We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Absoloutely loved this hotel.Been many times to Tenerife staying in many different hotels but this is definately the best one.Lovely pool area,a minutes walk to the beach,hotel itself very clean and staff(apart from a few grumpy male receptionists,which you seem to get in most of the hotels)were very hard working and really pleasant and friendly.The breakfasts were great,we didn't need to eat until mid afternoon,there was everything you could think of to eat and drink.We stayed B&B so don't know about the dinners,but there is so many good restaurants near the hotel,we were spoilt for choice.We booked a standard room,but got a pool view room,had the sun on the balcony from 4pm onwards,which was fine for us as we liked lying by the roman pool during the day,it was lovely and quiet.We went to the med palace pool one afternoon but it was a lot more lively,more family orientated.We did have a problem with the wi fi too as I had taken my iPad to keep in touch with family at home,it only worked right at reception,but it wasn't a huge problem for us,and there were two computers to use there in a nice quiet spot,was about €1 for 10 minutes.The room was big enough,nice and clean,had air conditioning,free mini fridge,free safe,hair dryer,toiletries and flat screen tv with English speaking channels like BBC1,BBC2,ITV,Channel 4 and 5 and others.It is a really big complex,I kept getting lost,my husband was ok though,so it might've just been me!! There is a book loan at the pool and you can hire towels,but we took our own.

All in all,I couldn't fault this hotel,I'd love to come back here,already thinking about coming back in September.








Stayed: March 2012
Thank loopylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,040 - 2,044 of 3,135 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

From Las Palmas airport it is only a 15 min drive by taxi (costs about £ 30) to the Cleopatra Palace Hotel. The hotel has a GReek Style theme throughout and this is the first thing you notice on arrival. Massive marble staircases and Greek statues all around and throughout the whole hotel. Reception was quick and efficient, and a porter took our luggage up to the room for us. He also explained the features of the hotel and gave us a plan with the lay-out of the complex as the Cleopatra is part of the Mare Nostrum complex (4 hotels in all).
We had booked a double and it was a good size room with large bathroom and a small balcony area ,where you could have breakfast,and we did. Nice. There was also a fridge (empty),digital tv,airconditioning,in-house musicsystem,a private mini safe and roomservice: the food arrived fast and was well presented and hot when it arrived. On the other hand: no tea- and coffeemaking facilty in the rooms,which was disappointing. The bedlinnen was crisp and clean and was changed every 2 days. The housekeeping staff are friendly,discreet and do a great job!
We were advised that we could have wi-fi in the room if we bought a pass for £6,but since we did not bring a laptop we didn`t try this out.So can`t comment on wi-fi working well or not.
Breakfast is buffet style, but it is very extensive! You really are spoilt for choice but mostly have to serve yourself and be prepared to wait a while for a waiter to get you coffee/tea. But overall the quality was good and plenty to choose from. Breakfast is served from 7AM to 10.30 AM,but, as usuall, the waiters start clearing everything form 10 AM,so don`t arrive late ! Alternatively you can order whatever you want for breakfast from the roomservice menu, for a small surcharge of about £5. Well woth it,as you can sleep in and relax, having you breakkie when you want to,out on the balcony in the early sunshine....we enjoyed this!
The pool-area is quite large with plenty of sunbeds and parasols for everyone (well there were enough in march,when we were there anyway).There is always some relaxing music playing in the background but on a low level so it does not disturb if you just want to snooze in the sun.In the pool-area the Greek style theme also prevails,but luckily is not overdone.A lifeguard is on duty all the time, nice to know for people with young children.There is a pool-side snackbar with hot and cold treats from the menu,as in most hotels. Nothing fancy but I have to say: they make a great cup of coffee, and the staff are very friendly and efficient.
The Spa area is located next to the swimmingpool and easy to find and access. The staff are very good at what they do and very helpful and friendly. Yuo can purchase a daypass for the wet area only,at £15 per person. for that you get access to the heated filtered seawater pool with jacuzzi,sauna and steamroom and a private sundeck with sunbeds,large towels,robes,slippers and parasols. A very relaxing day indeed! Here too you can enjoy snacks and drinks from the main pool-side snackbar. Really recommend this Spa day !
The hotel itself is close to the beach and you can have a lovely long walk along the seafront, where you can dine later in the evening in any of the restaurants located at the edge of the beach. The food is good and the prices are reasonable,especially considering the view you have while dining! There are a few appartmentcomplexes nearby,with their own pool and shops,so the area is lively. But not too busy or too loud.Except perhaps for the bistros along the mian road into Playa de las americas. Those all have their own singer in the evening, and it can be pretty loud too. But it does end around midnight and a lot of tourists seem to love this enternainment and join in. Up to you wether you do or you don`t...
In conclusion: we enjoyed our stay but and will definetely go back to the area. But next time we will try out another hotel of this complex.It never hurts to compare and keep looking...

Room Tip: If you want a room with a poolview then do ask for that,we ended up with a room facing the street,lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosesgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As I have to work in my hotel for several days this vacation, we specifically requested a good wifi connection at the time that we booked our stay. Free and everywhere wifi was guaranteed by the hotel staff. When we arrived, they told us that there would only be reliable wifi in the area around the reception desk and the rooms directly above.
But even as our room is within that area, the wifi connection fails almost constantly, forcing me to log in again and again....and again....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a week in Los Christianos in January at the Arona Gran. As reported I thought it was a splendid hotel, but decided to stay in Playa de las Americas this time (March 20 - 27th) for a change in both Hotel and resort. The Cleopatra is a grand building with grand staircases and statues etc. However, for me that is all it has. Otherwise it is a normal almost three/four star hotel, which I think has lost its way. We booked Bed and Breakfast through Booking.com. I emailed the hotel some weeks before to ask for a South West facing room on a higher floor. On arrival the reception were friendly, but seemed unaware of my request. After some discussion the receptionist said he was upgrading us as the hotel was almost full, to a superior room. The room was larger with a few more nick nacks such as dressing gown and slippers, and the balcony has a cold water small large bath (best description I can think of !) After the first day and early evening, we could not sit on the balcony because it faced EAST. I then went to Reception and asked them to move us as I had requested a SOUTH WEST balcony location. They agreed to move us but could not understand why we wanted to give up a superior room (normally an extra £75 a day ?) for a standard room. I tried to explain that we wanted to sit on the balcony in the early evening and to face the fading sun. They showed quite clearly that they definitely could not understand this.

The general state of the umbrellas needs urgent attention. The breakfast is a buffet affair, and to be honest is more like a two star staff canteen than a four star hotel. Food presentation is poor, as are the habits of some of the cooks. An example is when one of the staff took an empty food container out of the servery (which has a water pool underneath to keep food warm). This container was dripping with the water which then dripped over the remaining containers in the servery - very poor hygeine and to me a not too caring attitude. The waiters / serving staff were good, but I felt the service was eratic and understaffed. Unfortunately I have to compare this hotel with the Arona Gran, and think the management would do themselves a favour by visiting the Arona to get some tips on presentation and selection (as this was far less than the Arona).

This hotel is twinned with the Meditteranean next door, where all the action is. The Cleopatra is the quiet one, but guests can use either. The Cleopatra has two other restaurants and a tapas area, but all were closed whilst we were there. A half board option costs around 25 euros per person a day, which is very expensive, and from a couple of reports from other guests not worth the price.

The area is excellent, very clean and tidy, and you walk out of the hotel either to the beach or the other way to the centre of everything, including shops and restaurants, mostly which have good entertainment at no extra cost. We paid around 50 euros each evening including a meal and sufficient drinks and of course the entertainment. This is a really clean, well maintained resort, but the Cleopatra does have to up its value for money to compare well with others in this area.

Room Tip: South West if you like evening sun - East if you like the shade in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIVINGSTONEAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

nice hotel. well looked after by the staff very friendly. i sometimes wonder on negative reports if my wife and i stayed in the same place.the report by siabnamban was nothing like what we experienced .my wife and i come from high end of the catering industry this hotel was superb

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,134 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
649 reviews
0.5 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
685 reviews
4.8 km away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,829 reviews
2.5 km away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: €118 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing