,097
352
106
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolpianist playingmare nostrum resortmediterranean hotelthe hard rock cafeon arrivalsea viewsister hotelglass of champagnebreakfast was amazinglovely hoteltop floorbed and breakfast basischocolate fountainsuperior roomgala dinnersafari centre
Filter
Updating list...
2,090 - 2,095 of 3,355 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After spending one night in a horror hotel my husband and I decided to go back to the Cleopatra Palace Hotel having stayed there last year. We weren't disappointed , in fact it was better than we remembered, spotlessly clean, extremely well appointed, staff very helpful, excellent breakfast with endless choices.
If you want to be sure of an excellent hotel in a great location right on a fabulous beach one side and lots of shops and bars on the opposite side then choose this hotel . The bonus here is that you also get to use the facilities of the neighbouring hotel the Mediterranean Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I believe this hotel has been severely overrated. After planning to stay for nine days at Cleopatra, we moved out of this hotel after only one night.

We were a group of three friends, and had booked a triple room directly through the hotel's website. Due to a late flight, we arrived at the hotel during the night at around 1:30 am. When we got to the room, we were given a double rooms with a roll-in bed. This was our first disppointment, as nowhere on the hotel's website did it say that the advertised "triple room" was actually a "double room" with a rather uncomfortable roll-on bed moved into the already very limited space of a double room. A room at the Cleopatra Palace in November costs €120 for two people, and €180 for three people on a bed&breakfast basis, so there was no discount for the third person. Most hotels add only 20-30% if a bed is rolled in for a third person - not so the Cleopatra Palace!

The second problem was that towels and toiletries were only provided for two people, despite three beds being set up for the night. At 2:00 a.m and with hardly any staff around beyond the receptionist, we were too tired to chase after the missing toiletries and towels and decided to share what was there inbetween the three of us.

The following morning, we wanted to go online to check up on the weather forecast, car rental prices and the local news, but were surprised that log-in details provided during checkin did not allow more than two devices to be connected per room. After I had connected my phone and ipad, none of my roommates was able to log in. Reception staff told us that it was hotel policy to allow only two deviced to be connected per room. When we explained that we had booked a triple room with free internet access, and that we expected all three guests to be able to use the internet, we were again told that this was not possible and that "there was nothing we can do for you". When we asked to speak to the customer relations manager to resolve what in actual fact is only a small technical issue, the relevant person first refused to speak to us, telling us that she was busy and that we should come back in one hour. Having overheard our conversation with the receptionist, she nevertheless agreed to speak to us very briefly. In essence, she told us in a rather rude manner that the Cleopatra Palace was a "holiday hotel" and not a "business hotel" and that we should take turns in connecting to the internet! That was the end of the discussion - no attempt whatsoever was made to meet our modest request for all three of us to be able to go online with our phones at the same time.

As we headed for breakfast, another disaster was looming. The breakfast room was filled to the last table, and we had to wait for someone to get up from the table to be able to sit down. Then another wait ensued for someone to clear our table. Absolute chaos reigned in the self-service breakfast room. Completely understaffed, the hotel was unable to maintain at a least a semblance of order. A lot of items were missing, and were not refilled until after we had finished breakfast. I had to wait in a long queue to get to the bread-cutting corner, and then had to fight over the last loaf of brown bread with very rude guests who would just jump the queue. The coffee was abysmally bad, and hot milk nowhere in sight.

After finishing the most stressful hotel breakfast, we headed straight out of the hotel and found another place to stay for the remaining eight days of our holiday. When we checked out of the hotel, and explained the reason for cancelling our remaining reservation, the hotel staff did not seem the least bothered. We did not hear a word of apology, nor were we offered to take the matter up with management. The hotel just did not care, and the receptionists even looked happy to see their hotel guests leave.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location rights next to the beach and in the centre of town, but that's about it. Everything else was just a disaster and we were happy to have been able to escape from the hotel.

Room Tip: Not worth getting a pool view room. A standard room is likely to give you a side sea view and view of the pool at Mediterranean Palace.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Saraj_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was our frst visit to Cleopatra Palace and we really enjoyed it. Fantastic location next to great beach. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was spotless. Buffet breakfast with good variety of food. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ann801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed here some years ago and again recently. The complex and Hotel Cleopatra has become tired and in need of a refurb. The staff are good but there were not enough of them at times to rate the service very good.Food at breakfast was plentiful but queues and quality added to lack of supervision meant a reduced rating.As it stands 120€ is the max one should pay.The saving feature is of course location which is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace in August this year on a bed and breakfast basis. We had stayed here the previous summer and were very keen to return again. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast at this hotel is a real pleasure – there is an enormous range of food from which to choose as the hotel caters for the preferences of different nationalities. It feels so special to be able to sit beside the indoor Roman style pool, with fountains, whilst listening to the resident pianist! Guests at the Cleopatra are able to use the facilities of the adjacent Mediterranean Palace Hotel which is all part of the Mare Nostrum Resort. Here there is a really large pool which is good for swimming with various daily activities such as the aqua gym. (We have also stayed at the Mediterranean Palace several times and love it here as well.) There is a Summer Night Festival arranged for all guests once a week during the summer months. This is always a fun-filled evening, starting with a musical show performed by employees in the adjacent Pyramid de Arona theatre. This is followed by a wonderful buffet meal at the Hotel Cleopatra, with entertainment and even fireworks from the roof. The location of the hotel is ideal being right beside a beach, but also near to the stylish Safari Shopping Centre. We are delighted to have been able to stay at this hotel and truly enjoy our holidays here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews